Health: Heat wave or heat wave, think of mobile air conditioners!


Share this article with your friends:

After a winter 2017-2018 long, gray and cold, spring is here and there!
The sunny days are coming back, the temperatures are rising and with them, the risks of heat wave or heat wave.
If it is rather easy to fight against the cold, protect the heat is more difficult and the use of air conditioning is almost mandatory in case of hot weather. This is especially valid for the most fragile people, such as babies or people 3ème age ... We still remember the tens of thousands of premature deaths during the heat wave in France 2003! The use of air conditioners would probably have saved many lives!

Hot Weather Alert

What is an air conditioner? How does it work ?

An air conditioner works like a refrigerator .... except that it is an open-air refrigerator (and you are in it)! It is a refrigerating thermodynamic circuit that uses the latent heat of evaporation and condensation to pump calories, ie heat, from one place to another.

A cold circuit consists of:
- an evaporator is the cold part (this is called the cold source: the calories are "pumped" to the refrigerant circuit fluid, so the temperature of the evaporator drops)
- a compressor, it is the engine of the refrigerator which will put in pressure and in movement the gas
- a condenser is the hot part, the grid behind the refrigerator (this is called the hot spring, the calories are "pumped" from the fluid and it will cool and condense the gas and increase the temperature of the 'evaporator)
- a regulator that allows the gas to regain volume after evaporation without increasing pressure

An air conditioner is an "open" refrigerator equipped with two fans: one to bring cold air, the other to extract hot air! It's a bit like leaving the door open of your fridge and putting a fan in front of you ... Except that, in this case, as the evacuation of the calories is done in the same room, the overall balance will be negative. : the room will eventually warm up. So that an air conditioning works, it is necessary to evacuate the calories towards another medium, that is to say, most often, outside!



For this to work, it would be necessary that the hot source, that is to say the black radiator behind the refrigerator, is located in another room, ideally outside in winter and in the cellar in summer. Of course, in the case of domestic refrigerators, this does not exist, but the professional cold rooms all have their hot source (condenser) out, just like the fixed air conditioners.

Reversible air conditioning and dehumidification

When the circuit can be reversed, then we talk about reversible air conditioner that allows to warm the place of cold in the room "useful". More commonly, this is called a heat pump. A refrigerator is therefore a heat pump, like all air conditioners that use a compressor. Indeed, there are other technologies of cold circuit like, for example, cold by adsorption or absorption.

Heat wave

Finally, many heat pumps or air conditioners also have an integrated dehumidification function. A dehumidifier is also a cooling circuit adapted for the cold part (evaporator) to be constantly below the dew point (dew point of the ambient air)

In summary, an air conditioner can therefore:
- to be cold,
- warm (if reversible)
- dehumidify the air in a room (if the model allows it).

Now that the theory part is done, let's move on to practice. How to choose a mobile or fixed air conditioner?

Mobile or fixed air conditioners? Comparative advantages and disadvantages of both types of air conditioning.

An air conditioner is chosen according to its cooling capacity in Watts. Each manufacturer gives indications in relation to the volume and / or the recommended surface. Count around 150 Watts per m² to get good cooling power. Quick comparison between fixed air conditioners (wall mounted with an external battery) and mobile air conditioners (on wheels)

Comparative mobile and fixed air conditioners

A mobile air conditioner will bring you freshness wherever you want and at a lower cost. However, its main disadvantage is to have a hot air evacuation via a flexible pipe (supplied) which can be unattractive.

Its main advantage is its high mobility and low price, both purchase and installation!

Fixed heat pump

To go further and if you have questions about an installation: visit our website forum on thermal comfort


Feedback

1 comment on "Health: heat wave or heat wave, think of mobile air conditioners extra!"

  1. Hello,

    What is the point of advertising for mobile climates?
    It's good for the planet? Good for my wallet? No…
    What to choose has tested some. You have to count 500 € for a good thing. Models to 200 € ... Hmmm and leave a door between open for a mobile air conditioning, a beautiful example of jabegie!
    Really not sure that we can reconcile the economy and ecology for future generations with stuff like that ... and refrigerants with high greenhouse gas potential, we talk about it?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Santé: vague de chaleur ou canicule, pensez aux climatiseurs mobiles d’appoint!


Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Après un hiver 2017-2018 long, gris et par moment glacial, le printemps est là et bien là !
Les beaux jours reviennent, les températures remontent et avec elles, les risques de canicule ou de vague de chaleur.
Si il est plutôt facile de lutter contre le froid, se protéger du chaud est plus difficile et le recours à des techniques de climatisation est quasi obligatoire en cas de fortes chaleurs. Ceci est surtout valable pour les personnes les plus fragiles, comme les bébés ou les personnes du 3ème âge… On se souvient encore des dizaines de milliers de décès prématurés lors de la canicule en France de 2003 ! L’utilisation de climatiseurs aurait sans doute pu sauver de nombreuses vies !

Alerte Canicule

C’est quoi un climatiseur ? Comment cela fonctionne ?

Un climatiseur fonctionne comme un réfrigérateur …. sauf que c’est un réfrigérateur à ciel ouvert (et que vous êtes dedans)! C’est un circuit thermodynamique frigorifique qui utilise la chaleur latente d’évaporation et de condensation pour pomper les calories, c’est à dire la chaleur, d’un endroit vers un autre.

Un circuit froid se compose :
– d’un évaporateur, c’est la partie froide (on appelle ceci la source froide : les calories y sont « pompées » vers le fluide du circuit frigo, donc la température de l’évaporateur baisse)
– d’un compresseur, c’est le moteur du réfrigérateur qui va mettre en pression et en mouvement le gaz
– d’un condenseur, c’est la partie chaude, la grille derrière le réfrigérateur (on appelle ceci la source chaude, les calories y sont « pompées » depuis le fluide et cela va refroidir et condenser le gaz et augmenter la température de l’évaporateur)
– d’un détendeur qui permet au gaz de reprendre du volume après l’évaporation sans monter en pression

Un climatiseur est un réfrigérateur « ouvert » muni de deux ventilateurs : un pour apporter l’air froid, l’autre pour extraire l’air chaud ! C’est un peu comme si vous laissiez la porte ouverte de votre frigo et que vous mettiez un ventilateur devant… Sauf que, dans ce cas de figure, comme l’évacuation des calories se fait dans la même pièce, le bilan global sera négatif : la pièce finira par se réchauffer. Pour qu’une climatisation fonctionne, il faut donc évacuer les calories vers un autre milieu, c’est à dire, le plus souvent, dehors !



Pour que cela fonctionne, il faudrait que la source chaude, c’est-à-dire le radiateur noir derrière le réfrigérateur, soit située dans une autre pièce, idéalement dehors en hiver et dans la cave en été. Bien évidemment, dans le cas des réfrigérateurs domestiques, cela n’existe pas, mais les chambres froides professionnelles ont toutes leur source chaude (condenseur) dehors, tout comme les climatiseurs fixes.

La climatisation réversible et la déshumidification

Quand le circuit peut s’inverser, alors on parle de climatiseur réversible qui permet de faire du chaud à la place du froid dans la pièce « utile ». Plus communément, on appelle ceci une pompe à chaleur. Un réfrigérateur est donc une pompe à chaleur, comme tous les climatiseurs qui utilisent un compresseur. En effet, il existe d’autres technologies de circuit froid comme, par exemple, le froid par adsorption ou absorption.

Vague de chaleur

Enfin, beaucoup de pompes à chaleur ou climatiseurs ont aussi une fonction de déshumidification intégrée. Un déshumidificateur est donc aussi un circuit frigorifique adapté pour que la partie froide (évaporateur) soit constamment sous le point de rosé (point de condensation de l’air ambiant)

En résumé, un climatiseur peut donc :
– faire du froid,
– faire du chaud (si réversible)
– déshumidifier l’air d’une pièce (si le modèle le permet).

Maintenant que la partie théorie est faite, passons à la pratique. Comment bien choisir son climatiseur mobile ou fixe ?

Climatiseurs mobiles ou fixes? Comparatif des avantages et inconvénients des deux types de climatisation.

Un climatiseur se choisit suivant sa puissance frigorifique en Watts. Chaque constructeur donne des indications par rapport au volume et/ou à la surface conseillée. Comptez environ 150 Watts par m² pour obtenir une bonne puissance de refroidissement. Rapide comparatif entre les climatiseurs fixes (fixés au mur avec une batterie externe) et les climatiseurs mobiles (sur roulettes).

Comparatif climatiseurs mobiles et fixes

Un climatiseur mobile vous apportera donc de la fraîcheur partout où vous voulez et à moindre coût. Cependant, son principal inconvénient est d’avoir une évacuation de l’air chaud via une conduite souple (fournie) qui peut être peu esthétique.

Son principal avantage est sa grande mobilité et son prix réduit, tant à l’achat qu’à l’installation !

Pompe à chaleur fixe

Pour aller plus loin et si vous avez des questions sur une installation: visitez notre forum sur le confort thermique


Commentaires Facebook

1 commentaire sur “Santé: vague de chaleur ou canicule, pensez aux climatiseurs mobiles d’appoint!”

  1. Bonjour,

    Quel est l’intérêt de faire de la pub pour des clim mobiles?
    C’est bon pour la planète? Bon pour mon porte monnaie? Non…
    Que Choisir en a testé quelques uns. Faut compter 500€ pour avoir un truc correct. Les modèles à 200€… Hummm et laisser une porte entre ouverte pour une clim mobile, un bel exemple de gabegie!
    Vraiment pas sur qu’on puisse réconcilier l’économie et l’écologie pour les générations futures avec des trucs comme ca… et les gaz réfrigérants au fort potentiel de gaz à effet de serre, on en parle?

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *