Returns Scroll Stop Automatic mode

Waste, recycling and reuse of old objectsWaste, a huge problem

Environmental impact of end of life products: plastics, chemicals, vehicles, agri-food marketing. direct recycling and recycling (upcycling or upcycling) and reuse of good items for the trash!
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3545
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 304

Waste, a huge problem

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 15/05/18, 22:23

Submerged with waste, Moscow suffocates

By Ottilia Ferey, AFP Agency 15 / 05 / 2018

Russia produces nearly 70 million tons of waste a year, according to estimates by the environmental organization Greenpeace. Selective sorting exists only in about a hundred Russian cities and most waste has been accumulating for decades in increasingly polluting landfills.

Moscow suffocates. The waste accumulating in landfills, with their unpleasant odors and toxic waste, is insupporting the inhabitants of the periphery of the Russian capital. And incineration, a solution brandished by the authorities, is far from satisfying everyone. According to Greenpeace, over the last ten years the volume of waste in Russia has increased by 30%. Only 2% of this waste is incinerated and 7% recycled, while the rest is stored in landfills.

"Russia seems to realize the prediction of the physicist Niels Bohr that humanity will die by suffocating under its own waste," says a head of Greenpeace-Russia, Alexei Kisselov. In the vicinity of Moscow, 24 dumps have been closed in the last five years because they had reached maximum dimensions, while 15 others - huge stinking mountains in open skies - continue to receive new masses of polluting waste unsorted. "Most were created 50 years ago, without any gas treatment technology and wastewater" that ensue, recognizes the local Ministry of Ecology.
.................

Faced with this ecological disaster, the Russian government has promised to build five waste incineration plants: four in the Moscow region and one in Kazan, on the Volga. The first two plants, capable of incinerating 700.000 tons of waste per year and producing each 70 megawatts of electricity, must be completed in 2021 at Voskressensk, in the south-east of Moscow, and at Naro-Fominsk, in the Northeast. "The aim is to stop waste disposal in landfills," says Andrei Chipelov, director of RT-Invest, which is developing the project.
.................


http://www.lefigaro.fr/international/20 ... touffe.php
0 x

moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3545
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 304

Re: Waste, a huge problem

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 16/05/18, 18:08

Putin will envy us this:

The new Suez sorting center in Limeil-Brévannes will sort 60 000 tons of waste per year

PATRICK DESAVY Factory New the 16 / 05 / 2018

Thanks to an investment of 15 million euros Suez has built in Limeil-Brevannes (Val-de-Marne) a new highly automated sorting center that will process 60 000 tons of waste per year.

Image
The new Suez sorting center in Limeil-Brévannes will sort 60 000 tons of waste per year.

The Suez group has inaugurated the 15 May, its new generation sorting center Limeil-Brevannes (Val-de-Marne) which represented an investment of 15 million euros and employs 90 employees according to Marie-Ange Debon, director France, Italy, Central and Eastern Europe of Suez.

The new center has a processing capacity of 60 000 tons of waste per year, twice as much as the equipment it replaces and which was installed on the same site. Already in full charge only a few months after commissioning, it can sort 13 different streams from household waste from a population basin of about one million inhabitants. The establishment can also handle the flows from the Parisian guidelines set up by Suez as part of the Réco project aimed at recovering plastic bottles and cans. Once sorted, the different types of waste (paper, wood, cardboard, metals, plastics, etc.) are oriented towards specialized recovery sectors.

"The characteristic of this equipment is to be innovative and very structured with a process very close to industrial processes," says Marie-Ange Debon. Thus, the technologies and equipment used (optical sorting, sorting by size and weight, sorting by magnets, etc.) make it possible to have a very high level of automaticity and speed.

The financing of the new plant was supported by Ademe and Citeo (a company born from the combination of Eco-Emballages and Ecofolio).


https://www.usinenouvelle.com/article/l ... an.N694139
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3545
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 304

Re: Waste, a huge problem

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 16/05/18, 21:34

E-waste: Thousands of illegal tons in Nigeria via used cars

Jacqueline Charpentier 20 April 2018 

An 2 study of used electrical and electronic equipment (UEEE) sent to Nigeria, mainly from European ports, revealed a serious problem of non-compliance with international and national rules governing these shipments.
...............
Image
Used car filled with used electronic equipment most of which no longer works - Credit: UNU & BCCC-Africa

https://actualite.housseniawriting.com/ ... ion/26469/

Image
European e-waste sent illegally to Nigeria in used-market vehicles
UNU & BCCC-Africa

http://www.journaldelenvironnement.net/ ... ques,91408
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3545
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 304

Re: Waste, a huge problem

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 13/07/18, 20:49

Recycling is piling up in the United States because China does not want more

11 juilelt 2018

In recent months, the Baltimore-Washington Metropolitan Recycling Plant has a problem: it has to pay to get rid of the paper and plastic it sorts, instead of selling it. Because China does not buy anymore, saying that they are too "contaminated".

The 900 tons of recycling spilled by 24 dump trucks on 24, five days a week, on conveyor belts at the Elkridge plant, one hour from the US capital, are certainly not clean.

In an infernal mechanical din and a cloud of brown dust, dozens of gloved and masked workers, mostly women, remove from their expert hands a bazaar of rubbish, clothes, wooden objects, cables, tree branches. and the obsession with recyclers: plastic bags, which are not supposed to go into the bins to recycle because they get tangled in the machines.

The goal is to "decontaminate" to the maximum, that is to say on the one hand to strictly separate recyclables from non-recyclable waste, on the other hand to ensure that the final batteries of plastics, paper or cardboard contains no other material.

"We even had to slow down the machines and hire more people" to better decontaminate, says the manager, Michael Taylor.

At the end of sorting, large cubes of compacted waste (paper, cardboard, plastics ...) are produced. This waste has been purchased for decades by companies, mainly in China, who cleaned, milled and re-processed raw materials for industrialists. These importers closed their eyes when the plastic balls were too dirty or were not "pure" enough.

China, last year, bought more than half of the recyclable waste exported by the United States. Globally, since 1992, 72% of plastic waste has ended in China and Hong Kong, according to a study published in Science Advances.
But since January, Chinese borders have closed to most of the paper and plastic, a consequence of a new environmental policy in Beijing ... Chinese leaders saying they want to no longer be the trash of the planet, or even its dump.

For the rest, including metal or cardboard, Chinese inspectors have set a contamination rate of 0,5%, too low for current US technologies that can not sort the waste so accurately. The industry expects that almost all waste categories will be rejected by 2020.

- Brutal transition -

In Elkridge, the factory still sells its PET (plastic bottles) to a buyer in South Carolina, and its carton abroad. But mixed paper and plastic are worthless: it pays subcontractors to take them back.

Elsewhere in the United States, recyclers have resolved to a taboo act: they no longer sort the plastic and paper, which end up in landfills.

"Nobody wants to say it out loud because no one likes to do it," says Bill Caesar, head of WCA, a Houston-based company.

The American giants Republic Services and Waste Management have acknowledged having done punctually, as in Oregon. Small towns, especially in Florida, simply canceled the recycling collection.

The other importing countries, Indonesia, Vietnam or India, are unable to absorb the tens of millions of tonnes that China imported. And few American industrialists have the technology to process these materials.

"China has given the industry too little time to adapt," says Adina Renee Adler of the Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, a large professional federation.

"We will soon have so much inventory that we will have to put more and more in landfills if we do not find new markets," said Darrell Smith, president of the National Waste and Recycling Association.

- More and more expensive -


The problem is beginning to be felt in cities when renegotiating municipal contracts. Especially since many cities have ambitious recycling targets - like Washington, which wants to go from 23% of household waste to 80%.

The capital is already paying 75 dollars to recycle a ton, against 46 dollars for garbage, which is burned to generate electricity.

"There was a time when it was cheaper to recycle but it's not the case," says Christopher Shorter, director of public works in Washington.

"Recycling is going to cost us more and more money," he warns.

To avoid financial penalties, the city wants to "educate" its citizens so that they stop putting in the blue bin the bad waste, such as plastic bags.

To reduce the amount of waste to be recycled or burned, she is considering the collection of organic waste, with a future third bin, and the construction of a composting plant. And she thinks to make pay the inhabitants to the weight of waste.

Even with these measures, Bill Caesar, in Houston, warns all Americans: it will soon pay more for "the privilege of recycling".


https://www.romandie.com/news/Le-recycl ... 935748.rom
0 x




  • Similar topics
    Replies
    views
    Last message

Back to "waste, recycling and reuse of old objects"

Who is online ?

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and guests 2

Retour Faire défiler Stop Mode automatique

Déchets, recyclage et réutilisation de vieux objetsLes déchets, un énorme probléme

Impact sur l'environnement des produits en fin de vie: plastiques, produits chimiques, véhicules, marketing de l'agroalimentaire. Recyclage et recyclage direct (upcycling ou surcyclage) et réutilisations d'objets bon pour la poubelle!
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3495
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 296

Les déchets, un énorme probléme

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 15/05/18, 22:23

Submergée de déchets, Moscou étouffe

Par Ottilia Ferey , AFP agence le 15/05/2018

La Russie produit près de 70 millions de tonnes de déchets par an, selon les estimations de l'organisation écologiste Greenpeace. Le tri sélectif n'existe que dans une centaine de villes russes et la plupart des déchets s'accumulent depuis des décennies dans des décharges de plus en plus polluantes.

Moscou étouffe. Les déchets qui s'accumulent dans les décharges, avec leurs odeurs incommodantes et leurs rejets toxiques, insupportent les habitants de la périphérie de la capitale russe. Et l'incinération, solution brandie par les autorités, est loin de satisfaire tout le monde. Selon Greenpeace, au cours des dix dernières années, le volume des déchets en Russie a augmenté de 30%. Seuls 2% de ces déchets sont incinérés et 7% recyclés, tandis que le reste est stocké dans les décharges.

«La Russie semble réaliser la prédiction du physicien Niels Bohr selon laquelle l'humanité mourra en étouffant sous ses propres déchets», ironise un responsable de Greenpeace-Russie, Alexeï Kisseliov. Dans les environs de Moscou, 24 décharges ont été fermées au cours des cinq dernières années parce qu'elles avaient atteint les dimensions maximales, tandis que 15 autres - d'énormes montagnes puantes à ciel ouvert - continuent à recevoir de nouvelles masses de déchets polluants non triés. «La plupart ont été créées il y a 50 ans, sans aucune technologie de traitement du gaz et des eaux usées» qui en découlent, reconnaît le ministère local de l'Écologie.
.................

Face à cette catastrophe écologique, le gouvernement russe a promis de construire cinq usines d'incinération des déchets: quatre dans la région de Moscou et une à Kazan, sur la Volga. Les deux premières usines, en mesure d'incinérer 700.000 tonnes de déchets par an et de produire chacune 70 mégawatts d'électricité, doivent être terminées en 2021 à Voskressensk, dans le sud-est de Moscou, et à Naro-Fominsk, dans le Nord-Est. «L'objectif, c'est de mettre fin au stockage des déchets dans les décharges», explique Andreï Chipelov, directeur de la société RT-Invest qui développe le projet.
.................


http://www.lefigaro.fr/international/20 ... touffe.php
0 x

moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3495
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 296

Re: Les déchets, un énorme probléme

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 16/05/18, 18:08

Poutine va nous envier ceci :

Le nouveau centre de tri de Suez à Limeil-Brévannes triera 60 000 tonnes de déchets par an

PATRICK DÉSAVIE Usine Nouvelle le 16/05/2018

Grâce à un investissement de 15 millions d'euros Suez a construit à Limeil-Brevannes (Val-de-Marne) un nouveau centre de tri hautement automatisé qui traitera 60 000 tonnes de déchets par an.

Image
Le nouveau centre de tri de Suez à Limeil-Brévannes triera 60 000 tonnes de déchets par an.

Le groupe Suez a inauguré, le 15 mai, son centre de tri de nouvelle génération de Limeil-Brevannes (Val-de-Marne) qui a représenté un investissement de 15 millions d’euros et emploie 90 salariés selon Marie-Ange Debon, directrice générale France, Italie, Europe Centrale et Orientale de Suez.

Le nouveau centre a une capacité de traitement de 60 000 tonnes de déchets par an, soit deux fois plus que l’équipement qu’il remplace et qui était installé sur le même site. Déjà en pleine charge quelques mois seulement après sa mise en service, il peut trier 13 flux différents provenant des ordures ménagères d’un bassin de population d’environ un million d’habitants. L’établissement peut également traiter les flux provenant des consignes franciliennes déployées par Suez dans le cadre du projet Réco ayant pour objectif de récupérer les bouteilles plastiques et les canettes. Une fois trié les différents déchets (papier, bois, cartons, métaux, plastiques, etc) sont orientés vers des filières spécialisées de valorisation.

"La caractéristique de cet équipement c’est d’être innovant et très structuré avec un process très proche des process industriels", précise Marie-Ange Debon. Ainsi les technologies et les équipements mis en œuvre (tri optique, tri par la taille et le poids, tri par aimants, etc) permettent d’avoir un très haut niveau d’automaticité et de rapidité.

Le financement de la nouvelle usine a reçu le soutien de l’Ademe et de Citeo (une société née du rapprochement d’Eco-Emballages et d’Ecofolio).


https://www.usinenouvelle.com/article/l ... an.N694139
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3495
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 296

Re: Les déchets, un énorme probléme

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 16/05/18, 21:34

Déchets électroniques : Des milliers de tonnes illégales au Nigeria via les voitures d’occasion

Jacqueline Charpentier 20 avril 2018 

Une étude de 2 ans sur les équipements électriques et électroniques usagés (UEEE) envoyés au Nigeria, principalement en provenance de ports européens, a révélé un grave problème de non-respect des règles internationales et nationales régissant ces envois.
...............
Image
Une voiture d’occasion remplie avec des équipements électroniques usagés dont la majorité ne fonctionnent plus – Crédit : UNU & BCCC-Africa

https://actualite.housseniawriting.com/ ... ion/26469/

Image
Des déchets électroniques européens sont envoyés illégalement au Nigeria dans des véhicules destinés au marché de l'occasion
UNU & BCCC-Africa

http://www.journaldelenvironnement.net/ ... ques,91408
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3495
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 296

Re: Les déchets, un énorme probléme

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 13/07/18, 20:49

Le recyclage s'entasse aux Etats-Unis car la Chine n'en veut plus

11 juilelt 2018

Depuis quelques mois, l'usine de recyclage de l'agglomération de Baltimore-Washington a un problème: elle doit payer pour se débarrasser du papier et du plastique qu'elle trie, au lieu de les vendre. Car la Chine n'en achète plus, affirmant qu'ils sont trop "contaminés".

Les 900 tonnes de recyclage déversées par des camions-bennes 24 heures sur 24, cinq jours par semaine, sur les tapis convoyeurs de l'usine d'Elkridge, à une heure de la capitale américaine, n'ont certes rien de propre.

Dans un vacarme mécanique infernal et un nuage de poussière marron, des dizaines d'ouvriers gantés et masqués, en majorité des femmes, retirent de leurs mains expertes un bazar de détritus, vêtements, objets en bois, câbles, branches d'arbres... et la hantise des recycleurs: des sacs en plastique, qui ne sont pas censés aller dans les bacs à recycler car ils s'emmêlent dans les machines.

Le but est de "décontaminer" au maximum, c'est-à-dire d'une part de séparer strictement les matières recyclables des déchets non recyclables, d'autre part de s'assurer que les piles finales de plastiques, de papiers ou de cartons ne contiennent aucune autre matière.

"On a même dû ralentir les machines et embaucher plus de gens" pour mieux décontaminer, dit le responsable, Michael Taylor.

A la fin du tri, de gros cubes de déchets compactés (papiers, cartons, plastiques...) sont produits. Ces déchets étaient achetés depuis des décennies par des entreprises, principalement en Chine, qui les nettoyaient, broyaient et retransformaient en matières premières pour des industriels. Ces importateurs fermaient les yeux quand les balles de plastiques étaient trop sales ou n'étaient pas assez "pures".

La Chine, l'an dernier, a ainsi acheté plus de la moitié des déchets recyclables exportés par les Etats-Unis. Au niveau mondial, depuis 1992, ce sont 72% des déchets plastiques qui ont fini en Chine et à Hong Kong, selon une étude parue dans Science Advances.
Mais depuis janvier, les frontières chinoises se sont fermées à la plupart du papier et du plastique, conséquence d'une nouvelle politique environnementale de Pékin... les dirigeants chinois se disant désireux de ne plus être la poubelle de la planète, ou même sa déchetterie.

Pour le reste, dont le métal ou le carton, les inspecteurs chinois ont fixé un taux de contamination de 0,5%, trop bas pour les technologies américaines actuelles qui n'arrivent pas à trier les déchets de façon aussi précise. Le secteur s'attend in fine à ce que presque toutes les catégories de déchets soient refusées d'ici 2020.

- Transition brutale -

A Elkridge, l'usine arrive encore à vendre son PET (bouteilles en plastique) à un acheteur en Caroline du Sud, et son carton à l'étranger. Mais le papier et le plastique mélangés ne valent plus rien: elle paie des sous-traitants pour les lui reprendre.

Ailleurs aux Etats-Unis, des recycleurs se sont résolus à un acte tabou: ils ne trient plus le plastique et le papier, qui finissent donc dans les décharges.

"Personne ne veut le dire à haute voix, car personne n'aime le faire", dit à l'AFP Bill Caesar, patron de WCA, société basée à Houston.

Les géants américains Republic Services et Waste Management ont reconnu l'avoir fait ponctuellement, comme dans l'Oregon. Des petites villes, notamment en Floride, ont simplement annulé la collecte de recyclage.

Les autres pays importateurs, Indonésie, Vietnam ou Inde, sont incapables d'absorber les dizaines de millions de tonnes que la Chine importait. Et peu d'industriels américains ont la technologie pour traiter ces matériaux.

"La Chine a donné trop peu de temps au secteur pour s'adapter", dit Adina Renee Adler, de l'Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries, grande fédération professionnelle.

"Nous aurons bientôt tellement de stocks que nous serons obligés d'en mettre de plus en plus dans les décharges si on ne trouve pas de nouveaux marchés", admet le président de la National Waste and Recycling Association, Darrell Smith.

- De plus en plus cher -


Le problème commence à se faire sentir dans les villes lors de la renégociation des contrats municipaux. D'autant plus que nombre de métropoles ont des objectifs ambitieux de recyclage --comme Washington, qui veut passer de 23% des ordures ménagères à 80%.

La capitale paie déjà 75 dollars pour recycler une tonne, contre 46 dollars pour les ordures, qui sont brûlées pour générer de l'électricité.

"Il fut un temps où cela revenait moins cher de recycler mais ce n'est plus le cas", explique Christopher Shorter, directeur des travaux publics de Washington.

"Recycler va nous coûter de plus en plus cher", prévient-il.

Pour éviter des pénalités financières, la ville veut mieux "éduquer" ses administrés afin qu'ils arrêtent de mettre dans la poubelle bleue les mauvais déchets, comme les sacs plastiques.

Pour réduire le volume de déchets à recycler ou brûler, elle envisage la collecte des déchets organiques, avec une future troisième poubelle, et la construction d'une usine de compostage. Et elle réfléchit à faire payer les habitants au poids de déchets.

Même avec ces mesures, Bill Caesar, à Houston, avertit l'ensemble des Américains: il faudra bientôt payer plus pour "le privilège de recycler".


https://www.romandie.com/news/Le-recycl ... 935748.rom
0 x


 


  • Sujets similaires
    Réponses
    Vues
    Dernier message

Revenir vers « Déchets, recyclage et réutilisation de vieux objets »

Qui est en ligne ?

Utilisateurs parcourant ce forum : Aucun utilisateur inscrit et 2 invités