2004 among the warmest years in a century

Share this article with your friends:

The 2004 year was the fourth warmest since records began in the nineteenth century. James Hansen of the Goddard Institute for Space Studies at NASA, and colleagues compiled data from weather stations on the ground and satellite measurements of ocean surface temperatures.

With 0,48 degree Celsius more compared to the 1951-1980 period, the global average temperature 2004 is second only to those of 1998, 2002 and 2003, confirming a softening trend observed over the last thirty years. For researchers, this increase
not only originate from natural causes such as climate El Nino or volcanic eruptions, could disrupt the climate for a few years (in
Generally, fluctuations from year to year are more important than the long-term variation, but this does not detract from the value of the latter). The trend would come in part not
negligible human activities (especially the burning of fossil fuels generates greenhouse gases).

Obviously, fluctuations exist at regional level. In Alaska and in parts of Europe and the Caspian Sea, average annual temperatures have been particularly high in 2004, in contrast to the United States. According to projections by James Hansen,
2005 could also break records. The calculations for a long time by his team and others suggest in fact that the Earth now absorbs much more solar energy than it reflects, even if the consequences can be masked by natural fluctuations.

NYT 10 / 02 / 05 (2004 Was Warmest Year Ever Fourth-Recorded)
http://www.nytimes.com/2005/02/10/science/10warm.html
http://www.giss.nasa.gov/data/update/gistemp/2004/
http://www.nasa.gov
http://www.giss.nasa.gov/research/news/20050208/
http://www.iht.com/articles/2005/02/10/news/warming.html

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

2004 parmi les années les plus chaudes depuis un siècle

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

L’année 2004 aura été la quatrième plus chaude depuis le début des enregistrements au XIXe siècle. James Hansen, du Goddard Institute for Space Studies de la NASA, et ses collègues ont compilé les données des stations météorologiques au sol et les mesures satellitaires des températures de surface des océans.

Avec 0,48 degré Celsius de plus par rapport à la période 1951-1980, la température moyenne globale de 2004 se place juste derrière celles de 1998, 2002 et 2003, confirmant une tendance au radoucissement observée sur les trente dernières années. Pour les chercheurs, cette augmentation
n’a pas seulement pour origine des causes naturelles comme le phénomène climatique El Nino ou les éruptions volcaniques, susceptibles de perturber pendant quelques années le climat (en
général, les fluctuations d’une année sur l’autre sont plus importantes que la variation à long terme, mais cela n’enlève rien à la valeur de cette dernière). La tendance proviendrait pour une part non
négligeable des activités humaines (notamment de la combustion de carburants fossiles, génératrice de gaz à effet de serre).

Bien entendu, des fluctuations existent au niveau régional. En Alaska et dans les régions d’Europe et de la Mer Caspienne, les moyennes annuelles des températures ont ainsi été particulièrement élevées en 2004, au contraire des Etats-Unis. Selon les projections de James Hansen,
2005 pourrait également battre des records. Les calculs établis depuis longtemps par son équipe et d’autres suggèrent en effet que la Terre absorbe actuellement beaucoup plus d’énergie solaire qu’elle n’en reflète, même si les conséquences peuvent en être masquées par des fluctuations naturelles.

NYT 10/02/05 (2004 Was Fourth-Warmest Year Ever Recorded)
http://www.nytimes.com/2005/02/10/science/10warm.html
http://www.giss.nasa.gov/data/update/gistemp/2004/
http://www.nasa.gov
http://www.giss.nasa.gov/research/news/20050208/
http://www.iht.com/articles/2005/02/10/news/warming.html

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *