Water injection in Formula 1 Renault

Share this article with your friends:

Tags: Rally, Formula 1, competition, injector, water, performance, power, Ferrari, Renault, octane, detonation, Turbo

Introduction

The injection of water on very high performance engines used in competition has been a common custom in 70 years 80.

The purpose of these water injections had at least 3 distinct essential roles:

- increase the admission rate, Ie the mixing mass, cooling the mixture or intake air by evaporation of the water. So this was increasing the specific power of the engine.

- increase resistance to detonation of the mixture (Ie increase the octane number of the mixture). In this sense, it joined the MW50 injection - Methanol Water - on the 2ieme World War fighter aircraft.

- cool internal components (Including: folder, valve seat, piston ...) engine during heavy duty.

These water injection processes have all been banned rally type of official competition or in Formula 1 As to limit the race for power. These processes are however still used in some competitions dragster or tractor pulling ...

Let us now see some concrete examples of water injection in competition: Renault Sport Formula 1, Ferrari, and SAAB.

Renault Sport Formula 1

Renault Sport logo F1

Philippe Chasselut, head of "piston heads" in Renault Sport's research and development team, recalls these days:

In 1982 the Renault Turbo V6 developed 585 horses, it was the first engine used in F1. In 1977, 525 it was horses, gain power between these versions 2 was minimal. But during the years we focused on other field: reliability, smoothing of the power curve and decrease response time (power to command). Once these atteinds goals, we sought to increase power and, in 1986, 6 was Turbo V870 the horses in race conditions. So if between 1977 and 1982, 60 we won hp (11,5%), we had gained almost 300 (51,3%) between 1982 and 1986.

Formula 1 30 1982 RE
Formula 1 30 1982 RE

In theory, all he had to do to increase the power of a turbocharged engine was to increase the boost pressure. Nevertheless, engine components must be able to withstand this extra power (so internal efforts). That was our main concern when we started up the power 1982. The first obstacle was the detonation, this phenomenon appears when you admit a large amount of mixture in the cylinders and causes abnormal combustion (not controlled). Road vehicles the detonation, also known as knock name, does not cause damage to the engine. But in Formula 1, the detonation forces are so great that the piston can be drilled, and passing the combustion gases into the crankcase ...

View of V6
View of V6 of 1982

To reduce capacity in the detonation of an engine, we first had thought to find a way to cool the air mixture, which had been compressed and therefore heated by the Turbo. This was therefore the function of heat exchangers (intercooler). However, their effectiveness was limited when the ambient outside temperature was very high (of Brazil GP) or during large price carried out at high altitude (South Africa, Mexico ...).

Under these conditions, or oxygen was rarefied by the altitude is the mass of air passing through the intercooler was decreased by the ambient temperature and therefore the expected cooling effect was less.

In 1982, Jean Pierre Boudy who had the idea of ​​lowering the temperature of the air leaving the Turbo by injecting water into the intake. Once the water was in contact with hot air, it is thus sprayed and pumped heat to this air. The temperature of the intake mixture (gas and air) then decreased during its passage through the intake manifold. So we managed to decrease to 10 12 ° C the temperature of the compressed air inlet that was before around 60 ° C. It was enough to prevent the detonation!

A water tank Litres 12 ...

Cockpit
Cockpit

During the ordeal opening 1983 season, the Brazilian Grand Prix, Renault became the first manufacturer to use an injection to Formula 1 to decrease the temperature of the intake mixture.

The system included a tank 12 liters of water, set on one of the side of the car and a control unit installed behind the pilot's head. This control unit included an electric pump, a pressure regulator and a pressure sensor. This sensor triggered the system once the intake boost pressure exceeded 2,5 bars. Below this pressure, there was no risk of detonation so the water injection was not helpful. The water was drawn in by the pump and passed through the regulator which maintained a constant flow before being injected into the collector.

This system required starting each race with an overweight 12 L. This weight handicap caused us to lose 3 tenths per turn in the practice sessions. But it was a lesser disadvantage than the "conventional" method of road vehicles which consisted in delaying the ignition advance. Renault was therefore the first manufacturer to have adopted water injection to preserve turbo-compressed engines of detonation (which was destructive for engines).

Once the detonation problem solved, Renault could focus on increasing the power ...

Results?

It is 1977 the 'Régie' launches in F1. the time of the settlement offers two possibilities to motorists: a liter atmo 3 or 1,5 liter turbo. While all the teams are opting for large three-liter turbo Renault made the bet with a small V6.

At Silverstone, the 17 July RS01 Renault made its first laps. Weakness of the turbo engine, reliability is sorely lacking during the first races to the point that the RS01 is nicknamed the yellow teapot because of its engines breaks into a cloud of smoke. But gradually, the Renault technology becomes more successful. In 1978 Renault turbo imposes the 24 Hours of Le Mans and in 1979, this is the first victory in the Diamond F1 at the Grand Prix of France.

From these early successes, all the teams will follow in the Renault turbo technology to become indispensable from 1983. In the early 90 years, Renault has won for six years the world title as engine manufacturer.

Renault RS01 always moving.

Cockpit
Formula Renault 1 RS01

Renault RS01:

Engine: 6 cylinder V center position, turbocharger, 1 492 cm3, 525 10 500 hp r / min, maximum speed approx. 300 km / h

Transmission: rear wheel - 6 box speed +

Brakes: ventilated discs on all four wheels

Dimensions: length. 4,50 m - width. M 2,00 - 600 kg weight

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Injection d’eau en Formule 1 Renault

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Mots clés : Rallye, Formule 1, compétition, injecteur, eau, performances, puissance, Ferrari, Renault, octane, détonation, Turbo

Introduction

L’injection d’eau sur les moteurs trés performants utilisés en compétition à été une coutume courante dans les années 70 et 80.

Le but de ces injections d’eau avait, au moins, 3 rôles essentiels bien distincts :

augmenter le taux d’admission, c’est à dire la masse de mélange, en refroidissant le mélange ou l’air d’admission par évaporation de cette eau. Ainsi ceci augmentait la puissance spécifique du moteur.

augmenter la résistance à la détonation du mélange ( autrement dit augmenter l’indice d’octane du mélange ). En ce sens, ceci rejoint l’injection MW50 – Methanol Water – sur les avions de chasse de la 2ieme guerre mondiale.

refroidir les composants internes ( notamment : chemise, soupape, siège, piston…) du moteur lors des fortes sollicitations.

Ces procédés d’injection d’eau ont tous été interdits en compétition officielles de type Rallye ou Formule 1 au fur et à mesure afin de limiter la course à la puissance. Ces procédés sont néanmoins encore utilisés dans certaines compétitions de dragster ou tractor pulling…

Voyons maintenant quelques exemples concrets d’injection d’eau en compétition par : Renault Sport en Formule 1, Ferrari, et SAAB.

Renault Sport en Formule 1

Logo Renault Sport F1

Philippe Chasselut, responsable des « têtes de pistons » dans l’équipe de recherche et développement de Renault Sport se souvient de ces jours :

En 1982, le Renault V6 Turbo développait 585 chevaux, il fût le premier moteur utilisé en F1. En 1977, il faisait 525 chevaux, le gain de puissance entre ces 2 versions était donc minime. Mais durant les années nous nous étions concentrés sur d’autres domaine : fiabilité, lissage de la courbe de puissance et diminution du temps de réponse ( commande vers puissance ). Une fois ces buts atteinds, nous avons cherché à augmenter la puissance et, en 1986, le V6 Turbo faisait 870 chevaux en conditions de course. Ainsi, si entre 1977 et 1982, nous avions gagné 60 cv ( 11,5% ) , nous en avions gagné près de 300 ( 51,3 % ) entre 1982 et 1986.

Formula 1 RE 30 1982
Formula 1 RE 30 1982

En théorie, tout ce qu’il y avait à faire pour augmenter la puissance d’un moteur Turbocompréssé était d’augmenter la pression de suralimentation. Néanmoins, les composants du moteur devaient pouvoir résister à ce surplus de puissance ( donc d’efforts internes ). C’était notre principal souci lorsque nous avons commencé à augmenté la puissance en 1982. Le premier obstacle était la détonnation, ce phénomène apparait lorsqu’on admet une grande quantité de mélange dans les cylindres et provoque une combustion anormale ( non controlée ). Sur les véhicules routiers la détonnation, connue aussi sous nom de cliquetis, ne cause pas de dégats au moteur. Mais en Formule 1, les forces de détonnation sont si grandes que le piston peut être percé, laissant ainsi passer les gaz de combustion dans le carter…

Vue du V6
Vue du V6 de 1982

Pour réduire la capacité à la détonation d’un moteur, nous avions d’abord pensé à trouver un moyen de refroidir l’air du mélange, qui avait été comprimé et donc échauffé par le Turbo. Ceci était donc la fonction des échangeurs thermique ( intercooler ). Néanmoins, leur efficacité était limitée lorsque la température extérieure ambiante était très élevée ( GP du Bresil ) ou durant des grands prix effectués à haute altitude ( Afrique du Sud, Mexico…).

Dans ces conditions, soit l’oxygène était raréfié par l’altitude soit la masse d’air passant par l’intercooler était diminué par la température ambiante et donc l’effet de refroidissement attendu était moindre.

En 1982, c’est Jean Pierre Boudy qui eu l’idée d’abaisser la température de l’air sortant du Turbo en injectant de l’eau dans l’admission. Une fois que l’eau était en contact avec l’air chaud, elle se vaporisait et pompait donc de la chaleur à cet air. La température du mélange d’admission ( essence et air ) diminuait alors durant son passage dans le collecteur d’admission. Ainsi nous avons réussi à diminuer de 10 à 12°C la température de l’air compressé d’admission qui était avant aux alentours de 60°C. C’était suffisant pour prévenir la détonation !

Un réservoir d’eau de 12 Litres…

Poste de pilotage
Poste de pilotage

Durant l’epreuve d’ouverture de la saison 1983, le Grand Prix du Brésil, Renault devient ainsi le premier constructeur à utiliser une injection d’au en Formule 1 pour diminuer la température du mélange d’admission.

Le système comprenait un réservoir de 12 Litres d’eau, fixé sur un des coté de la voiture et une unité de contrôle installée derrière la tête du pilote. Cette unité de contrôle comprenait une pompe électrique, un régulateur de pression et un capteur de pression. Ce capteur déclenchait le système une fois que la pression de suralimentation d’admission dépassait les 2,5 bars. En dessous de cette pression, il n’y avait pas de risque de détonation donc l’injection d’eau n’était pas utile. L’eau était aspiré par la pompe et passait à travers le régulateur qui maintenait constant le débit avant d’être injecté dans le collecteur.

Ce système nécessitait de démarrer chaque course avec un surpoids de 12 L. Cet handicap de poids nous a fait perdre 3 dixièmes par tour dans les séances d’essais. Mais c’était un moindre inconvénient que la méthode « classique » des véhicules routiers qui consistait à retarder l’avance à l’allumage. Renault était donc le premier constructeur à avoir adopté l’injection d’eau pour préserver les moteurs turbo-compréssés de la détonation ( qui était destructrice pour les moteurs ).

Une fois ce problème de détonation résolu, Renault pu se concentrer sur l’augmentation de la puissance…

Pour quels résultats ?

C’est en 1977 que la ‘Régie’ se lance en F1. Le règlement de l’époque offre deux possibilités aux motoristes : un 3 litres atmo ou un 1,5 litres turbo. Alors que toutes les écuries optent pour les gros trois litres, Renault fait le pari du turbo avec un petit V6.

A Silverstone, le 17 juillet, la Renault RS01 fait ses premiers tours de roues. Point faible du moteur turbo, la fiabilité fait cruellement défaut durant les premières courses à tel point que la RS01 est surnommée la théière jaune à cause de ses casses moteurs dans un nuage de fumée. Mais petit à petit, la technologie Renault devient plus aboutie. En 1978, Renault impose le turbo aux 24 Heures du Mans et en 1979, c’est la première victoire du Losange en F1 lors du Grand Prix de France.

A partir de ces premiers succès, toutes les écuries suivront Renault dans la technologie turbo jusqu’à devenir incontournable à partir de 1983. Au début des années 90, Renault a remporté durant six ans le titre mondial comme motoriste.

Une Renault RS01 roule toujours.

Poste de pilotage
Formule 1 Renault RS01

Renault RS01 :

Moteur : 6 cylindres en V en position centrale, turbocompresseur, 1 492 cm3, 525 ch à 10 500 tr/mn, vitesse maxi env. 300 km/h

Transmission : aux roues arrière – boîte 6 rapports + MA

Freins : disques ventilés sur les quatre roues

Dimensions : long. 4,50 m – larg. 2,00 m – poids 600 kg

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *