Pierre Rabhi and Juliette Duquesne's "The Water That We Are" Alert Diary


Share this article with your friends:

The water we are, Pierre Rabhi's "Carnets d'alerte" Collection and Juliette Duquesne

Logbook Alerts, the water we are. P.Rabhi and J.DuquesneThe Carnets d'alert collection is meant to be synthetic books, accessible to all to raise awareness of issues of primary importance. This early November 2018 will release a new Alert Book dedicated to water. I present it here because on the one hand the subject of water is of ecological importance for humanity (and the climate) and on the other hand I modestly participated in the development of this book being interviewed by Juliette.

Water, a vital element at risk

What could be more banal than to state that water is at the very heart of life - we are composed of 65% of water on average! Yet this undeniable truth is too often forgotten. The sixty or so researchers, associations, farmers and civil society actors interviewed for this notebook keep reminding us of it. Today, although we speak of biodiversity and ecological transition, those who have abundant water tend to trivialize it ... and thereby neglect it. And, by irrational and irresponsible use, we are already causing heavy damage to future generations.

Plastic has invaded the ocean, pesticides are found even in the fat of the whales. The ocean, lung of our land, is in danger, since it recovers all the terrestrial pollution. In France, most of our rivers, and even groundwater, are polluted. This new alert book proposes to investigate this broad issue, from theagriculture, the first source of pollution and the largest consumer of water in the world, the management by private companies of this common good. Not to mention that 30% of the world's population does not have access to safe water ...

How to manage water tomorrow in a more ecological, fair and local way? Water requires more than any other element a collective management. Pierre Rabhi warns us: our relationship with water must change; it is imperative that we become aware of its irreplaceable value. The water, now polluted, wasted, source of all kinds of profits, could very well become, tomorrow, one of the solutions to the major problems of our society.

Pioneer of agroecology, expert in the fight against desertification, Pierre Rabhi is the author of The Offering at dusk (Éditions de Candide, 1988, awarded by the Ministry of Agriculture), Towards the sobriety happy (Actes Sud , 2010), Convergence of Consciousness (The Passenger, 2016). Specialized in economic and environmental issues, Juliette Duquesne worked for ten years writing the journal TF1.

The November 9, Juliette will present this fourth Alert during a meeting dedication to the bookstore The Foam Pages, 174 boulevard Saint-Germain in Paris from 19h to 21 hours. This last alert book will be released November 7.

The same authors have already published, in the same collection:

  • To end hunger in the world
  • Seeds, an endangered vital heritage
  • The excesses of finance or the art of legalized predation (Presses du Châtelet, 2017)

The water we are on the forums

Press contact: LP Tips / Florence Rosenfeld / + 33 (0) 153 264 210


Feedback

1 comment on "Alert Book" The Water That We Are "by Pierre Rabhi and Juliette Duquesne"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Carnet d’Alerte « L’eau que nous sommes » de Pierre Rabhi et Juliette Duquesne

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

L’eau que nous sommes, Collection « Carnets d’alerte » de Pierre Rabhi et Juliette Duquesne

Carnet d'Alertes, l'eau que nous sommes. P.Rabhi et J.Duquesne La collection Carnets d’alerte se veut être des livres synthétiques, accessibles à tous pour sensibiliser l’opinion à des problématiques de première importance. Ce début novembre 2018 sortira un nouveau Carnet d’Alerte consacré à l’eau. Je vous le présente ici car d’une part le sujet de l’eau est de première importance écologique pour l’humanité (et le climat) et d’autre part j’ai modestement participé à la l’élaboration de cet ouvrage en étant interviewé par Juliette.

L’eau, un élément vital en péril

Quoi de plus banal que d’énoncer que l’eau est à au cœur même de la vie – nous sommes constitués à 65 % d’eau en moyenne ! Pourtant, cette incontestable vérité est trop souvent oubliée. La soixantaine de chercheurs, d’associations, d’agriculteurs, d’acteurs de la société civile interrogés pour ce carnet ne cessent de le rappeler. Aujourd’hui, bien que nous parlions de biodiversité et de transition écologique, ceux qui disposent d’eau en abondance ont tendance à la banaliser… et par là même à la négliger. Et, par un usage irrationnel et irresponsable, nous sommes déjà en train de causer de lourds préjudices aux générations futures.

Le plastique a envahi l’océan, les pesticides se retrouvent même dans le gras des baleines. L’océan, poumon de notre terre, est en danger, puisqu’il récupère toutes les pollutions terrestres. En France, la plupart de nos cours d’eau, et même les nappes phréatiques, sont pollués. Ce nouveau carnet d’alerte se propose d’enquêter sur cette large problématique, de l’agriculture, première source de pollution et première consommatrice d’eau dans le monde, à la gestion par des entreprises privées de ce bien commun. Sans oublier que 30% de la population mondiale n’a pas accès à l’eau salubre…

Comment gérer l’eau demain de façon plus écologique, équitable et locale ? L’eau nécessite plus que tout autre élément une gestion collective. Pierre Rabhi nous alerte : notre rapport à l’eau doit changer ; il est impératif que nous prenions conscience de sa valeur irremplaçable. L’eau, aujourd’hui polluée, gaspillée, source de toutes sortes de profits, pourrait très bien devenir, demain, l’une des solutions aux problèmes majeurs de notre société.

Pionnier de l’agroécologie, expert dans la lutte contre la désertification, Pierre Rabhi est l’auteur de L’Offrande au crépuscule (Éditions de Candide, 1988, primé par le ministère de l’Agriculture), Vers la sobriété heureuse (Actes Sud, 2010), La Convergence des consciences (Le Passeur, 2016). Spécialisée dans des thématiques économiques et environnementales, Juliette Duquesne a travaillé pendant dix ans à la rédaction du journal de TF1.

Le 9 novembre, Juliette nous présentera ce quatrième Carnet d’alerte lors d’une rencontre dédicace à la librairie L’Écume des Pages, 174 boulevard Saint-Germain à Paris de 19h à 21 heures. Ce dernier carnet d’alerte sortira le 7 novembre.



Les mêmes auteurs ont déjà publié, dans la même collection:

  • Pour en finir avec la faim dans le monde
  • Les semences, un patrimoine vital en voie de disparition
  • Les excès de la finance ou l’art de la prédation légalisée (Presses du Châtelet, 2017)

L’eau que nous sommes sur les forums

Contact presse : LP Conseils / Florence Rosenfeld / +33 (0)153 264 210

 

Commentaires Facebook

1 commentaire sur “Carnet d’Alerte « L’eau que nous sommes » de Pierre Rabhi et Juliette Duquesne”

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *