Returns Scroll Stop Automatic mode

Agriculture: problems and pollution, new technologies and solutionsA vegetable meadow?

Agriculture and soil. Pollution control, soil remediation, humus and new agricultural techniques.
User avatar
to be chafoin
Éconologue good!
Éconologue good!
posts: 200
Registration: 20/05/18, 23:11
Location: Gironde
x 11

A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby to be chafoin » 21/05/18, 11:44

Hi all,

I cultivate a small organic vegetable garden for about 5 years, evolving little by little towards a more permanent culture, a soil more alive and less tillage. Also, the arguments and the calm-flamboyant style of Didier Helmstetter inspired me this year to integrate in a more uninhibited way what could turn out to be the treasure (or the nightmare!) Near which my transatbed slept: the natural meadow that is the surrounding setting of this vegetable garden.

2018-05-09 15.55.48.jpg
"my" vegetable meadow

I come right away about it: How not to "spoil" a meadow?

I am trying to replace the fertilization of the previous years (manure = dirty, stinking, too much effort for transport, composting = composting experience in bunch on site tedious and unconvincing, handling and transport from home complicated - I specify that I do not live on the spot - + the arguments of Didier) by a plant fertilization without fermentation. I understood that I had to bring more biomass to my soil thanks to the green manures that I have been growing since last year on my vegetable garden and the hay that I make myself from the adjacent meadow. my crops. In the photo we can see some windrows that are still to dry in the meadow, and the heart of the kitchen garden behind artificial hedges, in a semicircle.

How to "manage" a meadow in order to fertilize a vegetable garden?
In particular, I am wondering what is the ratio between the area of ​​meadow needed to significantly and sustainably improve the life and quality of the garden soil and the area of ​​this garden. I guess it's a little or very relative but still, what is the order of magnitude? In the photo we can guess that the surrounding meadow is about 4 5 times the area of ​​the kitchen garden (knowing that my garden is arranged in flowerbeds so you have to count without the aisles), does this seem sufficient? This estimate could guide an olibrius interested in this perspective and who would like to start a new vegetable garden on a meadow ...

Is it a gain of laziness?
It's not sure. Certainly haying is a job, especially when you do everything "old" like me, ie with just a rake sheet (I took advantage of the "mowing" of the owner who "maintains" his land -see lower - a job on the wrong would not seem insurmountable on such a surface, especially as it could be considered in terms of the needs of ground cover and climate weather). It still seems to me a gain of effort for a lonely or lonely person or who has back pain or who does not necessarily want to swing behind big wheels (!). It is apparently not a transatlantic time saving, although it remains to be seen, I only discover the technique by groping and naturally making bullshit. Still, I was able with this new approach and time saving non-tillage protect and feed almost all of my plots and expand my garden by inaugurating new flowerbeds (we distinguish the one of them between 4 pegs in the foreground of the photo) ...

Besides what must be done to have a good hay? and a good hay of phenoculture?
I started mowing before heading (early April). Should we favor this period as seems a recommendation of farmers who produce commercial hay for cattle and sheep, or follow Didier's advice: as late as possible? Then the meadow was mown with a "self-tamping" self-propelled by the owner during the heading (April), recommended period for horse hay. So it's a kind of shorn hay that I had dried and returned to windrows. But what color must hay have? should it stay a little green, or should it wait until it turns yellow or whiten in the sun? Can a poorly produced hay (a little rotten for example) have negative effects on my soil? Could we imagine a specific hay, "calibrated" to feast our soil organisms (especially for anecic worms whose importance is known thanks to Didier and Marcel Bouché) as we calibrate the hay according to the livestock that will feed on it (cattle, sheep / horses / rabbits)?

Can we imagine an "eco-systemic" improvement?
I deposited my hay in "thick layers" on the flowerbeds starting to grow potatoes that have come out now (except those that I had put directly on the meadow and under the hay). Can we imagine a culture of meadow closer to the culture of a vegetable garden, a new association of which there is no name - I speak under your control - a kind of garden-meadow like the " garden-forest "(concept I know Didier do not believe) or agroforestry?
And in the other direction, what is the impact of these samples on the grassland itself (or even on more or less close ecosystems)? If I take away this energy, will not it go downhill little by little? What is the cycle of a meadow? Basically, far from announcing any revolution I wonder if this effort is worth it and if it would not be better to leave the management of this hay to specialists (as usual!) ... If it was worth the hardly, other questions (which join classic questions for a kitchen garden) come: how best to organize the space and the alternation meadow / vegetable garden, sparse in flowerbeds (my choice for the vegetable garden), concentrated (vegetable garden in center and meadow around), or even "itinerant" to stimulate life cyclically across the field? If you do your own hay, you do not have to roll it ... What will benefit my vegetables, living organisms, the soil of the whole area and the ecosystem? ?
1 x

User avatar
denis17
I understand econologic
I understand econologic
posts: 124
Registration: 13/10/16, 13:15
Location: 17
x 33
Contact :

Re: A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby denis17 » 21/05/18, 17:01

There are many questions.
A priori, from what I read on the main forum, you have to count 3 X more hay surface than the surface to cover, so for this case, you're in the nails.
Then, when it comes to hay cutting, there are several options available to you, to make 2 mows, one in June, then the new one in September (at sight of the nose), a single late mowing.
Personally, I will look for the second solution, because most of the seeds will naturally return what will participate in the maintenance of your meadow, limit the work (A cut instead of 2), and finally wait for the drying of the hay in a few weeks and set it up for the next year, only one manipulation too.
As for hay, a good brushcutter should be enough, it will only return from time to time for good drying, and put in place in good condition because it will be very ventilated. Set up in the fall, which seems to me the most favorable period.
Denis
0 x
User avatar
Moindreffor
I posted 500 messages!
I posted 500 messages!
posts: 693
Registration: 27/05/17, 22:20
Location: boundary between North and Aisne
x 188

Re: A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby Moindreffor » 21/05/18, 20:29

for hay, a late cut would be best, 3 4 times the surface of the kitchen garden is good
you grow green manures it's good, so put the hay later after mowing the green manure around February, March, the hay over and you can plant onion, shallot, garlic at the same time,
the garden in the center as it is there is not bad, you can win on the meadow by putting hay in November and transplanting in May June squash, or pumpkins
so you have enough to be self-sufficient, awesome
0 x
"Those with the biggest ears are not the ones who hear best"
(of me)
User avatar
nico239
Grand Econologue
Grand Econologue
posts: 1296
Registration: 31/05/17, 15:43
Location: 04
x 153

Re: A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby nico239 » 21/05/18, 20:52

to be chafoin wrote:I am trying to replace the fertilization of the previous years (manure = dirty, stinking, too much effort for transport, composting = composting experience in bunch on site tedious and unconvincing, handling and transport from home complicated - I specify that I do not live on the spot - + the arguments of Didier) by a plant fertilization without fermentation.

How to "manage" a meadow in order to fertilize a vegetable garden?
?


It reminds me, in POSITIVE, the persecutor of Didier on YT ... : Mrgreen:

Hay is not a fertilizer.

We forget the word "fertilize" and we think of hay as a protective cover winter and summer, a refuge for the life of the soil.

If you want a long-term "agradator" because its protective action allows the earth to be naked and thus to return to a "normal" life cycle.

From there Didier will give you all the tips on the cut dates for the best efficiency.

And on reflection there must be something in the message of Didier that induces the idea that hay is a fertilizer: remains to find where ??? Image

In any case good luck for the agradation of your vegetable plot and welcome here Image
0 x
"A tool that does not consume energy and respects soils is what? Ben is a tool that does nothing "(quote conference François Mulet)
User avatar
to be chafoin
Éconologue good!
Éconologue good!
posts: 200
Registration: 20/05/18, 23:11
Location: Gironde
x 11

Re: A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby to be chafoin » 21/05/18, 21:43

denis17 wrote: Then, when it comes to hay cutting, there are several options available to you, to make 2 mows, one in June, then the new one in September (at sight of the nose), a single late mowing.


I understand the idea of ​​leaving some of the seeds for the meadow maintenance and but regarding the mowing time I am not sure that a late mowing is better with regards to the quality of the hay. Farmers say they prefer to mow early because the protein content will decrease over time (leaf dieback would be a nutrient loss of nitrogen) as cellulose increases (more stalk). On the other hand the quantity would be better. According to this information gleaned on the canvas (https://laballeronde.wordpress.com/2017/01/04/le-stade-de-coupe-du-foin-un-element-determinant-pour-fixer-sa-qualite/], it depends on the animals for which the forage is intended, but even for the horse who prefers the quantity, it is advisable to mow at the heading at the latest. But perhaps this concerns only the "cultivated" grassland and not the "natural" unfertilized meadow, as it is my case?
I do not hide the fact that in addition to privileging an early mowing I would arrange well because I'm not sure that the owner would leave the meadow up all summer. For my part, I would be at home I would certainly leave some to fend until the end of summer because especially I love to see the meadow dancing with the wind! But I go astray.
For my part, I would certainly be forced to your first option Denis. Let's see the positive side: it would be like assimilating worms to cows : Shock: if we follow the point of view of the breeders and according to the specialists worms and cows already have one thing in common: it digests 2 times their food (even if it is 2 completely different ways)! But I go astray again, it is not tomorrow that I will milk verses! :P
0 x

Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 6470
Registration: 25/02/08, 18:54
Location: Burgundy
x 420

Re: A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby Ahmed » 21/05/18, 22:03

What is being researched in phenoculture is both the soil cover and the food of the soil fauna. These are two different and somewhat contradictory objectives that strike a fair balance in a compromise. A young, unwoody grass is better and more quickly assimilated, but this is done to the detriment of the effective soil cover, thus the conservation of moisture and the preservation against weeds: a more woody hay ensure a sustainable cover and thus, a complete cycle of cultivation (avoiding massive replantings during the season).
0 x
"Do not believe above all that I tell you."
User avatar
Did67
Moderator
Moderator
posts: 12257
Registration: 20/01/08, 16:34
Location: Alsace
x 4017

Re: A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby Did67 » 21/05/18, 22:15

I'm coming back from a conference, I'm a little naze. Remind me this thread one of these four.

2 or 3 things:

a) From the point of view of fodder, the farmers are right: they want the richest hay in "PDI" (digestible protein in the small intestine), one of the keys of their ration ... It is our N of the ratio C / N. Hence the development of the wrapped which is a semi-hay / semi-ensilage. Young cut. The richest possible nitrogen (we prefer, for mowing, the moment when quantity X N content gives a harvest of maximum PDI per hectare).

We are not our goal: we are looking for another compromise, not the forage richest in nitrogen. We need fibers for the formation of humic substances. And also so that the hay lasts a long time and plays its role of "cover". Even a little more fibrous, so more durable, more humic, hay will still be very much more rich in nitrogen than straw. And I'm not talking about cardboard!

Therefore, later mowing than forage for cows is preferable.

b) However, putting it right now is a problem. Starting the same year of decomposition, with two consequences: "disappearance" of hay that will be lacking and beginning of mineralization up to nitrification. So, our garden "natural" can become "pollutant": a height!

In addition, it "neutralizes" photosynthesis, blocking weeds (or green manures) too early. Two or three years ago, I was not talking about that. But it was a mistake. I think again and the "Potager du Sloth" is still a living concept, still moving! Sorry for the old ones who may feel like I do not know what I'm saying!

The solution to this (harvested in July and used in winter) is in the constitution of millstones, with a very steep exterior, the water flows along (it makes a "roof" of thatch).

c) Yes, the decomposition of hay, by its mineralization, is a effective fertilization. Hay from my calculations provides more N, P and K than manure or compost, for same weight carried. It contains all the elements that the "grass" has picked up where it has grown (horizontal transfer of fertility).

I still have not done my calculations, but I even ask if the contributions are not excessive!

d) If the hay is quite fibrous, then the humification process also occurs, under the influence of fungi. This leads to humic substances, which play an important role in the soil. So it is quite essential to produce an "old hay".
0 x
User avatar
to be chafoin
Éconologue good!
Éconologue good!
posts: 200
Registration: 20/05/18, 23:11
Location: Gironde
x 11

Re: A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby to be chafoin » 21/05/18, 23:16

[quote = "Did67"] However, putting it right now is a problem. Starting the same year of decomposition, with two consequences: "disappearance" of hay that will be lacking and beginning of mineralization up to nitrification. So, our garden "natural" can become "pollutant": a height!

Arg! I knew without knowing it would turn into a nightmare!
Can we know when this mineralization will begin, then this nitrification after the cover break. In my case, I covered my soil very late: in the spring, in April or May and I started my crops quickly after the cover. Can we imagine that I avoided without seeking this possible nitrification "lost" in soils? Should we quickly start cultivation after hay coverage?

Outside this thread: salutations Didier! Thank you for your shares, your videos and your book ... which have renewed my garden passion and now your feedback, even if it seems to be a serious question in question! I see that you do not rest on your laurels (or on your deckchair?)!
0 x
User avatar
izentrop
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 2730
Registration: 17/03/14, 23:42
Location: picardie
x 145
Contact :

Re: A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby izentrop » 22/05/18, 01:05

Hello,
to be chafoin wrote:Can we know when this mineralization will begin, then this nitrification after the cover break. In my case, I covered my soil very late: in the spring, in April or May and I started my crops quickly after the cover. Can we imagine that I avoided without seeking this possible nitrification "lost" in soils?
This is the role of CIPAN in agriculture https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Culture_i ... ge_d'azote.

Did correct, but the problem will be more in the winter, when the soil life is slow and a board is no longer occupied while being covered with hay.
Nitrates not absorbed by the previous crop could be leached, but it is more a problem of shallow soil, sandy soil, plowed (accelerated mineralization), lacking humus and left bare.

I think that for a living ground garden, well provided with organic matter, surrounded by a meadow, trees and not at the edge of a river, there is little chance that it happens.
The fungus mycelium network must also help prevent this loss of nutrients?
Last edited by izentrop the 22 / 05 / 18, 01: 07, 1 edited once.
0 x
Have reason to believe does not mean that we have reason to believe.
User avatar
to be chafoin
Éconologue good!
Éconologue good!
posts: 200
Registration: 20/05/18, 23:11
Location: Gironde
x 11

Re: A vegetable meadow?

Unread Messageby to be chafoin » 22/05/18, 01:07

Did67 wrote:beginning of mineralization up to nitrification. So, our garden "natural" can become "pollutant": a height!


Can we imagine the more systematic use of "nitrate traps" that are green manures, especially in so-called stolen crops (in the spring or before the arrival of winter)?
0 x


 


  • Similar topics
    Replies
    views
    Last message

Back to "Agriculture: problems and pollution, new techniques and solutions"

Who is online ?

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and guest 1

Popular searches

Retour Faire défiler Stop Mode automatique

Agriculture: problèmes et pollutions, nouvelles techniques et solutionsUne prairie potagère ?

Agriculture et sols. Pollution, contrôles, dépollution des sols, humus et nouvelles techniques agricoles.
Avatar de l’utilisateur
être chafoin
Bon éconologue!
Bon éconologue!
Messages : 423
Inscription : 20/05/18, 23:11
Localisation : Gironde
x 18

Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar être chafoin » 21/05/18, 11:44

Bonjour à tous,

Je cultive un petit potager bio depuis environ 5 ans, évoluant peu à peu vers une culture plus permanente, un sol plus vivant et moins de travail du sol. Aussi, les arguments et le style calme-flamboyant de Didier Helmstetter m'ont incité cette année à intégrer de manière plus décomplexée ce qui pourrait s'avérer être le trésor (ou le cauchemar !) près duquel dormait mon transat : la prairie naturelle qui est le cadre environnant de ce potager.

2018-05-09 15.55.48.jpg
"ma" prairie potagère

J'en viens tout de suite au sujet : Comment ne pas "gâcher" une prairie ?

Je cherche à remplacer la fertilisation des années précédentes (apport de fumier=sale, puant, trop d'effort pour le transport, apport de compost=expérience de compostage en tas sur place fastidieux et peu convaincant, manipulation et transport depuis chez moi compliqué -je précise que je n'habite pas sur place- + les arguments de Didier) par une fertilisation végétale sans fermentation. J'ai compris qu'il fallait que j'apporte plus de biomasse à mon sol grâce à des engrais verts que je cultive depuis l'année dernière sur mon potager et du foin que je fais moi-même à partir de la prairie qui jouxte mes cultures. Sur la photo on peut voir quelques andains qui sont encore à sécher dans la prairie, et le coeur du potager derrière les haies artificielles, en demi-cercle.

Comment "gérer" une prairie dans le but de fertiliser soi-même un potager ?
Je me demande notamment quelle est ratio entre la superficie de prairie nécessaire pour améliorer de manière sensible et durable la vie et la qualité du sol du potager et la superficie de ce potager. J'imagine que c'est un peu voire très relatif mais tout de même, quel est l'ordre de grandeur ? Sur la photo on peut deviner que la prairie environnante représente environ 4 à 5 fois la zone du potager (en sachant que mon potager est aménagé en plate-bandes donc il faut compter sans les allées), est-ce que cela vous parait suffisant ? Cette estimation pourrait guider un olibrius intéressé par cette optique et qui souhaiterait commencer un nouveau potager sur une prairie...

Est-ce un gain de paresse ?
Ce n'est pas sûr. Certes la fenaison est un travail, surtout quand on fait tout "à l'ancienne" comme moi, c'est à dire avec simplement un rateau à feuille (j'ai profité de la "fauche" du propriétaire qui "entretient" son terrain -voir plus bas- ; un travail à la faux ne me paraitrait pas insurmontable sur une telle superficie, d'autant qu'il pourrait s'envisager relativement aux besoins de couverture du sol et au temps climatique). Cela me parait quand même un gain d'effort pour une personne esseulée ou solitaire ou qui a mal au dos ou qui ne désire pas forcément ahaner derrière de grosses meules (!). Ce n'est apparemment pas un gain de temps de transat, encore que cela reste à voir, je découvre seulement la technique en tâtonnant et en faisant naturellement des conneries. Toujours est-il que j'ai pu avec cette nouvelle approche et le gain de temps du non-travail du sol protéger et nourrir presque l'ensemble de mes parcelles et agrandir mon potager en inaugurant des nouvelles plates-bandes (on distingue l'une d'entre elles entre 4 piquets au premier plan de la photo)...

D'ailleurs que faut-il faire pour avoir un bon foin ? et un bon foin de phénoculture ?
J'avais commencé à faucher avant l'épiaison (début avril). Faut-il privilégier cette période comme cela semble une recommandation des agriculteurs qui produisent du foin commercial à destination des bovins et des ovins, ou suivre les conseils de Didier : le plus tard possible ? Puis la prairie a été tondue avec une "autotamponneuse" autoportée par le propriétaire pendant l'épiaison (avril), période recommandée pour le foin des chevaux. C'est donc une sorte de foin tondu que j'ai fait sécher et retourné en andains. Mais quelle couleur doit avoir le foin ? doit-il rester un peu vert, ou faut-il attendre qu'il jaunisse ou blanchisse au soleil ? Un foin mal produit (un peu pourri par exemple) peut-il avoir des effets négatifs sur mon sol ? Pourrait-on imaginer un foin spécifique, "calibré" pour régaler nos organismes du sol (particulièrement pour les vers anéciques dont on connait l'importance grâce à Didier et Marcel Bouché) comme on calibre le foin selon le bétail qui va s'en nourrir (bovins,ovins/chevaux/lapins) ?

Peut-on imaginer un amélioration "éco-systémique" ?
J'ai déposé mon foin en "épaisses couches" sur les plate-bandes en commençant à cultiver des patates qui sont sorties maintenant (sauf celles que j'avais posées directement sur la prairie et sous le foin). Peut-on imaginer une culture de prairie au plus près de la culture d'un potager, une nouvelle association dont il n'existe pas de nom -je parle sous votre contrôle-, une sorte de potager-prairie à l'instar du "jardin-forêt" (concept auquel je sais que Didier ne crois pas) ou de l'agroforesterie ?
Et dans l'autre sens quel est l'impact de ces prélèvements sur la prairie elle-même (voire sur les écosystèmes plus ou moins proches) ? Si je lui enlève cette énergie, ne va-t-elle pas se dégrader peu à peu ? Quel est le cycle d'une prairie ? En gros, loin d'annoncer une quelconque révolution je me demande si cet effort vaut la peine et s'il ne vaudrait pas mieux laisser la gestion de ce foin à des spécialistes (comme d'hab !) ... Si cela valait la peine, d'autres questions (qui rejoignent des questions classiques pour un potager) viennent : comment organiser le mieux l'espace et l'alternance prairie/potager, clairsemé en plates-bandes (mon choix pour le potager), concentré (potager au centre et prairie autour), voire "itinérant" afin de stimuler le vivant cycliquement sur l'ensemble du terrain ? Si on fait soi-même le foin on n'est pas tenu au format rouleau... Qu'est ce qui profitera le mieux à mes légumes, aux organismes vivants, au sol de l'ensemble de la superficie et à l'écosystème ?
1 x

Avatar de l’utilisateur
denis17
Je comprends l'éconologie
Je comprends l'éconologie
Messages : 135
Inscription : 13/10/16, 13:15
Localisation : 17
x 35
Contact :

Re: Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar denis17 » 21/05/18, 17:01

Voilà bien beaucoup de questions.
A priori, d'après ce que j'ai lu sur le forum principal, il faut compter 3 X plus de surface en foin que la surface à couvrir, donc pour ce cas, tu es dans les clous.
Ensuite, en ce qui concerne la fauche du foin, plusieurs options s'offrent à toi, faire 2 fauches, une en juin, puis le regain en septembre ( à vue de nez), soit une seule fauche tardive.
Personnellement, je pencherai pour la seconde solution, car la plupart des graines se re semeront naturellement ce qui va participer à l'entretien de ta prairie, limiter le travail ( Une coupe au lieu de 2), et enfin attendre le séchage du foin fait en quelques semaines et le mettre en place pour l'année suivante, une seule manipulation aussi.
Pour ce qui est du foin, une bonne debroussailleuse devrait être suffisante, il ne restera qu'à le retourner de temps en temps pour un bon séchage, et à le mettre en place en bonne couche car il va être très aéré. Mise en place à l'automne, période qui me semble pour moi la plus favorable.
Denis
0 x
Moindreffor
Grand Econologue
Grand Econologue
Messages : 1099
Inscription : 27/05/17, 22:20
Localisation : limite entre le Nord et l'Aisne
x 242

Re: Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar Moindreffor » 21/05/18, 20:29

pour le foin, une coupe tardive serait le mieux, 3 à 4 fois la surface du potager c'est bien
tu cultives des engrais verts c'est bien, donc mettre le foin plus tardivement après la fauche des engrais vert vers février, mars, le foin par dessus et tu peux planter en même temps oignon, échalote, ail,
le jardin au centre comme c'est là c'est pas mal, tu peux gagner sur la prairie en mettant du foin en novembre et en repiquant en mai juin des courges, ou des potirons
donc tu as de quoi être auto-suffisant, génial
0 x
"Ceux qui ont les plus grandes oreilles ne sont pas ceux qui entendent le mieux"
(de Moi)
Avatar de l’utilisateur
nico239
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 1803
Inscription : 31/05/17, 15:43
Localisation : 04
x 182

Re: Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar nico239 » 21/05/18, 20:52

être chafoin a écrit :Je cherche à remplacer la fertilisation des années précédentes (apport de fumier=sale, puant, trop d'effort pour le transport, apport de compost=expérience de compostage en tas sur place fastidieux et peu convaincant, manipulation et transport depuis chez moi compliqué -je précise que je n'habite pas sur place- + les arguments de Didier) par une fertilisation végétale sans fermentation.

Comment "gérer" une prairie dans le but de fertiliser soi-même un potager ?
?


Cela me rappelle, en POSITIF, le persécuteur de Didier sur YT... :mrgreen:

Le foin n'est pas un fertilisateur.

On oublie le mot «fertiliser» et on pense au foin comme un couvert protecteur hiver comme été, un refuge pour la vie du sol.

Si tu veux un «agradateur» à long terme car son action protectrice permet à la terre de ne plus être nue et de ce fait de retrouver un cycle de vie «normal».

À partir de là Didier te donnera tous les bons tuyaux sur les dates de coupe pour la meilleure des efficacité.

Et à la réflexion il doit y avoir quelque chose dans le message de Didier qui induit l'idée que le foin serait un fertilisant : reste à trouver où??? Image

En tous les cas bonne chance pour l'agradation de ta parcelle potagère et bienvenue ici Image
0 x
«Un outil qui ne consomme pas d'énergie et qui respecte les sols c'est quoi? Ben c'est un outil qui fait rien» (citation conférence François Mulet)
Avatar de l’utilisateur
être chafoin
Bon éconologue!
Bon éconologue!
Messages : 423
Inscription : 20/05/18, 23:11
Localisation : Gironde
x 18

Re: Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar être chafoin » 21/05/18, 21:43

denis17 a écrit : Ensuite, en ce qui concerne la fauche du foin, plusieurs options s'offrent à toi, faire 2 fauches, une en juin, puis le regain en septembre ( à vue de nez), soit une seule fauche tardive.


Je comprends l'idée de laisser une partie des graines pour l'entretien de la prairie et mais concernant le moment de fauche je ne suis pas sûr qu'une fauche tardive soit meilleure en ce qui concerne la qualité du foin. Les agriculteurs disent préférer faucher tôt car la teneur en protéine diminuerait avec le temps (le dépérissement des feuilles serait une perte nutritive en azote) alors que la cellulose augmente (plus de tige). Par contre la quantité serait meilleure. D'après ces infos glanée sur la toile (https://laballeronde.wordpress.com/2017/01/04/le-stade-de-coupe-du-foin-un-element-determinant-pour-fixer-sa-qualite/], cela dépend des animaux auquel est destiné le fourrage, mais même pour le cheval qui préfèrerait la quantité, on conseille de faucher à l'épiaison au plus tard. Mais peut-être cela concerne uniquement la prairie "cultivée" et non la prairie "naturelle" non fertilisée comme c'est mon cas ?
Je ne cache pas qu'en plus privilégier une fauche précoce m'arrangerait bien car je ne suis pas sûr que le proprio laisserait la prairie monter tout l'été. Pour ma part, je serais chez moi je laisserais certainement une partie se débrouiller jusqu'en fin d'été car surtout j'adore voir la prairie danser avec le vent ! Mais je m'égare.
Pour ma part, je serais certainement contraint de ta première option Denis. Voyons le côté positif : cela serait comme assimiler les vers à des vaches :shock: si l'on suit le point de vue des éleveurs et d'après les spécialistes les vers et les vaches ont déjà un point commun : il digère 2 fois leur nourriture (même si c'est de 2 manières complètement différentes) ! Mais je m'égare encore, ce n'est pas demain que j'irai traire des vers ! :P
0 x

Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 6831
Inscription : 25/02/08, 18:54
Localisation : Bourgogne
x 465

Re: Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar Ahmed » 21/05/18, 22:03

Ce que l'on recherche en phénoculture est à la fois la couverture du sol et la nourriture de la pédofaune. Ce sont deux objectifs différents et quelque peu contradictoires qui trouvent un juste équilibre dans un compromis. Une herbe jeune, peu ligneuse est mieux et plus vite assimilée, mais ceci se fait au détriment de la couverture efficace du sol, donc de la conservation de l'humidité et de la préservation vis-à-vis des adventices: un foin plus ligneux assurera une couverture durable et ainsi, un cycle complet de culture (évitant des regarnis massifs en cours de saison).
0 x
"Ne croyez surtout pas ce que je vous dis."
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Did67
Modérateur
Modérateur
Messages : 12948
Inscription : 20/01/08, 16:34
Localisation : Alsace
x 4394

Re: Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar Did67 » 21/05/18, 22:15

Je rentre de conférence, je suis un peu naze. Rappelez-moi ce fil un de ces quatre.

2 ou 3 choses :

a) Du point de vue fourrage, les agriculteurs ont raison : ils veulent du foin le plus riche en "PDI" (Protéines Digestibles dans l'Intestin grêle), une des clefs de leur ration... C'est notre N du rapport C/N. D'où le développement de l'enrubanné qui est un semi-foin / semi-ensilage. Coupé jeune. Le plus riche possible en azote (on privilégie, pour la fauche, le moment où quantité X teneur en N donne une récolte de PDI maximum à l'ha)...

Nous, ce n'est pas notre objectif : on cherche un autre compromis, pas le fourrage le plus riche en azote. Nous avons besoin de fibres, pour la formation de substances humiques. Et aussi pour que le foin dure longtemps et joue son rôle de "couverture". Même un peu plus fibreux, donc plus durable, plus humifère, le foin sera encore très très largement plus riche en azote que la paille. Et je ne parle pas du carton !

Donc des fauches plus tardives que celles des fourrages destinés aux vaches est préférable.

b) Il reste que le mettre tout de suite pose des problèmes. Démarrage dès la même année de la décomposition, avec deux conséquences : "disparition" de foin qui manquera et début de minéralisation pouvant aller jusqu'à la nitrification. Du coup, notre jardin "naturel" peut devenir "polluant" : un comble !

Par ailleurs, cela "neutralise" la photosynthèse, en bloquant les adventices (ou engrais verts) trop tôt. IL y a deux ou trois ans, je ne parlais pas de ça. Mais c'était une erreur. Je réfléchis encore et le "Potager du Paresseux" est encore un concept vivant, qui bouge encore ! Désolé pour les anciens qui peuvent avoir l’impression que je ne sais pas ce que je dis !

La solution à ça (récolté en juillet et utilisé en hiver) est dans la constitution de meules, avec un extérieur très pentu, l'eau coule le long (cela fait un "toit" de chaume).

c) Oui, la décomposition du foin, de par sa minéralisation, est une fertilisation efficace. Le foin d'après mes calculs apporte plus d'N, de P et de K que le fumier ou le compost, pour le même poids charrié. Il renferme tous les éléments, que "l'herbe" a prélevé là où elle a poussé (transfert horizontal de fertilité).

Je n'ai toujours pas refait mes calculs, mais je demande même si les apports ne sont pas excessifs !

d) Si le foin est assez fibreux, alors le processus d'humification se produit également, sous l'influence des champignons. Cela conduit aux substances humiques, qui jouent un rôle important dans le sol. Il est donc assez essentiel de produire un "vieux foin".
0 x
Avatar de l’utilisateur
être chafoin
Bon éconologue!
Bon éconologue!
Messages : 423
Inscription : 20/05/18, 23:11
Localisation : Gironde
x 18

Re: Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar être chafoin » 21/05/18, 23:16

[quote="Did67"] Il reste que le mettre tout de suite pose des problèmes. Démarrage dès la même année de la décomposition, avec deux conséquences : "disparition" de foin qui manquera et début de minéralisation pouvant aller jusqu'à la nitrification. Du coup, notre jardin "naturel" peut devenir "polluant" : un comble !

Arg ! Je savais sans le savoir que cela allait tourner au cauchemar !
Peut-on savoir quand commencerait cette minéralisation, puis cette nitrification après la pause de la couverture. Dans mon cas, j'ai couvert mon sol très tardivement : au printemps, en avril voire mai et j'ai commencé rapidement mes cultures après la couverture. Peut-on imaginer que j'ai évité sans l'avoir cherché cette possible nitrification "perdue" dans les sols ? Faut-il lancer rapidement des mises en culture après la couverture du foin ?

En dehors de ce fil : salutations quand même Didier ! Merci pour tes partages, tes vidéos et ton bouquin... qui ont renouvelé ma passion jardin et maintenant tes retours, même si ça semble être du lourd question remise en cause ! Je vois que tu ne te reposes pas sur tes lauriers (ni sur ton transat ?) !
0 x
Avatar de l’utilisateur
izentrop
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 3202
Inscription : 17/03/14, 23:42
Localisation : picardie
x 181
Contact :

Re: Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar izentrop » 22/05/18, 01:05

Bonjour,
être chafoin a écrit :Peut-on savoir quand commencerait cette minéralisation, puis cette nitrification après la pause de la couverture. Dans mon cas, j'ai couvert mon sol très tardivement : au printemps, en avril voire mai et j'ai commencé rapidement mes cultures après la couverture. Peut-on imaginer que j'ai évité sans l'avoir cherché cette possible nitrification "perdue" dans les sols ?
C'est le rôle des CIPAN en agriculture https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Culture_i ... ge_d'azote.

Did corrigera, mais le problème va se situer plus l'hiver , lorsque la vie du sol est au ralenti et qu'une planche n'est plus occupée tout en étant couverte de foin.
Les nitrates non absorbés par la culture précédente pourraient être lessivés, mais c'est plus un problème de sol peu profond, de terre sableuse, labourée (minéralisation accélérée), manquant d'humus et laissées nues.

Je pense que pour un jardin au sol vivant, bien pourvu en matière organique, entouré d'une prairie, d'arbres et pas au bord d'une rivière, il y a peu de chance que ça arrive.
Le réseau de mycélium des champignons doit aussi contribuer à empêcher cette perte de nutriment ?
Dernière édition par izentrop le 22/05/18, 01:07, édité 1 fois.
0 x
Cum hoc ergo propter hoc ... Autrement dit : Corrélation n'est pas causalité.
Avatar de l’utilisateur
être chafoin
Bon éconologue!
Bon éconologue!
Messages : 423
Inscription : 20/05/18, 23:11
Localisation : Gironde
x 18

Re: Une prairie potagère ?

Message non lupar être chafoin » 22/05/18, 01:07

Did67 a écrit :début de minéralisation pouvant aller jusqu'à la nitrification. Du coup, notre jardin "naturel" peut devenir "polluant" : un comble !


Peut-on imaginer l'utilisation plus systématique des "pièges à nitrates" que sont les engrais verts notamment en culture dite dérobée (au printemps ou avant l'arrivée de l'hiver) ?
0 x


 


  • Sujets similaires
    Réponses
    Vues
    Dernier message

Revenir vers « Agriculture: problèmes et pollutions, nouvelles techniques et solutions »

Qui est en ligne ?

Utilisateurs parcourant ce forum : Aucun utilisateur inscrit et 5 invités