Washington continued to worsening global warming


Share this article with your friends:

A federal judge in San Francisco has cleared the 24 August, a coalition of environmental organizations and US cities to bring charges against the US government. The plaintiffs - the NGOs Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and the four cities of Oakland, Santa Monica, Arcata (California) and Boulder (Colorado) - Two federal agencies criticized American development - Overseas Private Investment Corp. and Export-Import Bank - finance oil and gas projects abroad having a negative effect on climate change.

"This is the first time the US justice allows citizens to sue for the damage caused by industrial projects that contribute to global warming," says the San Francisco Chronicle. The complaint, filed in 2002, request that the offending agencies, whose directors are appointed by the US president, "fund alternative energy development projects more respecteuses environment than fossil fuels," reports the daily.

According to the complaint, "the financing of oil and gas projects, including power plants, oil fields, oil and gas pipelines, amounted to 32 billion in ten years. But these projects are causing the release of more 2,1 billion tons of carbon dioxide and methane each year, about 8% of the global total and almost a third of US emissions. "

source


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Washington poursuivi pour aggravation du réchauffement climatique

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Un juge fédéral de San Francisco a autorisé, le 24 août, une coalition d’organisations écologistes et de villes américaines à porter plainte contre le gouvernement américain. Les plaignants – les ONG Greenpeace et Friends of the Earth ainsi que les quatre villes d’Oakland, Santa Monica, Arcata (Californie) et Boulder (Colorado) – reprochent à deux agences fédérales de développement américaines – Overseas Private Investment Corp. et Export-Import Bank – le financement de projets pétroliers et gaziers à l’étranger ayant un effet négatif sur les changements climatiques.

« C’est la première fois aux Etats-Unis que la justice permet à des citoyens de porter plainte pour le préjudice causé par des projets industriels qui contribueraient au réchauffement global », note le San Francisco Chronicle. La plainte, déposée en 2002, demande que les agences incriminées, dont les directeurs sont nommés par le président américain, « financent des projets de développement d’énergies alternatives plus respecteuses de l’environnement que les énergies fossiles », rapporte le quotidien.

D’après la plainte, « le financement de projets d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, comprenant des centrales énergétiques, des champs pétroliers, des oléoducs et des gazoducs, s’est élevé à 32 milliards de dollars en dix ans. Or ces projets sont à l’origine du rejet de plus 2,1 milliards de tonnes de dioxyde de carbone et de méthane chaque année, soit environ 8 % du total mondial et près du tiers des émissions américaines. »

Source

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *