Particulate pollution declining in the US

Share this article with your friends:

Between 1999 and 2003, levels of suspended particles in the air have decreased in the United States: to 10% for fine particles of less than 2,5 microns in diameter (PM2,5) - the most dangerous to health - and 7 % for those with less than 10 microns (PM10).
On 25 years, these declines even reach the 30%, according to estimates by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), which publishes this week an inventory of particulate pollution across the territory (http://www.epa.gov/airtrends/).

But if the overall trend is positive, local situations appear very variable. The Los Angeles area, for example, California remains the most polluted in the country despite significant progress. While in the Northeast, PM2,5 rates have increased due to auto and industrial emissions. According to the EPA, the improvements noted in the Southeast and Midwest would be largely the Acid Rain Program of the fruit that has reduced to 33 1990 and 2003% in emissions of sulfur dioxide from power plants.

The agency also hopes that the implementation of the Clean Air Diesel Rule Nonroad, specifying the standards of fine particles, and the finalization of the Clean Air Interstate Rule will strengthen the results so far. Environmental movements meanwhile, while welcoming the government report, denouncing the repeated delays in the adoption of stricter rules, especially in the energy sector.

LAT 15 / 12 / 04 (US registers drop in levels of fine-particle pollution) http://www.latimes.com/

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

La pollution particulaire en baisse aux Etats-Unis

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Entre 1999 et 2003, les niveaux de particules en suspension dans l'air ont diminué aux Etats-Unis : de 10% pour les particules fines de moins de 2,5 microns de diamètre (PM2,5) – les plus dangereuses  pour la santé – et de 7% pour celles de moins de 10 microns (PM10).
Sur 25 ans, ces baisses atteindraient même les 30%, selon les estimations de l'Agence de Protection de l'Environnement (EPA), qui publie cette semaine un état des lieux de la pollution particulaire à travers le territoire (http://www.epa.gov/airtrends/).

Mais si la tendance globale est positive, les situations locales apparaissent très variables. La région de Los Angeles par exemple, en Californie, reste la plus polluée du pays malgré des progrès significatifs. Tandis que  dans le Nord-Est, les taux de PM2,5 ont augmenté en raison des émissions automobiles et industrielles. Selon l'EPA, les améliorations constatées dans le Sud-Est et le Midwest seraient largement le fruit  du programme Acid Rain qui a permis de réduire de 33% entre 1990 et 2003 les émissions de dioxyde de soufre des centrales électriques.

 L'agence espère par ailleurs que l'application de la Clean Air Nonroad Diesel Rule, précisant les normes de particules fines, et la finalisation de la Clean Air Interstate Rule permettront de renforcer les résultats obtenus jusqu'à présent. Les mouvements écologiques quant à eux, tout en saluant le rapport gouvernemental, dénoncent des retards à répétition dans l'adoption de règles plus strictes, notamment dans le secteur de l'énergie.

LAT 15/12/04 (U.S. registers drop in levels of fine-particle pollution) http://www.latimes.com/

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *