Returns Scroll Stop Automatic mode

The bistro of the site, leisure and relaxation, humor and friendlinessOur pets (pictures or video)

The developments of the forum and site. Humor and conviviality among members of the forum - Everything is anything - Presentation of new registered members Relaxation, leisure, recreation, sports, vacation, passions ... What do you do in your free time? Exchange Forum passions, activities, leisure or recreational ... creative!
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3436
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 290

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 11/11/17, 20:50

The squirrel, master in the art of stock management?

by Yohan Residence 2 November 2017,

According to an American study, this small animal organizes its food reserves by categories of food, as we do at home for our fridge and other closets.

Squirrels are animals that love nuts such as almonds, nuts, hazelnuts and other oilseeds. They are particularly known for their ability, not to say their relentlessness, to make provisions to spend the winter without worries of supply.

Mikel Delgado and Lucia Jacobs from the Department of Psychology at the University of California, Berkeley, USA, studied the behavior of the wild squirrel (Sciurus niger), a very common species in North America. For two years, the duo of scientists proposed different provisions to a range of 45 squirrels. The provisions were given to them sorted by varieties (ex: 4 or 5 nuts), or mixed (ex: 1 hazel nut, 1 almond, 1 nuts ...).

You should know that squirrels can store each year near 10 000 nuts and more! The results published in the journal Royal Society Open Science 10 August 2017 (PDF in English / 6 pages) demonstrate that these animals are careful to carefully sort their provisions according to the variety and placing them in different hiding places, probably to to find one's way better This is not a coincidence when one considers such a large number of commodities.

Image

"We know that rats, monkeys, or pigeons use this technique of" chunking ", but this is the first time we see it in a species that disperses its food in hiding places. The idea is that by using this method, the squirrel decreases the amount of information it needs to remember and it allows it to better memorize it, "says Mikel Delgado.

Without a doubt, the squirrel is an expert in stock management and its organizational capacity is undoubtedly one of the most powerful of the animal kind!

http://sciencepost.fr/2017/11/lecureuil ... -de-stock/
1 x

moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3436
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 290

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 19/11/17, 13:56

Macaque monkeys also use dental wires to clean their teeth

by Brice Louvet 18 November 2017

The ability of some monkeys to use tools to feed themselves was already known. But the observation of nature in this area still has some surprises. Some were surprised to clean their teeth after a good meal, improvising floss.

Image
...............
.
http://sciencepost.fr/2017/11/singes-se ... dentaires/
1 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3436
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 290

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 23/12/17, 13:34

USA: photos of a doe and his fawns landing in a shop entertain Internet users
Lori Jones, a shopkeeper in Fort Collins, Colorado, was surprised to see these animals arrive in her shop at the foot of the Rocky Mountains in early December.

Image



https://www.francetvinfo.fr/animaux/les ... 28285.html
1 x
oli 80
Grand Econologue
Grand Econologue
posts: 1387
Registration: 02/01/09, 17:23
Location: moselle 57
x 29

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby oli 80 » 10/01/18, 16:39

Hello, hard drive to be a flying fish https://www.youtube.com/embed/szuchBiLrEM?rel=0
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3436
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 290

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 10/01/18, 21:04

How do some reptiles react to freezing temperatures? Alligators from North Carolina have demonstrated a particularly interesting prehistoric method.


George Howard's 12 alligators, a shrine owner, went to his marsh when temperatures dropped after the "weather bomb" last week. The temperature of the water was then higher than that outside.

Image

http://www.tvanouvelles.ca/2018/01/09/q ... vre-au-gel

http://www.leparisien.fr/environnement/ ... 493340.php
0 x

moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3436
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 290

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 14/01/18, 13:42

VIDEO. A diver protected by a whale

Published on Sunday 14 January 2018

The marine biologist Nan Hauser probably had the fright of his life. While swimming near the Cook Islands in the South Pacific, a shark approached her. The humpback whale she was filming then hid it under her fin.

Image


Marine biologist Nan Hauser was frightened by a dive into the waters of the Pacific Ocean off the Cook Islands. The diver was filming a humpback whale when the behavior of the whale changed. The cetacean approached her, then pushed him. Only later did she realize that the animal was trying to protect it from a shark by "hiding" it with its tail and its fin.


Nan Hauser, who has been swimming with whales for 28 years, told his story to the British newspaper The Independent. She explains that she has never lived such a moment. "I was not sure what the whale was doing when she approached me, and it kept pushing me for more than 10 minutes. It seemed like hours. "


The biologist tried not to panic despite the unusual behavior of the animal. "I tried to get away for fear that [this male] would hit me hard or hit me with his fins or tail, it would break my bones and break my organs," she says. he had kept me under his pectoral fin, I would have drowned. "

If Nan Hauser explains that she has already heard of the altruistic behavior of humpback whales, this is the first time she has seen it with humans.

http://jactiv.ouest-france.fr/actualite ... eine-82884
1 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3436
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 290

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 20/01/18, 21:05

Image

THE STAR OF THE ZOO: IT'S HIM! 15 Jan 2018 The first baby panda born in France, Yuan Meng, realized, five months after being born, his first public outing to the Beauval Zoo in the Loir-et-Cher where the public came in number for the admire. Yuan Meng, "fulfillment of a dream", with gray and pinkish white fur, appeared beside her mother, in her pen. This panda was the first to be born in France thanks to the loan of his parents, in 2012 for 10 years, by China.
1 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3436
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 290

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 21/01/18, 13:37

Reading a bit about the lemurs of Madagascar I find:

Image

Image

While visiting (in 2015) in Marlow Park, in the north-east of Germany, Angela Merkel was able to feed a lemur on her shoulder. A moment that the Chancellor has seemed very funny. She was in the park to inaugurate a new area dedicated to penguins.

http://www.parismatch.com/Animal-Story/ ... ere-755620
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3436
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 290

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 11/02/18, 20:09

Extreme video: the penguin falls but is unbreakable!

It slips on the plates of ice, falls from the top of the rocks, falls in icy water, lands on its congeners ... On the coasts, the penguin knows many bowls, but almost always stands up without a scratch! The animal is robust and perfectly adapted to its environment, quite hostile to humans. Here is the video proof.

The penguins are perfectly adapted to their extreme environment, even if they sometimes look somewhat awkward. With wings that no longer allow them to fly, these birds are more marine than terrestrial, and sometimes have some difficulties to move on the continent. Although in southern waters they are amazing divers, these few images give meaning to their appointment as "penguin". Full of humor, here is a compilation of the most beautiful penguin falls filmed during the realization of the Waddle All the Way project.
..............

In this compilation, the birds of the southern waters seem clumsy. Yet not one of these falls is fatal: the bird falls, but is almost always recovering as quickly. It must be recognized that these animals are excellently adapted to harsh southern conditions. The three species are great divers. The emperor penguin is the best, able to dive deeper than 300 m and go up in minutes to the surface. His bones are extremely strong and can withstand 40 times the atmospheric pressure. Other birds (or humans) would suffer terrible barotrauma for the same type of diving. A small fall, as in the video, seems derisory.

video : https://www.futura-sciences.com/planete ... ble-51834/
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 3436
Registration: 28/09/09, 17:35
Location: Isére
x 290

Re: Our pets (pictures or video)

Unread Messageby moinsdewatt » 11/02/18, 20:10

In chimpanzees too, intelligence is linked to self-control

By Loïc Chauveau the 10.02.2018

As in humans, the chimpanzees that best control their attitude are also those who have the best scores on intelligence tests.

Image


https://www.sciencesetavenir.fr/animaux ... rol_121133
1 x


 


  • Similar topics
    Replies
    views
    Last message

Back to "The bistro of the site, leisure and relaxation, humor and friendliness"

Who is online ?

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and guest 1

Other pages that will certainly interest you:

Retour Faire défiler Stop Mode automatique

Le bistrot: vie du site, loisirs et détente, humour et convivialitéNos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Les développements du forums et du site. Humour et convivialité entre les membres du forum - Tout est n'importe quoi - Présentation des nouveaux membres inscrits Détente, temps libre, loisirs, sports, vacances, passions...Que faites vous de votre temps libre? Forum d'échanges sur nos passions, activités, loisirs...créatifs ou récréatifs!
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3348
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 273

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 11/11/17, 20:50

L’écureuil, maître dans l’art de la gestion de stock ?

par Yohan Demeure 2 novembre 2017,

Selon une étude américaine, ce petit animal organise ses réserves alimentaires par catégories d’aliments, comme nous le faisons chez nous pour notre frigidaire et autres placards.

Les écureuils sont des animaux adeptes des fruits à coque tels que les amandes, les noix, les noisettes et autres oléagineux. Ils sont particulièrement connus pour leur capacité, pour ne pas dire leur acharnement, à faire des provisions afin de passer l’hiver sans soucis d’approvisionnement.

Mikel Delgado et Lucia Jacobs du département de psychologie de l’Université de Californie à Berkeley (États-Unis) ont étudié le comportement de l’écureuil fauve (Sciurus niger), une espèce très commune en Amérique du Nord. Durant deux ans, le duo de scientifiques a proposé différentes provisions à un éventail de 45 écureuils. Les provisions leur furent données soit triées par variétés (ex : 4 ou 5 noix), soit mélangées (ex : 1 noisette, 1 amande, 1 noix…).

Il faut savoir que les écureuils peuvent stocker chaque année près de 10 000 fruits à coques et autres ! Les résultats publiés dans la revue Royal Society Open Science le 10 août 2017 (PDF en anglais/6 pages) démontrent que ces animaux s’attellent à trier soigneusement leurs provisions en fonction de la variété et en les disposant dans différentes cachettes, sans doute pour mieux s’y retrouver. Cela n’est pas un hasard lorsque l’on considère un tel nombre de denrées.

Image

« On sait que les rats, les singes, ou encore les pigeons utilisent cette technique du “chunking”, mais c’est la première fois qu’on l’observe chez une espèce qui disperse sa nourriture dans des cachettes. L’idée, c’est qu’en utilisant cette méthode, l’écureuil diminue la quantité d’information dont il doit se rappeler et ça lui permet de mieux la mémoriser » , explique Mikel Delgado.

Sans aucun doute, l’écureuil est un expert de la gestion de stock et sa capacité d’organisation est sans doute une des plus performantes du genre animal !

http://sciencepost.fr/2017/11/lecureuil ... -de-stock/
1 x

moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3348
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 273

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 19/11/17, 13:56

Les singes macaques aussi se servent de fils dentaires pour se nettoyer les dents

par Brice Louvet 18 novembre 2017

On connaissait déjà la capacité de certains singes à utiliser des outils dans le but de se nourrir. Mais l’observation de la nature dans ce domaine réserve encore quelques surprises. Certains ont en effet été surpris en train de se nettoyer les dents après un bon repas, en improvisant du fil dentaire.

Image
...............
.
http://sciencepost.fr/2017/11/singes-se ... dentaires/
1 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3348
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 273

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 23/12/17, 13:34

Etats-Unis : les photos d'une biche et de ses faons débarquant dans un magasin amusent les internautes
Lori Jones, une commerçante de Fort Collins (Colorado), a été surprise de voir arriver ces animaux dans sa boutique, située au pied des Montagnes rocheuses, début décembre.

Image



https://www.francetvinfo.fr/animaux/les ... 28285.html
1 x
oli 80
Grand Econologue
Grand Econologue
Messages : 1380
Inscription : 02/01/09, 17:23
Localisation : moselle 57
x 29

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar oli 80 » 10/01/18, 16:39

Bonjour, dur dur d' être un poisson volant https://www.youtube.com/embed/szuchBiLrEM?rel=0
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3348
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 273

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 10/01/18, 21:04

Comment réagissent certains reptiles aux températures glaciales? Des alligators de la Caroline du Nord ont fait une démonstration d'une méthode préhistorique particulièrement intéressante.


Les 12 alligators de George Howard, propriétaire d'un sanctuaire, se sont rendus dans son marais quand les températures ont baissé après la «bombe météo» la semaine dernière. La température de l'eau était alors plus élevée que celle à l'extérieur.

Image

http://www.tvanouvelles.ca/2018/01/09/q ... vre-au-gel

http://www.leparisien.fr/environnement/ ... 493340.php
0 x

moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3348
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 273

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 14/01/18, 13:42

VIDÉO. Une plongeuse protégée par une baleine

Publié le dimanche 14 janvier 2018

La biologiste marine Nan Hauser a probablement eu la frayeur de sa vie. Alors qu'elle nageait près des Îles Cook, dans le Pacifique sud, un requin s'est approché d'elle. La baleine à bosse qu'elle était en train de filmer l'a alors cachée sous sa nageoire.

Image


La biologiste marine Nan Hauser a eu une grosse frayeur lors d’une plongée dans les eaux de l’océan Pacifique, au large des îles Cook. La plongeuse filmait une baleine à bosse, lorsque le comportement de celle-ci a changé. Le cétacé s’est approché d’elle, puis l’a poussé. Ce n’est que plus tard qu’elle a compris que l’animal tentait de la protéger d’un requin en la « cachant » avec sa queue et sa nageoire.


Nan Hauser, qui nage depuis 28 ans avec les baleines, a raconté son expérience au journal britannique The Independant. Elle y explique n’avoir jamais vécu un tel moment. « Je n’étais pas sûr de ce que la baleine faisait quand elle s’est approchée de moi, et ça n’a pas arrêté de me pousser pendant plus de 10 minutes. Cela semblait être des heures. »


La biologiste a essayé de ne pas paniquer malgré le comportement inhabituel de l’animal. "J’ai essayé de m’éloigner de peur que [ce mâle] ne me percute violemment ou me frappe avec ses nageoires ou sa queue. Cela m’aurait brisé les os et rompu mes organes, raconte-t-elle. S'il m’avait maintenu sous sa nageoire pectorale, je me serais noyée."

Si Nan Hauser explique avoir déjà entendu parler du comportement altruiste des baleines à bosse, c’est la première fois qu’elle le constate avec des humains.

http://jactiv.ouest-france.fr/actualite ... eine-82884
1 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3348
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 273

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 20/01/18, 21:05

Image

LA STAR DU ZOO : C'EST LUI ! 15 janv 2018 Le premier bébé panda né en France, Yuan Meng, a réalisé, cinq mois après avoir vu le jour, sa première sortie publique au zoo de Beauval dans le Loir-et-Cher où le public est venu en nombre pour l'admirer. Yuan Meng, «accomplissement d'un rêve», au pelage gris et blanc rosé, est apparu au côté de sa mère, dans son enclos. Ce panda avait été le premier à naître en France grâce au prêt de ses parents, en 2012 pour 10 ans, par la Chine.
1 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3348
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 273

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 21/01/18, 13:37

En lisant un peu sur les lémuriens de Madagascar je tombe sur :

Image

Image

En pleine visite (en 2015) au sein du parc de Marlow, dans le nord-est de l'Allemagne, Angela Merkel a pu nourrir un lémurien posé sur son épaule. Un instant que la chancelière a semble-t-il trouvé très drôle. Elle se trouvait au sein du parc afin d'inaugurer un nouvel espace dédié aux manchots.

http://www.parismatch.com/Animal-Story/ ... ere-755620
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3348
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 273

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 11/02/18, 20:09

L'extrême en vidéo : le manchot chute mais est incassable !

Il glisse sur les plaques de verglas, tombe du haut des rochers, chute dans l'eau glaciale, atterrit sur ses congénères... Sur les côtes, le manchot connaît bon nombre de gamelles, mais se redresse presque toujours sans une égratignure ! L'animal est robuste et parfaitement adapté à son environnement, tout à fait hostile pour l'Homme. En voici la preuve en vidéo.

Les manchots sont parfaitement adaptés à leur environnement extrême, même s'ils ont parfois l'air quelque peu gauche. Dotés d'ailes ne leur permettant plus de voler, ces oiseaux sont plus marins que terrestres, et ont parfois quelques difficultés à se déplacer sur le continent. Bien que dans les eaux australes ils soient d'épatants plongeurs, ces quelques images donnent du sens à leur nomination de « manchot ». Pleine d'humour, voici une compilation des plus belles chutes de manchots filmées durant la réalisation du projet Waddle All the Way.
..............

Dans cette compilation, les oiseaux des eaux australes semblent maladroits. Pourtant, pas une seule de ces chutes n'est fatale : l'oiseau tombe, mais se redresse presque toujours aussi rapidement. Il faut donc bien le reconnaître, ces animaux sont excellemment adaptés aux rudes conditions australes. Les trois espèces sont de grandes plongeuses. Le manchot empereur est le meilleur, capable de plonger à plus de 300 m de profondeur et de remonter en quelques minutes à la surface. Ses os sont extrêmement solides et peuvent supporter 40 fois la pression atmosphérique. Les autres oiseaux (ou l'Homme) subiraient de terribles barotraumatismes pour le même type de plongée. Une petite chute, comme dans la vidéo, semble donc dérisoire.

vidéo : https://www.futura-sciences.com/planete ... ble-51834/
0 x
moinsdewatt
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3348
Inscription : 28/09/09, 17:35
Localisation : Isére
x 273

Re: Nos amis les animaux (en photos ou vidéos)

Message non lupar moinsdewatt » 11/02/18, 20:10

Chez les chimpanzés aussi, l’intelligence est liée au contrôle de soi

Par Loïc Chauveau le 10.02.2018

Comme chez l’homme, les chimpanzés qui contrôlent le mieux leur attitude sont aussi ceux qui ont les meilleurs scores aux tests d’intelligence

Image


https://www.sciencesetavenir.fr/animaux ... rol_121133
1 x


 


  • Sujets similaires
    Réponses
    Vues
    Dernier message

Revenir vers « Le bistrot: vie du site, loisirs et détente, humour et convivialité »

Qui est en ligne ?

Utilisateurs parcourant ce forum : Aucun utilisateur inscrit et 2 invités

Recherches populaires