Hybrid locomotive made its debut in California

Share this article with your friends:

This is a first for a major US railroad company. Union Pacific has announced the commissioning of a hybrid switching locomotive that will run on the ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach, California.

The vehicle includes an electric battery and a diesel engine 290 horses charge of feed when discharged. According to preliminary data, such a system could reduce fuel consumption 40 70% to% and nitrogen oxides (NOx)
of 80% to 90%. railway companies, which primarily use diesel, are increasingly subjected to the pressure of environmental services for the conversion of their rail fleet to cleaner technologies (such as their Canadian neighbors).

Representatives of the Air Quality Management District (AQMD) West Coast feel that NOx emissions from all railway operations related to freight in the region each year equivalent to emissions from stationary sources 350 (including refineries and power plants electric). Next vehicle performance of the Union Pacific, the company is expected in the coming months decide whether to replace its older locomotives by the new model. Three other hybrid locomotives are currently being tested in the field
in the USA.

LAT 16 / 03 / 05 (New hybrid locomotive's broadcasts are clean as a whistle)
http://www.latimes.com/news/science/environment/la-me-train16mar16,1,1315615.story

Note econology: has spent several decades as diesel-electric locomotives exist in Europe: a diesel engine drives a generator that powers an electric motor. This locomotive is it really innovative? Especially when we know the Kitson-Still: steam locomotive diesel-years 1920

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Une locomotive hybride fait son entrée en Californie

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

C’est une première pour une grande compagnie ferroviaire américaine. Union Pacific a annoncé la mise en service d’une locomotive de manoeuvre hybride qui fonctionnera sur les ports de Los Angeles et Long Beach, en Californie.

 L’engin comporte une batterie électrique et un moteur diesel de 290 chevaux chargé de l’alimenter lorsqu’elle est déchargée. Selon des données préliminaires, un tel système pourrait permettre de diminuer la consommation de carburant de 40% à 70% et les émissions d’oxydes d’azote (NOx)
de 80% à 90%. Les sociétés de chemin de fer, qui utilisent essentiellement le diesel, sont de plus en plus soumises à la pression des services environnementaux pour la conversion de leur parc ferroviaire à des technologies moins polluantes (comme leurs voisins canadiens).

 Les représentants du Air Quality Management District (AQMD) de la Côte Ouest estiment que les émissions de NOx de l’ensemble des opérations ferroviaires liés au fret dans la région équivalent chaque année aux rejets de 350 sources fixes de pollution (y compris raffineries et centrales électriques). Suivant les performances du véhicule de l’Union Pacific, la société devrait dans les prochains mois décider si elle souhaite remplacer ses plus anciennes locomotives par le nouveau modèle. Trois autres locomotives hybrides font actuellement l’objet de tests sur le terrain
aux Etats-Unis.

LAT 16/03/05 (New hybrid locomotive’s emissions are clean as a whistle)
http://www.latimes.com/news/science/environment/la-me-train16mar16,1,1315615.story

Note d’econologie : cela fait plusieurs décénies que les locomotives diesel-electrique existent en Europe : un moteur diesel entraine un alternateur qui alimente un moteur electrique. Cette locomotive est-elle donc réellement innovatrice ? Surtout quand on connait la Kitson-Still : locomotive diesel-vapeur des années 1920

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *