The inevitable global warming

Share this article with your friends:

Gerald Meehl of the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) and colleagues that are more pessimistic about the evolution of global warming. According to their research published in Science, even assuming a net stop all emissions of greenhouse gases due to human activity, global warming is inevitable.

At the end of 21ème century, in the best case, the average global air temperature and win 0,5 ° C and sea level 11 cm. The researchers carried out the summary results of many simulations of two types of climate models - the Parallel Climate Model (PCM) and the Community Climate System Model 3 Version (CCSM3) - conducted on supercomputers at NCAR and laboratories of the US Department of Energy and the Japanese Earth Simulator.

Despite differences between the two on the intensity of the phenomenon, the trend remains the same: the increase in global temperature and sea level over the next 100 years. For researchers, this inevitability can be explained largely by the thermal inertia of the oceans and the long life cycle of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas in the atmosphere. The performed model simulations (not taking into account
the impact of melting glaciers and ice caps) confirm the need to act strongly to prevent further aggravate the future situation.

WP 18 / 03 / 05 (Global warming inevitable, show data)
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A45040-2005Mar17.html
http://www.newscientist.com/article.ns?id=7161


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Le réchauffement climatique inévitable

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Gerald Meehl, du National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR), et ses collègues sont plus que pessimistes quant à l’évolution du réchauffement global de la planète. Selon leurs travaux publiés dans Science, même en supposant un arrêt net de toute émission de gaz à effet de serre liée à l’activité humaine, le réchauffement climatique est inévitable.

A la fin du 21ème siècle, dans le meilleur des cas, la température globale moyenne de l’air gagnera ainsi 0,5°C et le niveau de la mer 11 cm. Les chercheurs ont effectué la synthèse des résultats de nombreuses simulations de deux types de modèles climatiques – le Parallel Climate Model (PCM) et le Community Climate System Model version 3 (CCSM3) -, menées sur les superordinateurs du NCAR et des laboratoires de l’US Department of Energy et sur le Earth Simulator japonais.

Malgré des différences entre les deux concernant l’intensité du phénomène, la tendance observée reste la même : l’augmentation de la température globale et du niveau de la mer au cours des 100 prochaines années. Pour les chercheurs, cette inéluctabilité s’expliquerait en grande partie par l’inertie thermique des océans et le long cycle de vie du dioxyde de carbone et des autres gaz à effet de serre dans l’atmosphère. Les simulations modèles effectuées (qui ne prennent pas en compte
l’impact de la fonte des glaciers et des calottes glaciaires) confirment la nécessité d’agir fortement pour éviter d’aggraver encore la situation future.

WP 18/03/05 (Global warming inevitable, data show)
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A45040-2005Mar17.html
http://www.newscientist.com/article.ns?id=7161

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *