New petrol engine: VCR, motors with variable compression ratio


Share this article with your friends:

Introduction on engines with variable compression ratio and interest overview Adrian CLENCI and Pierre PODEVIN. University of Pitesti, Romania. Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers in Paris, France

Introduction

One of the essential features of the automobile engine is its wide operating range in terms of speeds and loads. The full load "foot to the floor" is rare, the use of the motor is mainly done in partial loads. The maximum efficiency of the spark ignition engine, which is about 30%, does not exceed 10 at 15% at low partial loads. It is this last case which is mainly met, 80 at 90% of the time, in urban use of the vehicle.

To overcome this deficit, we must seek constructive solutions that achieve operation in this interval a significant increase in yield. One of them consists in a variation of the compression ratio by varying the volume of the combustion chamber.


More:
- a video presentation of the MCE-5, variable compression ratio engine developed in France
- MCE5, VRC-i mounted on a Peugeot 407

Download file (a newsletter subscription may be required): New petrol engine: VCR, motors with variable compression ratio

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Nouvelle motorisation essence: VCR, moteurs à taux de compression variable

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Introduction sur les moteurs à taux de compression variable: intérêt et présentation générale par Adrian CLENCI et Pierre PODEVIN. Université de Pitesti, Roumanie. Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers de Paris, France

Introduction

Un des particularités essentielle du moteur d’automobile est sa grande plage de fonctionnement en terme de régimes et de charges. La pleine charge « pied au plancher » est rare, l’utilisation du moteur s’effectue principalement en charges partielles. Le rendement maximum du moteur à allumage commandé qui est d’environ 30%, ne dépasse pas 10 à 15% aux faibles charges partielles. C’est ce dernier cas qui est principalement rencontré, 80 à 90% du temps, en utilisation urbaine du véhicule.

Pour pallier ce déficit, il faut chercher les solutions constructives qui permettent d’obtenir dans cet intervalle de fonctionnement une augmentation significative du rendement. L’une d’elles consiste en une variation du rapport volumétrique de compression par la variation du volume de la chambre de combustion.

En savoir plus:
une vidéo de présentation du MCE-5, moteur à taux de compression variable développé en France
MCE5, VRC-i monté sur une peugeot 407

Télécharger le fichier (une inscription à la Newsletter peut être requise): Nouvelle motorisation essence: VCR, moteurs à taux de compression variable

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *