Waterfalls on Nîmes

Share this article with your friends:

New rainfall, sometimes up to 160 millimeters per square meter, according to Météo-France have hit on Thursday afternoon Nîmes and the Gard region, causing widespread flooding in this region already affected Tuesday by torrential rains.

The prefecture of Gard reactivated the crisis unit to manage the consequences of these storms that particular led to the interruption of railway traffic between Nimes and Lunel (Hérault) due to flooding at the height of Gallargues (Gard). A9 Highway was closed in both directions between Orange (Vaucluse) and Narbonne (Aude), as A54 between Nimes and Salon-de-Provence (Bouches-du-Rhône).

In the center of Nîmes, traffic was difficult due to flooding of several streets, have we learned from the prefecture. According to the crisis, most of the county roads in the south and north of the city, are cut.

The Vistre downstream from Nîmes, is in flood and large excesses are to be feared in the south of Nîmes and in Petite Camargue, including Vauvert, The Cailar and Vestric-et-Candiac.

"Today's rainy season is more important than Tuesday's, but above all, we were not on red alert and people were surprised," said Jacques-Olivier Liby, Nimes councilor. According to him, "because of the orange alert, many people will realize in the evening only that they can not return home" ...

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Trombes d’eau sur Nîmes

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

De nouvelles précipitations, allant parfois jusqu’à 160 millimètres par mètre carré, selon Météo-France se sont abattues jeudi après-midi sur Nîmes et le département du Gard, provoquant de nombreuses inondations dans cette région déjà touchée mardi par des pluies torrentielles.

La préfecture du Gard a réactivé la cellule de crise pour gérer les conséquences de ces intempéries qui ont notamment entraîné l’interruption du trafic SNCF entre Nîmes et Lunel (Hérault) en raison d’inondations à la hauteur de Gallargues (Gard). L’autoroute A9 a été fermée dans les deux sens entre Orange (Vaucluse) et Narbonne (Aude), ainsi que l’A54 entre Nîmes et Salon-de-Provence (Bouches-du-Rhône).

Dans le centre de Nîmes, la circulation était difficile en raison des inondations de plusieurs rues, a-t-on appris auprès de la préfecture. Selon la cellule de crise, la majeure partie des routes départementales, au sud et au nord de la ville, sont coupées.

Le Vistre, en aval de Nîmes, est en crue et de larges débordements sont à redouter dans la partie sud de Nîmes ainsi qu’en Petite Camargue, notamment à Vauvert, Le Cailar et Vestric-et-Candiac.

« L’épisode pluvieux d’aujourd’hui est plus important que celui de mardi, mais surtout, nous n’étions pas en alerte rouge et les gens se sont faits surprendre », a estimé Jacques-Olivier Liby, conseiller municipal de Nîmes. Selon lui, « en raison de l’alerte orange, de nombreuses personnes vont se rendre compte dans la soirée seulement qu’elles ne peuvent retourner chez elles »…

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *