Returns Scroll Stop Automatic mode

Media and news: TV shows, reports, books, news ...Palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Books, television programs, films, magazines or music to share, counselor to discover ... Talk to news affecting in any way the econology, environment, energy, society, consumption (new laws or standards) ...
User avatar
sen-no-sen
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 5635
Registration: 11/06/09, 13:08
Location: High Beaujolais.
x 228

Palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby sen-no-sen » 22/05/18, 14:10

Total green light on palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Too bad for the planet: to please Total, but also to Malaysia and Indonesia, the Minister authorizes the import of 300.000 tons per year of this decried product.


It has certainly become a little too easy to be ironic on the rostrum of snakes, which Nicolas Hulot, Minister of Ecological Transition, has been giving for a year. But this one is too big to let pass, it's a boa. Wednesday, with the green light of the minister, the prefecture of Bouches-du-Rhone authorized the Total group to operate a biorefinery on its site of Mède, near the pond of Berre. As of this summer, Total will import at least 300.000 tons of palm oil per year, which represents an increase in French imports of this 36% product.

In July 2017, presenting his climate plan, Nicolas Hulot proposed to "close the window of opportunity that allows to incorporate palm oil in fuels". But as soon as he was appointed, the minister quickly had to backtrack.

A monstrous deforestation

Palm oil has many qualities: it is easy to cultivate, and therefore inexpensive; it is a very stable product, resistant to heat and oxidation; it is easy to "work" in an industrial process. But as we know, it's a horror. Not so much for health, although its saturated fats are not a panacea. To extract it, one indulges in Indonesia and Malaysia (90% of the production) to a monstrous deforestation, in order to plant palm oil.

However, who says deforestation says massacre of the last orangutans and gibbons, destruction of biodiversity, extremely polluting burning, expropriations of villages ... But also aggravation of global warming. Because, as Nicolas Hulot recalled before he was a minister, "deforestation is responsible for 10% of global greenhouse gas emissions". According to a study commissioned in 2016 by the European Commission, palm oil is three times more harmful in terms of greenhouse effects than fossil fuels.

The proportions of this palm oil industry are gigantic. It's not just about adding a few grams to Nutella: palm oil makes up a quarter of all the oil produced in the world. Crisps with mayonnaise, this vegetable fat is present in 80% of industrialized food products and 20% of beauty products. It is used mainly for the fuel industry: in France, 75% of imported palm oil ends up in vehicle tanks.

Nicolas Hulot's decision seems incomprehensible. It is contrary to the interests of French rapeseed producers. It is contrary to the interests of the planet - and there is no "planet B", to paraphrase Emmanuel Macron who swears to have made the fight against global warming his priority. It is contrary to the opinion of the European Parliament, which in January voted to abolish the use of palm oil in fuel by 2021. Finally, it is contrary to what the minister himself thinks in the depths of himself. Asked about BFMTV-RMC, he tried to justify himself by explaining that it was transitory, that he had negotiated with Patrick Pouyané, the boss of Total, so that the share of palm oil is limited and reduced each year to used oils ... But not enough to calm ecological organizations.
Pleasing Total, Indonesia and Malaysia

Why this decision? Two explanations. The first is an effective lobbying of Total, which seeks to save the site of Mède. Patrick Pouyané, the boss, is a fan of Emmanuel Macron: he may have been director of the cabinet of François Fillon, he supported the opponent of the latter during his campaign and he can not stop praising this president which, he says, makes France make "a leap towards modernity". Macron, on the other hand, regards Total as one of the most strategic groups in France.

Second explanation, even more cynical: France sells arms and planes to Indonesia and Malaysia. And these countries threaten not to buy these machines if Paris harmed their exports. To torpedo a French palm oil tax project, Indonesia, in 2016, had threatened not to order Airbus A400M military transport. And according to the "New Factory", Malaysia is doing the same today: it threatens to no longer buy 18 Rafale in discussion.

After the European Parliament voted in favor of banning palm oil in fuels in January, France had already indicated that it would oppose it. It confirms today its very little focus "Make the Planet Great again", to quote the ambitious slogan of Emmanuel Macron. The "window of opportunity" evoked in 2017 Nicolas Hulot remains, alas, wide open and its hinges well oiled.

Pascal Riché


https://www.nouvelobs.com/edito/20180517.OBS6826/feu-vert-a-total-sur-l-huile-de-palme-le-triste-renoncement-de-hulot.html


This confirms the Macron method, the establishment of N.Hulot served as an ecological screen, and with the release of ballast on secondary issues (abandonment of the airport project of Notre Dame des Landes, closing of Fessenheim) the principle remains the same: continue in the worst ...
0 x
"Genius sometimes consists of knowing when to stop" Charles De Gaulle.

Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 6862
Registration: 25/02/08, 18:54
Location: Burgundy
x 473

Re: palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby Ahmed » 22/05/18, 14:46

Nihil novi sub sun... That's what was Totally (sic!) Predictable.
0 x
"Do not believe above all that I tell you."
Janic
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 6096
Registration: 29/10/10, 13:27
Location: Burgundy
x 73

Re: palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby Janic » 23/05/18, 09:25

Nihil novi sub sole ... That's what was Totally (sic!) Predictable.
how's that total ... uh -... We can not trust anyone anymore!
0 x
"We do science with facts, as is a house with stones, but an accumulation of facts is no more a science than a heap of stones is a house" Henri Poincaré
"Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence" Exnihiloest
Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 6862
Registration: 25/02/08, 18:54
Location: Burgundy
x 473

Re: palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby Ahmed » 23/05/18, 10:42

We can not trust anyone anymore!

Exactly so! These people work according to a very clear logic, just be damn naive to believe their statements when they support arguments that go against the same logic. It is indeed under the guise of good intentions displayed that these determinisms can be expressed: reassuring with one hand and destroying the other ...
0 x
"Do not believe above all that I tell you."
Janic
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 6096
Registration: 29/10/10, 13:27
Location: Burgundy
x 73

Re: palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby Janic » 23/05/18, 12:21

It is indeed under the guise of good intentions displayed that these determinisms can be expressed: reassuring with one hand and destroying the other ...
the usual carrot stick to advance the donkeys we are too often! : roll:
0 x
"We do science with facts, as is a house with stones, but an accumulation of facts is no more a science than a heap of stones is a house" Henri Poincaré
"Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence" Exnihiloest

User avatar
sen-no-sen
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 5635
Registration: 11/06/09, 13:08
Location: High Beaujolais.
x 228

Re: palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby sen-no-sen » 23/05/18, 13:15

It should not be overlooked that politics is a nest of crabs ... and even vipers.
The abandonment of the Notre Dame des Landes airport project under the leadership of Nicolas Hulot * has cost the latter relatively high, especially in the form of a rumor for sexual harassment on the person of Pascale Miterrand incidentally little girl of the former president of the same name.
If I were paranoid I would say that it is a revenge or a "message" sent to him to calm his very possible ecology.



* Under are impulse but in reality it is mainly to the court of accounts that we must abandon this project, indeed there are in France near 155 airports against ... 45 in Germany (!) Then that the latter has 82 million inhabitants (against 66 in France) for an average income about equal.
In other words, most French airports are not used for anything else but to guarantee the re-election of a few elected officials ...
0 x
"Genius sometimes consists of knowing when to stop" Charles De Gaulle.
User avatar
izentrop
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3214
Registration: 17/03/14, 23:42
Location: picardie
x 181
Contact :

Re: palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby izentrop » 23/05/18, 13:48

We did not want it in the nutella, we will not have it in our tanks.
We are not stopping progress and we are not going to prevent emerging countries from taking their heads out of the water either. : Mrgreen: : Cheesy:

Moreover, this story of deforestation https://theconversation.com/non-lhuile- ... tion-76955
0 x
Cum hoc ergo propter hoc ... In other words: Correlation is not causality.
Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 6862
Registration: 25/02/08, 18:54
Location: Burgundy
x 473

Re: Palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby Ahmed » 23/05/18, 14:44

We did not want it in the nutella, we will not have it in our tanks.

You mean that instead of before ... : Mrgreen:
The article cited admits the importance of the impact of this crop in Indonesia: it is normal that there is more damage where there is the maximum expansion of this crop (and therefore less elsewhere *) ...

But for similar reasons.
0 x
"Do not believe above all that I tell you."
User avatar
sen-no-sen
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 5635
Registration: 11/06/09, 13:08
Location: High Beaujolais.
x 228

Re: palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby sen-no-sen » 23/05/18, 14:45

izentrop wrote:We did not want it in the nutella, we will not have it in our tanks.
We are not stopping progress and we are not going to prevent emerging countries from taking their heads out of the water either. : Mrgreen: : Cheesy:

Besides this story of deforestation https://theconversation.com/non-lhuile- ... tion-76955


It's a lobbyist reasoning that you hold there ...
If it is true that palm oil can hardly be held responsible for 40% of global deforestation this does not change in any way that this represents an ecological disaster.
Deforestation is linked to agricultural extension, including grazing for meat production (direct or indirect), urbanization, timber sales and hydrocarbon exploitation.
In all this oil palm plantations represents about 2,5% (growth of 8,5% per annum) of global deforestation, at first it may seem negligible (and it is a good argument for lobbies).
Yes except that 2,5% of global deforestation represents absolutely gigantic surfaces, close to 350 000 hectares just that .. is half of Corsica!

Image
And all this in areas with a very high level of biodiversity, above the island of Borneo ...
1 x
"Genius sometimes consists of knowing when to stop" Charles De Gaulle.
Janic
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 6096
Registration: 29/10/10, 13:27
Location: Burgundy
x 73

Re: Palm oil: the sad renunciation of Hulot

Unread Messageby Janic » 23/05/18, 15:18

We are not stopping progress and we are not going to prevent emerging countries from taking their heads out of the water either.
this progress is collective suicide. The main source of oxygen production, after the sea, is forests, a sink for carbon that everyone is afraid of.
but you are partially right. One can not make morals to others only when one is without reproach, even here and there France is certainly not a model of virtue.
Nevertheless, this production is not made for the use of the populations themselves, but to make business for the sole advantage of foreign countries that make fun of the future of these populations and their land.
Moreover, this story of deforestation https://theconversation.com/non-lhuile- ... tion-76955

Ah, here is finally a really interesting document and relatively honest, it is extremely rare.
Palm is no longer responsible for 40% of global deforestation but "only" of 40% of deforestation due to intensive agriculture
according to FAO data.
It shows that although the forest areas are increasing netly in the European Union, it has "consumed" 10% of global deforestation between 1990 and 2008, or 732 000 hectares per year via its imports. This "imported" deforestation is 60% due to food imported by the member countries from the tropics: 18% for livestock and meat products and 42% for food and feed crops. These crops include soy (60%), palm oil (12%), cocoa (8%), coffee (4%) and natural rubber (3%). In 2004, "imported" deforestation by the EU came from 48% of Brazil, 9% from Indonesia, 5% from Cameroon, 5% from Argentina and 4% from Malaysia.
The technical report then discusses an overall assessment, by country and by cause of deforestation. We learn that 239 million hectares of forests were cut during the period studied, mainly in tropical or subtropical zones: 91 million hectares in Latin America, 73 millions in sub-Saharan Africa, 44 millions in South-East Asia. East.
Agriculture is therefore the leading cause of global deforestation, with 24% for livestock farming and 29% for crops. The report then gives details of these 29% deforestation due to crops, highlighting the productions that contribute the most to deforestation: soy (19%), corn (11%), oil palm (8 %), rice (6%) and sugar cane (5%).

A close look shows that this deforestation is mainly due to livestock (mainly for export, to feed meat from Europe and Asia and of course the USA) and soybean cultivation (same thing , is not intended to feed the populations of these countries, but is intended for animal feed intended to feed the meat of Europe, etc ...)
The consumption of soybeans in France is 90% intended to feed the livestock and represents in total closer to 4,7 million tons per year or 146 kilos per second (meter) French production of soya represents a very small part of this consumption, or 139 959 tons per year, while imports represent 4,6 million tons. 4 on 10 bought soy products in 2015.
https://www.planetoscope.com/cereales/1 ... rance.html

Eh yes ! most of the deforestation in the world is used to fill the stomachs of people in rich countries. : Cry:
Unfortunately it is not immoral, but amoral which is much worse!
0 x
"We do science with facts, as is a house with stones, but an accumulation of facts is no more a science than a heap of stones is a house" Henri Poincaré
"Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence" Exnihiloest




  • Similar topics
    Replies
    views
    Last message

Back to "Media & News: TV shows, reports, books, news ..."

Who is online ?

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and guests 2

Retour Faire défiler Stop Mode automatique

Medias et actualités: émissions TV, reportages, livres, actualités...L'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Livres, émissions de télévision, films, revues ou musiques à partager, conseiller, faire découvrir...Réagissez à l'actualité touchant de près ou de loin à l'éconologie, l'environnement, l'énergie, la société, la consommation (nouvelles lois ou normes)...
Avatar de l’utilisateur
sen-no-sen
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 5505
Inscription : 11/06/09, 13:08
Localisation : Haut Beaujolais.
x 201

L'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar sen-no-sen » 22/05/18, 14:10

Feu vert à Total sur l'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Tant pis pour la planète : pour faire plaisir à Total, mais aussi à la Malaisie et l'Indonésie, le ministre autorise l'importation de 300.000 tonnes par an de ce produit décrié.


Il est certes devenu un peu trop facile d’ironiser sur le chapelet de couleuvres qu’avale depuis un an Nicolas Hulot, ministre de la Transition écologique. Mais celle-ci est trop grosse pour la laisser passer, c’est un boa. Mercredi, avec le feu vert du ministre, la préfecture des Bouches-du-Rhône a autorisé le groupe Total à exploiter une bioraffinerie sur son site de Mède, près de l’étang de Berre. Dès cet été, Total importera au moins 300.000 tonnes d’huile de palme par an, ce qui représente une augmentation des importations françaises de ce produit de 36%.

En juillet 2017, en présentant son plan climat, Nicolas Hulot proposait de "fermer la fenêtre d’opportunité qui permet d’incorporer de l’huile de palme dans les carburants". Mais dès sa nomination, le ministre a vite dû faire machine arrière.

Une déforestation monstrueuse

L’huile de palme a beaucoup de qualités : elle est facile à cultiver, et donc peu coûteuse ; c’est un produit très stable, qui résiste à la chaleur et à l’oxydation ; elle est facile à "travailler" dans un processus industriel. Mais comme on le sait, c’est une horreur. Pas tant pour la santé, bien que ses graisses saturées ne soient pas la panacée. Pour l’extraire, on se livre en Indonésie et en Malaisie (90% de la production) à une déforestation monstrueuse, afin de planter des palmiers à huile.

Or, qui dit déforestation dit massacre des derniers orang-outans et des gibbons, destruction de la biodiversité, brûlis extrêmement polluants, expropriations de villages… Mais aussi aggravation du réchauffement climatique. Car, comme le rappelait Nicolas Hulot avant qu’il ne soit ministre, "la déforestation est responsable de 10% des émissions de gaz à effet de serre mondiales". Selon une étude commandée en 2016 par la Commission européenne, l'huile de palme est trois fois plus néfaste, en terme d'effets de serre, que les énergies fossiles.

Les proportions de cette industrie de l’huile de palme sont gigantesques. Il ne s’agit pas seulement d’ajouter quelques grammes au Nutella : l’huile de palme représente un quart de toute l’huile produite dans le monde. Des chips à la mayonnaise, cette graisse végétale est présente dans 80% des produits alimentaires industrialisés et 20% des produits de beauté. Elle sert principalement à l’industrie du carburant : en France, 75% de l’huile de palme importée termine dans les réservoirs de véhicules.

La décision de Nicolas Hulot apparaît donc comme incompréhensible. Elle est contraire aux intérêts des producteurs français de colza. Elle est contraire aux intérêts de la planète - et il n’y a pas de "planète B", pour paraphraser Emmanuel Macron qui jure avoir fait de la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique sa priorité. Elle est contraire à l’avis du Parlement européen qui, en janvier, a voté la suppression de l’utilisation d’huile de palme dans les carburants d’ici 2021. Enfin elle est contraire à ce que le ministre lui-même pense au plus profond de lui-même. Interrogé sur BFMTV-RMC, il a tenté de se justifier en expliquant que c’était transitoire, qu’il avait négocié avec Patrick Pouyané, le patron de Total, pour que la part d’huile de palme soit limitée et réduite chaque année au profit des huiles usagées… Mais pas de quoi calmer les organisations écologiques.
Faire plaisir à Total, à l'Indonésie et à la Malaisie

Pourquoi cette décision ? Deux explications. La première est un lobbying efficace de Total, qui cherche à sauver le site de Mède. Patrick Pouyané, le patron, est est un fan d’Emmanuel Macron : il a beau avoir été directeur du cabinet de François Fillon, il a soutenu l’adversaire de ce dernier pendant sa campagne et il ne tarit pas d’éloges pour ce président qui, dit-il, fait faire à la France "un saut vers la modernité". Macron, de son côté, considère Total comme un des groupes les plus stratégiques de la France.

Seconde explication, plus cynique encore : la France vend des armes et des avions vers l’Indonésie et la Malaisie. Et ces pays menacent de ne plus acheter ces engins si Paris nuisait à leurs exportations. Pour torpiller un projet français de taxe sur les huiles de palme, l’Indonésie, en 2016, avait menacé de ne pas commander des Airbus A400M de transport militaire. Et selon l’"Usine nouvelle", la Malaisie fait aujourd’hui de même : elle menace de ne plus acheter 18 Rafale en discussion.

Après le vote du Parlement européen en faveur de l’interdiction de l’huile de palme dans les carburants, en janvier, la France avait déjà fait savoir qu’elle s’y opposerait. Elle confirme aujourd’hui son orientation très peu "Make the Planet Great again", pour reprendre le slogan ambitieux d’Emmanuel Macron. La "fenêtre d’opportunité" qu’évoquait en 2017 Nicolas Hulot reste, hélas, grande ouverte et ses gonds bien huilés.

Pascal Riché


https://www.nouvelobs.com/edito/20180517.OBS6826/feu-vert-a-total-sur-l-huile-de-palme-le-triste-renoncement-de-hulot.html


Cela confirme bien la méthode Macron,la mise en place de N.Hulot a servi de paravent écologique,et moyennant du lâché de lest sur des questions secondaires(abandon du projet d’aéroport de Notre Dame des Landes,fermeture de Fessenheim)le principe reste toujours le même:continuer dans le pire...
0 x
"Le Génie consiste parfois à savoir quand s'arrêter" Charles De Gaulle.

Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 6471
Inscription : 25/02/08, 18:54
Localisation : Bourgogne
x 420

Re: l'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar Ahmed » 22/05/18, 14:46

Nihil novi sub sole... C'est ce qui était Totalement (sic!) prévisible.
0 x
"Ne croyez surtout pas ce que je vous dis."
janic
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 5712
Inscription : 29/10/10, 13:27
Localisation : bourgogne
x 59

Re: l'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar janic » 23/05/18, 09:25

Nihil novi sub sole... C'est ce qui était Totalement (sic!) prévisible.
comment ça total...euh-...ment? On ne peut plus faire confiance à personne alors!
0 x
« On fait la science avec des faits, comme on fait une maison avec des pierres: mais une accumulation de faits n'est pas plus une science qu'un tas de pierres n'est une maison » Henri Poincaré
« Absence de preuve n'est pas preuve d'absence » Exnihiloest
Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 6471
Inscription : 25/02/08, 18:54
Localisation : Bourgogne
x 420

Re: l'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar Ahmed » 23/05/18, 10:42

On ne peut plus faire confiance à personne alors!

Justement si! Ces gens fonctionnent selon une logique très claire, simplement il faut être sacrément naïf pour croire leurs déclarations lorsqu'ils soutiennent des thèses qui vont à l'encontre de cette même logique. C'est en effet sous le couvert de bonnes intentions affichées que ces déterminismes peuvent s'exprimer: rassurer d'une main et détruire de l'autre...
0 x
"Ne croyez surtout pas ce que je vous dis."
janic
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 5712
Inscription : 29/10/10, 13:27
Localisation : bourgogne
x 59

Re: l'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar janic » 23/05/18, 12:21

C'est en effet sous le couvert de bonnes intentions affichées que ces déterminismes peuvent s'exprimer: rassurer d'une main et détruire de l'autre...
l'habituel carotte bâton pour faire avancer les ânes que nous sommes trop souvent! :roll:
0 x
« On fait la science avec des faits, comme on fait une maison avec des pierres: mais une accumulation de faits n'est pas plus une science qu'un tas de pierres n'est une maison » Henri Poincaré
« Absence de preuve n'est pas preuve d'absence » Exnihiloest

Avatar de l’utilisateur
sen-no-sen
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 5505
Inscription : 11/06/09, 13:08
Localisation : Haut Beaujolais.
x 201

Re: l'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar sen-no-sen » 23/05/18, 13:15

Il ne faut pas omettre le fait que la politique est un nid de crabes...et même de vipères.
L'abandon du projet d'aéroport de Notre Dame des Landes sous l'impulsion de Nicolas Hulot* a couté relativement cher à ce dernier,notamment sous la forme d'une rumeur pour harcèlement sexuel sur la personne de Pascale Miterrand accessoirement petite fille de l'ancien président du même nom.
Si j'étais parano je dirais qu'il s'agit d'une vengeance ou d'un "message"envoyé à ce dernier pour calmer ses très éventuelles poussées d'écologie.



*Sous sont impulsion mais en réalité c'est principalement à la cour des comptes que l'on doit l'abandon de ce projet,en effet il y a en France près de 155 aéroports contre...45 en Allemagne(!) alors que cette dernière compte 82 millions d'habitants(contre 66 en France) pour un revenu moyen à peu près égale.
Autant dire que la plupart des aéroports Français ne servent à rien sinon à garantir la réélection de quelques élus...
0 x
"Le Génie consiste parfois à savoir quand s'arrêter" Charles De Gaulle.
Avatar de l’utilisateur
izentrop
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 2732
Inscription : 17/03/14, 23:42
Localisation : picardie
x 146
Contact :

Re: l'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar izentrop » 23/05/18, 13:48

On n'en voulait pas dans le nutella, pas grave on l'aura dans nos réservoirs.
On n'arrête pas le progrès et on ne va pas empêcher les pays émergents de sortir leur tête de l'eau non plus. :mrgreen: :cheesy:

D'ailleurs cette histoire de déforestation https://theconversation.com/non-lhuile- ... tion-76955
0 x
Avoir des raisons de croire ne signifie pas que l’on a raison de croire.
Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 6471
Inscription : 25/02/08, 18:54
Localisation : Bourgogne
x 420

Re: L'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar Ahmed » 23/05/18, 14:44

On n'en voulait pas dans le nutella, pas grave on l'aura dans nos réservoirs.

Tu veux dire qu'au lieu que ce soit par devant... :mrgreen:
L'article cité admet l'importance de l'impact de cette culture en Indonésie: il est normal qu'il y ait plus de dégâts là où sévit l'expansion maximale de cette culture (et donc moins ailleurs*)...

* Mais pour des raisons analogues.
0 x
"Ne croyez surtout pas ce que je vous dis."
Avatar de l’utilisateur
sen-no-sen
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 5505
Inscription : 11/06/09, 13:08
Localisation : Haut Beaujolais.
x 201

Re: l'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar sen-no-sen » 23/05/18, 14:45

izentrop a écrit :On n'en voulait pas dans le nutella, pas grave on l'aura dans nos réservoirs.
On n'arrête pas le progrès et on ne va pas empêcher les pays émergents de sortir leur tête de l'eau non plus. :mrgreen: :cheesy:

D'ailleurs cette histoire de déforestation https://theconversation.com/non-lhuile- ... tion-76955


C'est un raisonnement de lobbyiste que tu tiens là...
Si il est vrai que l'huile de palme peu difficilement être tenu responsable de 40% de la déforestations mondiale cela ne change en rien que celle ci représente une catastrophe écologique.
La déforestation est liée à l'extension agricole,notamment des pâturage pour la production de viande(direct ou indirect),l'urbanisation,la vente de bois et l'exploitation des hydrocarbures.
Dans tout cela les plantations de palmiers à huile représente environ 2,5% ( croissance en hausse de 8,5% par an) de la déforestation mondiale,au premiers abords cela peut paraitre négligeable(et c'est un arguments bon pour les lobbys).
Oui sauf que 2,5% de la déforestation mondiale cela représente des surfaces absolument gigantesques,près de 350 000 hectares rien que cela.. soit la moitié de la Corse!

Image
Et tout cela dans des zones à très haut niveau de biodiversité,ci dessus l'ile de Bornéo...
1 x
"Le Génie consiste parfois à savoir quand s'arrêter" Charles De Gaulle.
janic
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 5712
Inscription : 29/10/10, 13:27
Localisation : bourgogne
x 59

Re: L'huile de palme : le triste renoncement de Hulot

Message non lupar janic » 23/05/18, 15:18

On n'arrête pas le progrès et on ne va pas empêcher les pays émergents de sortir leur tête de l'eau non plus.
ces progrès là c'est du suicide collectif. La principale source de production d'oxygène, après la mer, ce sont les forêts, puits à piéger le carbone dont tout le monde à peur.
mais tu as partiellement raison. On ne peut faire la morale aux autres que lorsque l’on est sans reproche soit même et là la France, n’est certes pas un modèle de vertu.
Malgré tout, cette production n’est pas faite à l’usage des populations elles-mêmes, mais pour faire du business au seul avantage des pays étrangers qui se moquent entièrement du devenir de ces populations et de leur terres.
D'ailleurs cette histoire de déforestation https://theconversation.com/non-lhuile- ... tion-76955

Ah, voilà enfin un document réellement intéressant et relativement honnête, c’est rarissime.
Le palmier n’est plus ici responsable de 40 % de la déforestation mondiale mais « seulement » de 40 % de la déforestation due à l’agriculture intensive
selon les données de la FAO.
On y apprend que bien que les surfaces forestières soient en augmentation nette dans l’Union européenne, celle-ci a « consommé » 10 % de la déforestation mondiale entre 1990 et 2008, soit 732 000 hectares par an via ses importations. Cette déforestation « importée » est à 60 % due aux denrées alimentaires que les pays membres importent des zones tropicales : 18 % pour le bétail et les produits carnés et 42 % pour les cultures destinées à l’alimentation humaine et animale. Parmi ces cultures, on retrouve le soja (60 %), l’huile de palme (12 %), le cacao (8 %), le café (4 %) et le caoutchouc naturel (3 %). En 2004, la déforestation « importée » par l’UE provenait à 48 % du Brésil, 9 % d’Indonésie, 5 % du Cameroun, 5 % d’Argentine et 4 % de Malaisie.
Le rapport technique aborde ensuite un bilan global, par pays et par cause de la déforestation. On y apprend que 239 millions d’hectares de forêts ont ainsi été coupés sur la période étudiée, majoritairement dans les zones tropicales ou subtropicales : 91 millions d’hectares en Amérique Latine, 73 millions en Afrique subsaharienne, 44 millions en Asie du Sud-Est.
L’agriculture est donc la première cause de déforestation mondiale, à hauteur de 24 % pour l’élevage et 29 % pour les cultures. Le rapport donne ensuite le détail de ces 29 % de déforestation dus aux cultures, en mettant en avant les productions qui participent le plus à la déforestation : le soja (19 %), le maïs (11 %), le palmier à huile (8 %), le riz (6 %) et la canne à sucre (5 %).

Un regard attentif montre qu’effectivement cette déforestation est due essentiellement à l’élevage (destiné à l’exportation, essentiellement, pour nourrir les viandeux d’Europe et d’Asie et bien entendu les USA) et la culture du soja (même chose, n'est pas à vocation de nourrir les populations de ces pays, mais est à vocation de nourriture animale destinée à nourrir les viandeux d’Europe, etc…)
La consommation de soja en France est à 90% destinée à nourrir le bétail et représente au total plus près de 4,7 millions de tonnes par an ou 146 kilos par seconde (compteur) La production française de soja représente une toute petite partie de cette consommation, soit 139 959 tonnes par an environ, alors que les importations représentent 4,6 millions de tonnes. 4 Français sur 10 achetaient des produits au soja en 2015.
https://www.planetoscope.com/cereales/1 ... rance.html

Eh, oui ! la plus grande partie de la déforestation dans le monde sert à remplir les estomac des habitants des pays riches. :cry:
Malheureusement ce n'est pas immoral, mais amoral ce qui est bien pire!
0 x
« On fait la science avec des faits, comme on fait une maison avec des pierres: mais une accumulation de faits n'est pas plus une science qu'un tas de pierres n'est une maison » Henri Poincaré
« Absence de preuve n'est pas preuve d'absence » Exnihiloest


 


  • Sujets similaires
    Réponses
    Vues
    Dernier message

Revenir vers « Medias et actualités: émissions TV, reportages, livres, actualités... »

Qui est en ligne ?

Utilisateurs parcourant ce forum : Aucun utilisateur inscrit et 2 invités

Recherches populaires