Why it does not go wrong?

Share this article with your friends:

Test, Editions Fayard, Transversales Collection directed by Jacques Robin and Joël de Rosnay

At the heart of the incredible and terrifying abuse that mankind practice his own regard, there is fear and unhappiness: the 1 000 billion dollars annually spent on armament, what are they, if not the price of fear and domination? The 500 billion spent on drugs and narcotics, as they are, if the prices paid an increasing number of people to forget their own lives as too hard or too bland? And 500 billion in annual advertising spending, what do they mean when we know that only a fifth of that amount sufficient to effectively combat famine, to ensure access to water and basic health care for all living humans on this planet?

This is not to show catastrophism to say that humanity risk of prematurely end his own adventure because of its inability to deal with environmental challenges, social, financial or cultural factors that threaten it.

But these challenges can be an opportunity, as was the case in the biological process of evolution, a qualitative leap, cultural and political this time in the way of his own humanization.

The relationship between personal transformation and collective transformation is no longer expressed by the old opposition of mental or structural reforms. It is in the complementarity of a dynamic tension between these two transformative approaches that the two reforms must be thought and conducted. It is no longer just a question of dreaming of another possible world. We must recognize and give life to other ways of being in the world already present but which we do not see. It is a qualitative mutation of democracy, combining the best of passion and human reason, that we must succeed, democracy being for a human collectivity the equivalent of the "work on oneself" that an individual quest for wisdom.
Patrick Viveret, philosopher, is advisor to the Court of Auditors. He is the author of Rethinking wealth (Éditions de l'Aube). Former editor of Science Culture Transversal, it also hosts the International Centre Pierre Mendes France and was one of the founders of the association Interactions, personal transformation, social transformation.

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Pourquoi ça ne va pas plus mal ?

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Essai, Editions Fayard, Collection Transversales dirigée par Jacques Robin et Joël de Rosnay

Au cœur de l’incroyable et terrifiante maltraitance que l’humanité pratique à son propre égard, il y a de la peur et du mal de vivre : les 1 000 milliards de dollars annuels dépensés pour l’armement, que sont-ils, sinon le prix de la peur et de la domination ? Les 500 milliards dépensés pour les drogues et les stupéfiants, que sont-ils, sinon le prix que paient un nombre croissant d’êtres humains pour oublier leur propre vie jugée trop dure ou trop fade ? Et les 500 milliards de dépenses annuelles de publicité, que signifient-ils quand on sait que seulement un cinquième de cette somme suffirait à combattre efficacement les famines, à assurer l’accès à l’eau et aux soins de base pour tous les humains vivant sur cette planète ?

Ce n’est pas faire preuve de catastrophisme que de dire que l’humanité risque de voir se terminer prématurément sa propre aventure du fait de son incapacité à traiter les grands défis écologiques, sociaux, financiers ou culturels qui la menacent.

Mais ces défis peuvent être aussi l’occasion, comme ce fut le cas au cours du processus biologique de l’hominisation, d’un saut qualitatif, culturel et politique cette fois dans la voie de sa propre humanisation.

Le rapport entre transformation personnelle et transformation collective ne s’exprime plus par la vieille opposition des réformes de mentalité ou de structure. C’est dans la complémentarité d’une tension dynamique entre ces deux approches transformatrices que les deux réformes doivent êtres pensées et conduites. Il ne s’agit plus seulement de rêver d’un autre monde possible. Il faut reconnaître et faire vivre d’autres manières d’être au monde déjà présentes mais que nous ne voyons pas. C’est une mutation qualitative de la démocratie, alliant le meilleur de la passion et de la raison humaine, qu’il nous faut réussir, la démocratie étant pour une collectivité humaine l’équivalent du  » travail sur soi  » que mène un individu en quête de sagesse.
Patrick Viveret, philosophe, est conseiller à la Cour des comptes. Il est notamment l’auteur de Reconsidérer la richesse (Éditions de l’Aube). Ancien rédacteur en chef de Transversales Science Culture, il anime également le Centre international Pierre Mendès France et a été l’un des fondateurs de l’association Interactions, transformation personnelle, transformation sociale.

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *