Prograss project: Bioenergy and Conservation


Share this article with your friends:

Reconciling bioenergy and nature protection

During 3 and a half years, the project will look Prograss opportunities - economically viable and acceptable from an environmental point of view - use of grasslands to produce bioenergy in Europe. Featuring 1,6 million euros from the European Union, the project should enable the development of an agricultural system that on the one hand, guarantee the conservation of habitats and also opens the possibility of a bioenergy does not compete with food production.

The potential of the areas concerned is important: 1,5 million hectares of grassland in Germany, 2,2 0,6 million in England and Estonia million would, in principle, be used for production of biomass and bioenergy, although the compositions and quality very uneven. Some are subject to protective measures. One of the project goals is also the creation of new sources of income for small farms and upgrading of economically disadvantaged areas.

The approach proposed by Prograss will be tested in several stages. In a first demonstration phase mobile pilot system for solid fuel biomass conversion will be implemented in three European-model regions: Estonia, England and Germany. Meanwhile, the technical application possibilities will be explored. In addition, researchers will determine how Prograss is, points of economic and socio-economic order, a way forward in the study areas and whether its approach can be transposed. For the conversion of biomass fuel in grasslands, a new process will be used and gradually developed with the aim to use 70% (maximum) of the energy contained in the biomass.

Prograss 8 consists of sub-projects involving German partners, British and Estonian, who will study on the scientific and practical, environmental, socioeconomic and technical aspects of this new approach. The European Union is supporting the project as part of the political program and environmental governance LIFE +.

Participants in Prograss are the University of Kassel (coordinator), the University of Bonn, the Estonian University of Life Sciences, the Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research in Wales, the Vogelsberg region, Regional Ministry of environment of Hesse and industrial partners involved in the application.

Source: BE Germany


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Projet Prograss: bioénergie et protection de la nature

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Concilier production de bioénergie et protection de la nature

Pendant 3 ans et demi, le projet PROGRASS va s’intéresser aux possibilités – rentables économiquement et acceptables d’un point de vue écologique – d’utilisation de prairies pour produire de la bioénergie en Europe. Doté de 1,6 million d’euros de la part de l’Union européenne, le projet devrait permettre la mise au point d’un système agronomique qui d’une part, garantisse la conservation des habitats et d’autre part, ouvre la possibilité d’une production de bioénergie n’entrant pas en concurrence avec la production alimentaire.

Le potentiel de surfaces concernées est important : 1,5 million d’hectares de prairies en Allemagne, 2,2 millions en Angleterre et 0,6 million en Estonie seraient, en principe, utilisables pour une production de biomasse et de bioénergie, même si les compositions et la qualité sont très inégales. Certaines font l’objet de mesures de protection. L’un des enjeux du projet est aussi la création de nouvelles sources de revenus pour les petites entreprises agricoles et la revalorisation de régions économiquement défavorisées.

L’approche proposée par PROGRASS sera testée en plusieurs étapes. Dans une première phase de démonstration, un système pilote mobile permettant la conversion de biomasse en combustible solide sera mis en oeuvre dans trois régions-modèles européennes : en Estonie, en Angleterre et en Allemagne. Parallèlement, les possibilités techniques d’application seront étudiées. De plus, les chercheurs devront déterminer dans quelle mesure PROGRASS est, des points de vue économique et socioéconomique, une solution d’avenir dans les régions étudiées et si son approche peut être transposée. Pour la conversion de la biomasse des prairies en combustible, un nouveau procédé sera utilisé et petit à petit développé, avec pour objectif l’utilisation de 70% (au maximum) de l’énergie contenue dans la biomasse.

PROGRASS se compose de 8 sous-projets, impliquant les partenaires allemands, britanniques et estoniens, qui étudieront, sur les plans scientifique et pratique, les aspects environnementaux, socioéconomiques et techniques de cette nouvelle approche. L’Union européenne soutient le projet dans le cadre du programme de politique et de gouvernance environnementale LIFE+.

Les participants à PROGRASS sont l’Université de Kassel (coordinateur), l’Université de Bonn, l’Université estonienne de sciences de la vie, l’Institut des prairies et de recherche environnementales du Pays de Galles, la région du Vogelsberg, le Ministère régional de l’environnement de Hesse et des partenaires industriels impliqués dans l’application.

Source: BE Allemagne

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *