Returns Scroll Stop Automatic mode

Agriculture: problems and pollution, new technologies and solutionsFight effectively against slugs!

Agriculture and soil. Pollution control, soil remediation, humus and new agricultural techniques.
Ollaf
I learn econologic
I learn econologic
posts: 19
Registration: 05/09/17, 15:24
Location: Tarn et Garonne
x 2

Fight effectively against slugs!

Unread Messageby Ollaf » 22/05/18, 21:29

Hello, I have a big slug problem I made a night pickup since 3 day and I harvest large quantities but I do not feel that the population is decreasing. I get ravaged aubergine peppers and they attack even tomato. Have. Yes lived the same experience and what advice can you get me?

IMG_0870.JPG
0 x

User avatar
denis17
I understand econologic
I understand econologic
posts: 129
Registration: 13/10/16, 13:15
Location: 17
x 35
Contact :

Re: Slug

Unread Messageby denis17 » 23/05/18, 09:12

I also have the same problem, slugs in this season are ubiquitous. Since the beginning of my planting, I had only lost 4 18 tomato plants planted to date. This weekend planting my zucchini feet, and during my morning visit this morning, bim, they were all nibbling. So, the collection of fifteen of these small animals, a maximum length of 3 cm, having a color very close to that of hay. Some were even well hidden under the leaves. And so tomorrow, re morning visit.
FYI, I'm afraid the coffee grounds do not work. : roll:
Denis
0 x
User avatar
Christophe
Moderator
Moderator
posts: 47028
Registration: 10/02/03, 14:06
Location: Greenhouse planet
x 409
Contact :

Re: Slug

Unread Messageby Christophe » 23/05/18, 14:24

The only true biological solution is to house a family of hedgehogs ... I know it's easier said than found ...

The thrushes also eat slugs but certainly less than a hedgehog and it is even harder to host than hedgehogs! : Cheesy:
0 x
Was this forum helpful or advisable? Help him too so he can continue to do it! Articles, analyzes and downloads on the editorial part of the site, publish your own! Get out (part of) your savings from the banking system, buy crypto-currencies!
Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
posts: 6547
Registration: 25/02/08, 18:54
Location: Burgundy
x 428

Re: Slug

Unread Messageby Ahmed » 23/05/18, 14:33

Indian runners are easier to implement than hedgehogs ...
0 x
"Do not believe above all that I tell you."
User avatar
Did67
Moderator
Moderator
posts: 12473
Registration: 20/01/08, 16:34
Location: Alsace
x 4150

Re: Slug

Unread Messageby Did67 » 23/05/18, 15:11

1) We are not equal to slugs, depending on the "terroir"! And a year is not another year. In addition, there is slug and slug ...

2) This year, I have a relative invasion of the big oranges / reds (probably two species).

3) At the end of spring, slugs, like many predators, are ahead of their enemies! It's natural.

The hedgehog eats it, but is "mop". In this season, he is ready to be crushed on the roads, just to find a female. "Tragic ball out on a Saturday night" could we titrate! There, or not? In any case, do not confine it. He needs a wider territory! So difficult to count on him.

Reliable auxiliaries are carabids and staphylines, nocturnal hunters especially. But like all insects, they start to be numerous when it's really hot and two or three cycles have taken place. Look at mosquitoes or wasps ... Protect them from natural meadows (their habitat), grassed paths, where they circulate well. Do not put curbs, an obstacle that will divert them from your flower beds!

4) And it fits hair pile when the man exposes his cute little plants, or install cute little seedlings of carrots that vegetate for 4 weeks without fattening. Attractive and easy prey ...

Clash assured !!!!

5) I formally established, verified, last week, that my red / orange slugs, which I call my "big cows", prefer .... faded woolen wilts, or faded lettuce / wild olives, to seedlings. cabbage or celery. I discovered this by chance, having swayed a sow thistle on the rows of cabbages planted ... In the evening, during my hunt, I find 3 slugs on this sowweed, with on one side 10 cm, on the other at thirty, a cabbage plant ...

I did it on the days that followed, and at 80 / 90% luck, that was true. There were still some rare slugs on cabbages. The rest, I picked up on those faded plants.

So for a few days, I have been calling. I thus scattered lettuces and escarole seeds that rose to seed (I kept one foot for my seeds). I picked up the launches in question where I found them ...

Advantage:

a) while I'm finishing the film or show, the slugs do very little damage ...

b) I know where to look for them!

6) For those who have room, the easiest thing is to make a crawl space with ducks runners or chickens, in a pen, all year round. No slugs that survive. No clutches. The next year you spread the hay plant or sow in it and you're done! If possible, keep a sanitary corridor, to avoid an intrusion from neighboring meadows. Inquire in East Germany, they knew how to do!

Otherwise, a passage of ducks at dusk, pushing them a little in the ass so they do not hang too much because they also like a little salad with their steaks, is obviously effective!

7) The raising of seedlings in pots, allowing them to grow well, limits the damage, the time to catch the culprits. Often, one or two outer leaves are serrated, but the heart is preserved. The plant recovers. So do not rush with rikiki dishes !!! We do not win anything. But we can lose a lot! A Lazy Potager is not for people in a hurry!

8) Meditate on the notion of martyrs' plants. I used a "rest" of salad plants (batavias), to "sanitize" an area where I will sow carrots in a few days. There will not be much left! Neither slugs. No salads !!!! What does it cost, a terrine, a bag of seeds at Lidl and a transplant (for nothing)!
1 x

User avatar
Did67
Moderator
Moderator
posts: 12473
Registration: 20/01/08, 16:34
Location: Alsace
x 4150

Re: Slug

Unread Messageby Did67 » 23/05/18, 15:23

@olaf

You seem to me to have teenagers of the big tiger slug. Which ALSO has carnivorous tendencies according to the literature.

I did some research though. I did not find any serious information about the diet of these animals. If everyone agrees that they can eat their conspecifics or the dead bodies of their conspecifics, it is also generally stated that they can also eat plants.

One thing is to eat a congener who occupies your territory, or a corpse. Another is to eat that. Because if together, they first finish your vegetables and argue only for the last salad, this may not be the solution!

The texts found on some sites and that present them as a solution to slugs leave me, at this stage, skeptical!

Maybe you can observe this more finely ????
0 x
User avatar
Christophe
Moderator
Moderator
posts: 47028
Registration: 10/02/03, 14:06
Location: Greenhouse planet
x 409
Contact :

Re: Slug

Unread Messageby Christophe » 23/05/18, 15:34

Did67 wrote:Which ALSO has carnivorous tendencies according to the literature.

I did some research though. I did not find any serious information about the diet of these animals. If everyone agrees that they can eat their conspecifics or the dead bodies of their conspecifics, it is also generally stated that they can also eat plants.

(...)


I confirm!

I have already seen, with a certain astonishment and disgust, orange slugs eating their congeners that I had just squashed a few minutes earlier ...

So carnivorous, scavenger and cannibals! : Shock:

On the other hand, I never saw slugs eat alive between them ... and I did not examine if they ate only the contents of "stomach" of their congeners or also the flesh ... Tests would be easy to reproduce!
0 x
Was this forum helpful or advisable? Help him too so he can continue to do it! Articles, analyzes and downloads on the editorial part of the site, publish your own! Get out (part of) your savings from the banking system, buy crypto-currencies!
monidura
I discovered econologic
I discovered econologic
posts: 3
Registration: 23/05/18, 16:09

Re: Slug

Unread Messageby monidura » 23/05/18, 16:44

about slugs, I noticed that when planting my zucchini if ​​I spread compost around the foot in a circle about 10 cm in diameter, the slugs were much less attracted. And for the transplanted salads, I kept the water bottles of 5 or 8 l that I consumed (for the occasion), of which I cut the bottom and I protect them momentarily by covering them, the time that they grow a bit and after more problems.
0 x
User avatar
Did67
Moderator
Moderator
posts: 12473
Registration: 20/01/08, 16:34
Location: Alsace
x 4150

Re: Slug

Unread Messageby Did67 » 23/05/18, 17:29

As soon as the salads are a little bigger and start to eat, there is always 2 or 3 slugs under / in the last leaves in contact with the ground, those sometimes found in the sink, and they are content to these damaged leaves, parched, sometimes in the beginning of decomposition ... Sometimes, they skid and make a little lace: it is the signature of a vegetable "more than bio"!
0 x
User avatar
Did67
Moderator
Moderator
posts: 12473
Registration: 20/01/08, 16:34
Location: Alsace
x 4150

Re: Slug

Unread Messageby Did67 » 23/05/18, 17:31

Christophe wrote:
On the other hand, I never saw slugs eat alive between them ... and I did not examine if they ate only the contents of "stomach" of their congeners or also the flesh ... Tests would be easy to reproduce!


What interests me is to know "how" they are cannibals or carnivores! If they are occasionally, when it comes, and the rest of the time, say 90%, they are after our vegetables, I do not care if they are occasionally carnivores or even cannibals! It will be controlling them, like the others ...
0 x


Back to "Agriculture: problems and pollution, new techniques and solutions"

Who is online ?

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and guest 1

Other pages that will certainly interest you:

Retour Faire défiler Stop Mode automatique

Agriculture: problèmes et pollutions, nouvelles techniques et solutionsLutter efficacement contre les Limaces!

Agriculture et sols. Pollution, contrôles, dépollution des sols, humus et nouvelles techniques agricoles.
Ollaf
J'apprends l'éconologie
J'apprends l'éconologie
Messages : 19
Inscription : 05/09/17, 15:24
Localisation : Tarn et Garonne
x 2

Lutter efficacement contre les Limaces!

Message non lupar Ollaf » 22/05/18, 21:29

Bonjour, j'ai un gros problème de limace je fait un ramasse nocturne depuis 3 jour et je récolte de grosse quantité mais j'ai pas l'impression que le population diminue. Je me fais ravager les poivrons aubergine et elles d'attaque même au tomate. Avez. Oui vécu la même expérience et quels conseils pouvez vous me procurer?

IMG_0870.JPG
0 x

Avatar de l’utilisateur
denis17
Je comprends l'éconologie
Je comprends l'éconologie
Messages : 135
Inscription : 13/10/16, 13:15
Localisation : 17
x 35
Contact :

Re: Limace

Message non lupar denis17 » 23/05/18, 09:12

J'ai aussi le même problème, les limaces en cette saison sont omniprésentes. Depuis le début de mes plantations de semis, je n'avais perdu que 4 pieds de tomates sur 18 plantés à ce jour. Ce week-end plantation de mes pieds de courgettes, et lors de ma visite matinale de ce matin, bim, elles étaient toutes grignotees. Du coup, ramassage d'une quinzaine de ces petites bêtes, d'une longueur maxi de 3 cm, ayant une couleur très proche de celle du foin. Certaines étaient même bien cachées sous les feuilles. Et donc demain, re visite matinale.
Pour info, j'ai bien peur que le marc de café ne fonctionne pas. :roll:
Denis
0 x
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Christophe
Modérateur
Modérateur
Messages : 47291
Inscription : 10/02/03, 14:06
Localisation : Planète Serre
x 452
Contact :

Re: Limace

Message non lupar Christophe » 23/05/18, 14:24

La seule vraie solution biologique est d'héberger une famille de hérissons...Je sais c'est plus facile à dire qu'à trouver...

Les grives mangent aussi les limaces mais certainement moins qu'un hérisson et c'est encore plus dur à héberger que les hérissons! :cheesy:
0 x
Ce forum vous a aidé ou bien conseillé? Aidez-le aussi pour qu'il puisse continuer de le faire! Des articles, des analyses et des téléchargements sur la partie éditoriale du site, publiez les vôtres! Sortez (une partie de) vos économies du système bancaire, achetez des crypto-monnaies!
Ahmed
Econologue expert
Econologue expert
Messages : 6831
Inscription : 25/02/08, 18:54
Localisation : Bourgogne
x 465

Re: Limace

Message non lupar Ahmed » 23/05/18, 14:33

Les coureurs indiens sont plus faciles à mettre en œuvre que les hérissons...
0 x
"Ne croyez surtout pas ce que je vous dis."
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Did67
Modérateur
Modérateur
Messages : 12948
Inscription : 20/01/08, 16:34
Localisation : Alsace
x 4394

Re: Limace

Message non lupar Did67 » 23/05/18, 15:11

1) Nous ne sommes pas égaux face aux limaces, en fonction du "terroir" ! Et une année n'est pas une autre année. En plus, il y a limace et limace...

2) Cette année, j'ai une relative invasion des grosses oranges / rouges (probablement deux espèces).

3) A la sortie du printemps, les limaces, comme beaucoup de prédateurs, sont en avance sur leurs ennemis ! C'est naturel.

Le hérisson en mange, mais est "vadrouilleur". En cette saison, il est prêt à se faire écraser sur les routes, histoire de trouver une femelle. "Sortie de bal tragique un samedi soir" pourrait-on titrer ! Là, ou pas ? En tout cas, ne le confinez pas. Il a besoin d'un territoire plus large ! Donc difficile de compter sur lui.

Les auxiliaires fiables sont les carabes et les staphylins, chasseurs nocturnes surtout. Mais comme tous les insectes, ils commencent à être nombreux quand il fait vraiment chaud et que deux ou trois cycles ont eu lieu. Regardez les moustiques ou les guêpes... Leur préserver des prairies naturelles (c'est leur habitat), des allées enherbées, où ils circulent bien. Ne pas mettre de bordurettes, un obstacle qui les détournera de vos plates-bandes !

4) Et cela correspond pile poil au moment où l'homme expose ses mignons petits plants, ou installent des mignons petits semis de carottes qui végètent pendant 4 semaines sans grossir. Des proies attirantes et faciles...

Clash assuré !!!!

5) J'ai formellement établi, vérifié, la semaine passée, que mes limaces rouges / oranges, que j'appelle mes "grosses vaches", préfèrent.... les laiterons fanés, ou les laitues / scaroles fanées, aux plants de choux ou de céleri. J'ai découvert cela par hasard, ayant balancé un laiteron sur les rangs de choux plantés... Le soir, lors de ma chasse, je trouve 3 limaces sur ce laiteron, avec d'un coté à 10 cm, de l'autre à une trentaine, un plant de choux...

J'ai fait exprès les jours qui ont suivi, et à 80 / 90 % de chance, cela s'est vérifié. Il y a encore eu quelques rares limaces sur les choux. Le reste, j'ai ramassé sur ces plantes fanées.

Donc depuis quelques jours, j'appâte. J'ai ainsi dispersé des laitues et des scaroles qui montaient en graines (j'ai gardé un pied pour mes semences). J'ai ramassé les laiterons en question où j'en ai trouvé...

Avantage :

a) pendant que je termine le film ou l'émission, les limaces ne font que très peu de dégâts...

b) je sais où les chercher !

6) Pour ceux qui ont de la place, le plus facile c'est effectivement de faire un vide sanitaire avec des canards coureurs ou des poules, dans un enclos, pendant toute l'année n. Pas de limaces qui survivent. Pas de pontes. L'année d'après tu étales le foin plante ou sème dedans et le tour est joué ! Si possible, garder un corridor sanitaire, pour éviter une intrusion depuis des prairies voisines. Se renseigner en Allemagne de l'Est, ils savaient faire !

A défaut, un passage de canards à la tombée de la nuit, en les poussant un peu au cul pour qu'ils ne trainent pas trop car ils aiment aussi un peu de salade avec leurs steaks, est évidemment efficace !

7) L'élevage des plants en godets, en les laissant bien grandir, limite les dégâts, le temps d'attraper les fautifs. Souvent, une ou deux feuilles extérieures sont dentelées, mais le cœur est préservé. Le plant récupère. Donc surtout ne pas se précipiter avec des plats rikiki !!! On ne gagne rien. Mais on peut perdre beaucoup ! Un Potager du Paresseux n'est pas pour gens pressés !

8) Méditer la notion de plantes-martyres. J'ai utilisé un "reste" de plants de salades (des batavias), pour "assainir" une zone où je vais semer des carottes dans quelques jours. Il n'en restera pas beaucoup ! Ni de limaces. Ni de salades !!!! Cela coûte quoi, une terrine, un sachet de graines chez Lidl et un repiquage (pour rien) !
1 x

Avatar de l’utilisateur
Did67
Modérateur
Modérateur
Messages : 12948
Inscription : 20/01/08, 16:34
Localisation : Alsace
x 4394

Re: Limace

Message non lupar Did67 » 23/05/18, 15:23

@olaf

Tu me sembles avoir des ados de la grosse limace tigrée. Qui a AUSSI des tendances carnivores selon la littérature.

J'ai cependant fait des recherches. Je n'ai pas trouvé d'éléments sérieux précisant le régime de ces bestiaux. Si tout le monde s'accorde à dire qu'elles peuvent manger leurs congénères ou les cadavres de leurs congénères, il est aussi généralement précisés qu'elles peuvent aussi manger des végétaux.

Une chose est de manger un congénère qui occupe ton territoire, ou un cadavre. Une autre est de ne manger QUE ça. Car si ensemble, elles achèvent d'abord tes légumes et ne se disputent que pour la dernière salade, ce n'est peut-être pas la solution !!!

Les textes qu'on trouve sur certains sites et qui les présentent comme une solution aux limaces me laissent, à ce stade, sceptiques !

Peut-être peux-tu observer cela plus finement ????
0 x
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Christophe
Modérateur
Modérateur
Messages : 47291
Inscription : 10/02/03, 14:06
Localisation : Planète Serre
x 452
Contact :

Re: Limace

Message non lupar Christophe » 23/05/18, 15:34

Did67 a écrit :Qui a AUSSI des tendances carnivores selon la littérature.

J'ai cependant fait des recherches. Je n'ai pas trouvé d'éléments sérieux précisant le régime de ces bestiaux. Si tout le monde s'accorde à dire qu'elles peuvent manger leurs congénères ou les cadavres de leurs congénères, il est aussi généralement précisés qu'elles peuvent aussi manger des végétaux.

(...)


Je confirme!

J'ai déjà vu, avec un certain étonnement et dégoût, des limaces oranges manger leur congénères que je venais d'écrabouiller quelques minutes plus tôt...

Donc carnivores, charognard et cannibales! :shock:

Par contre je n'ai jamais vu de limaces se manger vivantes entre elles...et je n'ai pas examiné si elles mangeaient seulement le contenu de "l'estomac" de leur congénères ou aussi les chairs...Des tests seraient facile à reproduire!
0 x
Ce forum vous a aidé ou bien conseillé? Aidez-le aussi pour qu'il puisse continuer de le faire! Des articles, des analyses et des téléchargements sur la partie éditoriale du site, publiez les vôtres! Sortez (une partie de) vos économies du système bancaire, achetez des crypto-monnaies!
monidura
Je découvre l'éconologie
Je découvre l'éconologie
Messages : 3
Inscription : 23/05/18, 16:09

Re: Limace

Message non lupar monidura » 23/05/18, 16:44

à propos des limaces , j'ai remarqué que lors de la plantation de mes courgettes si je répartissais du compost autour du pied en faisant un cercle de environ 10 cm de diamètre, les limaces étaient beaucoup moins attirées. Et pour les salades repiquées , j'ai gardé les bouteilles d'eau de 5 ou 8 l que j'ai consommées (pour l'occasion), dont j'ai coupé le fond et je les protège momentanément en les couvrant, le temps qu'elles grossissent un peu et après plus de problèmes.
0 x
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Did67
Modérateur
Modérateur
Messages : 12948
Inscription : 20/01/08, 16:34
Localisation : Alsace
x 4394

Re: Limace

Message non lupar Did67 » 23/05/18, 17:29

Dès que les salades sont un peu plus grosses et commencent à pommer, il y a toujours 2 ou 3 limaces sous / dans les dernières feuilles au contact avec le sol, celles qu'on retrouve parfois dans l"évier, et elles se contentent de ces feuilles abimées, desséchées, parfois en début de décomposition... Des fois, elles dérapent et font une petite dentelle : c'est la signature d'un légume "plus que bio" !
0 x
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Did67
Modérateur
Modérateur
Messages : 12948
Inscription : 20/01/08, 16:34
Localisation : Alsace
x 4394

Re: Limace

Message non lupar Did67 » 23/05/18, 17:31

Christophe a écrit :
Par contre je n'ai jamais vu de limaces se manger vivantes entre elles...et je n'ai pas examiné si elles mangeaient seulement le contenu de "l'estomac" de leur congénères ou aussi les chairs...Des tests seraient facile à reproduire!


Ce qui m'intéresse c'est de savoir "combien" elles sont cannibales ou carnivores ! Si elles le sont à l'occasion, lorsqu'elle se présente, et que le reste du temps, disons à 90 %, elles sont après nos légumes, je m'en fiche qu'elles soient occasionnellement carnivores ou même cannibales ! Il s'agira de les contrôler, comme les autres...
0 x


Revenir vers « Agriculture: problèmes et pollutions, nouvelles techniques et solutions »

Qui est en ligne ?

Utilisateurs parcourant ce forum : Majestic-12 [Bot] et 4 invités