I met Paul Pantone

Share this article with your friends:

The meeting with Mr Pantone (February 2002)

Mid-January 2002 or 3 months after getting my engineering degree, I decided to go meet Mr Pantone USA. This decision was not made overnight. In fact I had already exchanged a few emails with Paul who invited me to go see him during a "period" extended 3 weeks to see all the details possible future collaboration.

So décollais the 4 or 5 February 2002 777 from Boeing in Paris to Salt Lake City 12h then 3 flight hours since the trip included a stop in Houston. I write this because it was my baptism of air and flight 12h for baptism rollover ice is quite impressive. So after more travel 28h (all inclusive) so we arrived in Preston, a town in full Rockies 200 km north of Salt Lake City. The weather was rather chilly: 50 cm of snow and -20 ° C.

I say "we" because I'm not one party: Michel Saint Georges, a Belgian engineer doctor, quebecoise original with me: he has written some interesting thoughts on Quanthomme, click here .

So much for the scenery, go to the actors: the next appointment with Paul for the week of "training". Serendipity, we were speaking 4: a nicois, Olivier, and another quebecois I forget the name but "training" was obviously taught in US (country with strong accents seen the location). The information contained in this "training" are, unfortunately, pure speculation without any basis or even scientific evidence. And when I asked at the beginning of our meeting, scientific surveys, Paul was not able, despite its promises, to provide me 2 weeks later (it involved surveys of the University of Berlin)
"Stay open minded" (stay open minded) was the standard phrase of Paul but there is a difference between being open minded and naive to accept unfounded theories...

Regarding negotiations we tried to have, know that there is a very large gap between the content of Paul's website (supposedly altruistic) and man (very capitalist) than interested in sale of "licenses" ... It is décallage probably wanted to attract the "prey" easy.

Short week after 3 divided as follows: 1 training week (the week at $ 1500) and 2 weeks of "tinkering" and various negotiations I was rather extremely disappointed that meeting, especially since I had "invested" in this meeting all the meager savings that a student can have.

Finally we did not learn anything technologically and my study was the most scientific thing that exists about the Pantone process and I returned to France well disgusted if not depressed ... but the continuation was still going to drive the nail! Only thing positive: Michel and I did not have to pay the week of training (3000 $ of saved it is already ca especially for "wind"!), Which was obviously not the case 2 others trainees, and, for the record, Paul Pantone also paid us the first week of hotel.

Obviously I said that Michel thought exactly the same thing: there is nothing to expect from Pantone ...

The phase of job search (March 2002 - 2003 December)

As there was nothing to expect from Pantone neither technologically nor professionnaly, I decided to actively seek employment ... if possible in the field of energy ... but if the inventor is dishonest, I thought (and still think) the potential of the process that I did not give up.

While seeking a job as an engineer so I continued to try to develop the procedure with the resources, very limited, I had. The most successful experience was that of the ZX (ZX-TD Pantone) Olivier (ûn other than the USA) and I renviendrai on this experience later. I would like to briefly return to this period of job search which was quite painful. Especially during the interviews that I could win: it made me understand well that an engineer should not have environmental convictions: "An ecologist mechanical engineer? It should not exist! "Here is the classic answer to which I faced when not chariait me about color, green, my shirt ...The corollary is that an engineer must necessarily develop pollutants and despise the environment ? Anyway most HR or engineers in front of me did not understand, or pretending not to understand, the concept board reforming (the core technology of Pantone process). In these circumstances, I passed for a visionary and it was difficult to undertake a professional relationship together ...

But we must also say that HR can also be felt my desire to process development, this could affect my good integration in the company. Anyway this time of job search was very difficult, morally and financially.

It is very difficult to get entrendre in the field of energy. Ambient sceptiscisme, intellectual laziness (the typical "if it worked AC is not") and the scientific dogmatism are omnipresent. And it would be dishonest to attribute all failures of some innovations to pressure groups, it is clear that some corporations defend themselves, sometimes vigorously, their gains.

Concurrently, I was doing some public speaking, especially on Ecobio fairs or shows, but I saw quickly that it would take years at this rate the. In March 2002, I also did a radio show (on free radio "Here and Now" Icietmaintenant.com ) In Paris Jean Pierre LentinScience journalist.

2002 end, I decided to put an end, at least temporarily for time and expenses incurred were too great, and create a website talking about my research. Indeed; it was the only available means of distribution that I had at my disposal: the idea of ​​econology was born.

The birth of econologie.com (December 2002 -?)

This is my meeting in December 2002 Ferrone Gabriel de la Selva, ecologist of 1970 years alongside René Dumont, which accelerated the creation of the site. Indeed; President of SEA association, Ecology Energy Survival, Gabriel had tons of documents on its shelves. This was very a shame because many of these documents were very interesting: so I proposed to her graceful creation of a website to disseminate this information.

After a week of work, the site was about Econologie.com early March 2003 web.

Unfortunately the difficulties of communication with Gabriel (77 years) resulted in the almost complete separation between SEA and the site in July 2004 at the transition to 2 release.

Only a few texts and documents in SEAs remain on the site but I do not do the promotion of this association, which, it must be said, is mourrante: she actively campaigned during 80 years but had lost most of its members currently ( most deaths by age), it no longer has the clout to its ambitions ...

However this collaboration with Gabriel was especially rewarding and has allowed the creation of this site ...

The goals of the site are explained more clearly on this page: Why the site Econologie.com?

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Ma rencontre avec Paul Pantone

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

La rencontre avec Mr Pantone (février 2002)

Mi janvier 2002, soit 3 mois après l’obtention de mon diplôme d’ingénieur, je décidais d’aller rencontrer Mr Pantone aux USA. Cette décision ne se fit pas du jour au lendemain. En effet j’avais déjà échangé quelques mails avec Paul qui m’invitait à aller le voir durant une « période » prolongée de 3 semaines afin de voir tous les détails possible d’une future collaboration.

Je décollais donc le 4 ou 5 février 2002 dans un Boeing 777 de Paris à Salt Lake City pour 12h puis 3 h de vol puisque le trajet comportait une escale à Houston. Je précise ceci car il s’agissait de mon baptème de l’air et 12h de vol pour un baptème avec survol de la banquise c’est assez impressionnant. Apres donc plus de 28h de voyage (tout compris) nous sommes donc arrivé à Preston, petite ville en pleines Rocheuses à 200 km au Nord de Salt Lake City. La météo était plutot glaciale : 50 cm de neige et -20°C.

Je dis «nous» car je ne suis pas parti seul : Michel Saint Georges, un docteur ingénieur belge, d’origine quebecoise, m’accompagnait : il a ecrit quelques reflexions intéressantes sur quanthomme, cliquez ici .

Voilà pour le décors, passons aux acteurs : le lendemain rendez vous avec Paul pour la semaine de «formation». Heureux hasard, nous étions 4 francophones : un nicois, Olivier, et un autre quebecois dont j’ai oublié le prénom mais la «formation» était évidement dispensée en américain (avec un fort accens campagnard vu la localisation). Les informations contenues dans cette «formation» ne sont, malheureusement, que pures spéculations sans aucun fondement ou même preuves scientifique. Et quand je demandais, au début de notre rencontre, des relevés scientifiques, Paul n’a pas été capable, malgré ses promesses, de me les fournir 2 semaines plus tard (cela concernait des relevés de l’université de Berlin)
«Stay open minded» (restez ouvert d’esprit) était la phrase type de Paul mais il y a une différence entre être ouvert d’esprit et naïf pour accepter des théories infondées

Pour ce qui est des négociations que nous avons essayé d’avoir, sachez qu’il y a un décalage très important entre le contenu du site de Paul (soit disant très altruiste) et l’homme (très capitaliste) qu’intéressé par vendre des «licences»…Ce décallage est sans doute voulu pour attirer les «proies» faciles.

Bref après 3 semaine divisée comme suit: 1 semaine de formation (la semaine à 1500$­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­) et 2 semaines de « bricolages » et négociations diverses j’étais plutôt extrêmement déçu de cette rencontre, d’autant plus que j’avais «investi» dans cette rencontre la totalité des maigres économies qu’un étudiant peut avoir.

Finalement nous n’avons rien appris au niveau technologique et mon étude était la chose la plus scientifique qui existe à propos du procédé Pantone et je rentrais en France bien dégouté si ce n’est déprimée…mais la suite allait encore enfoncer le clou ! Seule chose positive : Michel et moi n’avons pas eu à payer la semaine de formation (3000 $­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ d’economisés c’est deja ca surtout pour « du vent »!), ce qui n’était évidement pas le cas des 2 autres stagiaires, et, pour la petite histoire, Paul Pantone nous a également payé la premiere semaine d’hotel .

Evidement je précise que Michel pensait exactement la même chose: il n’y a rien à attendre de Pantone…

La phase de recherche d’emploi (mars 2002 – décembre 2003)

Comme il n’y avait rien à attendre de Pantone ni technologiquement ni professionnelement, je décidais de rechercher activement un emploi…Si possible dans le domaine de l’énergie…mais, si l’inventeur est malhonnete, je croyais (et crois toujours) dans le potentiel du procédé que je n’abandonnais pas.

Tout en cherchant un emploi d’ingénieur je continuais donc à tenter de développer le procéder avec les moyens, très limité, dont je disposais. L’expérience la plus aboutie a été celle de la Zx (ZX-TD Pantone) d’Olivier (ûn autre que celui des USA) et je renviendrai sur cette expérience plus tard. J’aimerais brièvement revenir sur cette période de recherche d’emploi qui a été assez douloureuse. Surtout durant les entretiens d’embauche que j’arrivais à décrocher : on m’a bien fait comprendre qu’un ingénieur ne devait pas avoir de convictions environnementales : « Un ingénieur mécanicien ecolo? Ca ne devrait pas exister !» voici la réplique classique à laquelle j’étais confronté quand on ne me chariait pas sur la couleur, verte, de ma chemise…Le corollaire est qu’un ingénieur doit forcément développer des produits polluants et mépriser l’environnement ? De toute facon la plupart des DRH ou ingénieurs en face de moi ne comprenaient rien, ou faisant mine de ne rien comprendre, à la notion de reformage embarqué (base de la technologie du procédé Pantone). Dans ces conditions, je passais pour un illuminé et il était difficile d’entreprendre une relation professionnelle ensemble…

Mais il faut dire également que les DRH sentaient peut être également mon envie de développement du procédé, ceci aurait pu nuire à ma bonne intégration dans l’entreprise. Quoiqu’il en soit cette période de recherche d’emploi fut très difficile, moralement et financièrement.

Il est très difficile de se faire entrendre dans le domaine de l’énergie. Le sceptiscisme ambiant, la paresse intéllectuelle (le typique : «si ca marchait ca se saurait») et le dogmatisme scientifique sont omniprésents. Et s’il serait malhonnete d’imputer la totalité des echecs de certaines innovations aux groupes de pression, il est évident que certaines corporations defendent, quelques fois vigoureusement, leurs acquis.

Parallelement, je faisais quelques conférences publiques, surtout sur des foires ou salons ecobio, mais je voyais vite que cela prendrait des années à ce rythme la. En mars 2002, j’ai également fait une émission de radio (sur la radio libre « Ici et maintenant » Icietmaintenant.com ) à Paris avec Jean Pierre Lentin, journaliste scientifique.

Fin 2002, j’ai décidé d’y mettre un terme, au moins provisoirement car le temps et les frais engagés étaient trop importants, et de créer un site internet parlant de mes recherches. En effet; c’était le seul moyen de diffusion accessible que j’avais à ma disposition : l’idée d’econologie était née.

La naissance d’econologie.com (décembre 2002 – ? )

C’est ma rencontre en décembre 2002 avec Gabriel Ferrone de la Selva, ecologiste des années 1970 au même titre que René Dumont, qui a accéléré la création du site. En effet; président de l’association EES, Ecologie Energie Survie, Gabriel avait des tonnes de documents, sur ses étagères. Ceci était très domage car beaucoup de ces documents étaient très intéressants: je lui proposais donc la création gracieuse, d’un site internet pour diffuser ces informations.

Après quelques semaine de travail, le site Econologie.com était sur le web début mars 2003.

Malheureusement les difficultés de communication avec Gabriel (77 ans) ont abouti à la séparation presque complète entre EES et le site en juillet 2004 à l’occasion du passage à la version 2.

Seuls quelques textes et documents de EES restent sur le site mais je ne fais plus la promotion de cette association, qui, il faut le dire, est mourrante : elle a activement milité durant les années 80 mais ayant perdu la plupart de ses membres actuellement (la plupart par décès de vieillesse), elle n’a plus du tout le poids nécessaire à ses ambitions…

Néanmoins cette collaboration avec Gabriel a été enrichissante et surtout a permis la création de ce site…

Les buts du site sont explicités plus clairement sur cette page : Pourquoi le site Econologie.com?

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *