Global warming in the Arctic


Share this article with your friends:

The United States concerned but not involved.

Representatives of 8 Arctic nations, including the United States, met in Reykjavik (Iceland) to decide a possible response to the Arctic Climate Impact Assessment, published two weeks earlier. In it the fruit of four years of research, scientists 300 have expressed fears about rising current temperatures in the polar region. But the report from the negotiations conducted by members of the Arctic Council
does not appear to meet the challenges. It confines itself to recognize the problem and to encourage the adoption of effective measures against-without specifying which.

In particular, no common strategy to limit the emission of greenhouse gases responsible for climate change in the Arctic could be stopped, and this mainly under US pressure. The Bush administration says particular focus volunteering
and research on renewable energy and carbon dioxide storage technologies to improve the situation. The president of the Union of Concerned Scientists, an independent organization that brings together scientists and citizens, has meanwhile called this position "irresponsible in the extreme." WP 25 / 11 / 04 (Arctic Council Urges Action on warming)

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A11104-2004Nov24.html


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Réchauffement climatique en Arctique

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Les Etats-Unis concernés mais peu impliqués.

Les représentants de 8 pays bordant l’Arctique, dont les Etats-Unis, se sont réunis à Reykjavik (Islande) afin de décider d’une réponse à apporter à l’Artic Climate Impact Assessment, publié deux semaines plus tôt. Dans ce document fruit de quatre années de recherche, 300 scientifiques ont exprimé leurs craintes concernant la hausse des températures en cours dans cette région polaire. Mais le rapport issu des négociations menées par les membres de l’Arctic Council
n’apparaît pas à la hauteur des enjeux. Il se limite en effet à reconnaître le problème et à encourager l’adoption de contre-mesures efficaces, sans pour autant préciser lesquelles.

En particulier, aucune stratégie commune visant à limiter l’émission des gaz à effet de serre responsables du changement climatique en Arctique n’a pu être arrêtée, et ce principalement sous la pression américaine. L’Administration Bush déclare notamment privilégier le volontariat
et la recherche sur les énergies renouvelables et les technologies de stockage du dioxyde de carbone pour améliorer la situation. Le président de l’Union of Concerned Scientists, une organisation indépendante réunissant scientifiques et simples citoyens, a quant à lui qualifié cette position "d’irresponsable à l’extrême". WP 25/11/04 (Arctic Council urges action on warming)

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A11104-2004Nov24.html

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *