First direct measurement of the temperature of a cavitation bubble

Share this article with your friends:

Sonoluminescence - this phenomenon by which air bubbles in a liquid taken emit a flash of light under the effect of acoustic waves - has been described by scientists for a long time. But its mechanisms remain unknown.

David Flannigan and Kenneth Suslick of the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, took a further step in understanding the process managing to create a single argon bubble in a sulfuric acid solution. Under the action of sound waves of frequencies above 18000 cycles per second, the bubble is first dilated before reaching its limits and then rapidly collapse. It was during this last stage we observe light emission. Through their work, the two researchers were able to obtain a spectrum 3000 times brighter than previous experiments. This allowed them to make a more detailed analysis of the event. According to their action, the local temperature reached 15000 Kelvin, several times the surface temperature of the sun. But the more remarkable is the argon atoms and oxygen detecting high energy ionized during the experiment.

A result that traditional chemical and thermal reactions do not explain and that the authors of the research therefore attribute to the collision of atoms with electrons and ions of very high energy hot plasma as formed in the core of the bubble. If these data are confirmed, they would constitute the first direct detection of plasma associated with the sonoluminescence.

NYT 15 / 03 / 04 (Tiny bubbles implode with
the heat of a star) http://www.nytimes.com/2005/03/15/science/15soni.html

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Première mesure directe de la température d’une bulle de cavitation

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

La sonoluminescence – ce phénomène par lequel des bulles d’air prises dans un liquide émettent un flash de lumière sous l’action d’ondes acoustiques – a été décrite par les scientifiques depuis longtemps. Mais ses mécanismes restent encore mal connus.

David Flannigan et Kenneth Suslick, de l’University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, ont franchi une nouvelle étape dans la compréhension du processus en réussissant à créer une unique bulle d’argon dans une solution d’acide sulfurique. Sous l’action des ondes sonores de fréquences supérieures à 18000 cycles par seconde, la bulle s’est d’abord dilatée avant d’atteindre ses limites pour ensuite rapidement s’effondrer. C’est lors de cette dernière étape qu’on observe l’émission de lumière. Grâce à leurs travaux, les deux chercheurs sont parvenus à obtenir un spectre 3000 fois plus lumineux que les précédentes expériences. Cela leur a permis de faire une analyse plus fine de l’événement. Selon leurs mesures, la température locale a atteint les 15000 Kelvin, soit plusieurs fois la température à la surface du Soleil. Mais le plus remarquable est la détection d’atomes d’argon et d’oxygène ionisés hautement énergétiques au cours de l’expérience.

Un résultat que les réactions chimiques et thermiques traditionnelles ne suffisent pas à expliquer et que les auteurs de la recherche attribuent donc à la collision des atomes avec des électrons et des ions de très hautes énergies sous forme de plasma très chaud formé dans le noyau de la bulle. Si ces données étaient confirmées, elles constitueraient la première détection directe d’un plasma associé à la sonoluminescence.

NYT 15/03/04 (Tiny bubbles implode with
the heat of a star) http://www.nytimes.com/2005/03/15/science/15soni.html

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *