MINOS in the starting blocks

Share this article with your friends:

After ten years of preparation, the MINOS experiment (Main Injector Neutrino Oscillation Search) is about to start. By the end of the month, the particle accelerator Main Injector the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Illinois) will begin producing a neutrino beam for illuminating the science of the secrets of these particles with no electric charge and a mass least a million times lighter than the lightest charged particles.

The generated beam, called Numi, will be directed to a 6000 tons detector located near 700 kilometers away, in the depths of the old iron mine Sudan, northeastern Minnesota. Each year, over one trillion neutrinos pass through the Soudan Underground Laboratory after a journey of just two milliseconds and a half. Most will continue their run without change but some 1500 year will collide with
atoms inside the detector, allowing researchers to better study their characteristics, suggested link with the mysterious dark matter and how these particles - which exist in three states called electronic flavor, muon and tau - go to a variety into another.

Scheduled for a period of five years, the MINOS experiment involves 32 institutions across Brazil, France, Greece, Russia, the UK and the US. The US Department of Energy (DOE), to which the Fermilab, funded a large part of 181 million project.

USAT 11 / 02 / 05 (Minnesota neutrino project to get under way this month)
http://www.usatoday.com/tech/science/mathscience/2005-02-11-neutrino-detector_x.htm
http://www.fnal.gov/pub/about/public_affairs/neutrinos/index.html

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

MINOS dans les starting-blocks

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Après dix ans de préparation, l’expérience MINOS (Main Injector Neutrino Oscillation Search) est sur le point de démarrer. D’ici la fin du mois, l’accélérateur de particules Main Injector du Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Illinois) commencera à produire un faisceau de neutrinos destiné à éclairer les scientifiques sur les secrets de ces particules sans charge électrique et d’une masse au moins un million de fois plus légère que la plus légère des particules chargées.

 Le faisceau généré, appelé NuMI, sera dirigé vers un détecteur de 6000 tonnes situé à près de 700 kilomètres de là, dans les profondeurs de l’ancienne mine de fer Soudan, au Nord-Est du Minnesota. Chaque année, plus de mille milliards de neutrinos passeront à travers le Soudan Underground Laboratory après un voyage d’à peine deux millisecondes et demi. La plupart continueront leur course sans changement mais quelques 1500 par an entreront en collision avec
des atomes à l’intérieur du détecteur, permettant aux chercheurs de mieux étudier leurs caractéristiques, leur lien suggéré avec la mystérieuse matière noire et la façon dont ces particules – qui existent en trois états de saveur dits électronique, muonique et tau – passent d’une variété à une autre.

Programmée pour une durée de cinq ans, l’expérience MINOS implique 32 institutions réparties au Brésil, en France, en Grèce, en Russie, au Royaume-Uni et aux Etats-Unis. Le Département américain de l’Energie (DOE), dont dépend le Laboratoire Fermi, a financé une grande part des 181 millions de dollars du projet.

USAT 11/02/05 (Minnesota neutrino projet to get under way this month)
http://www.usatoday.com/tech/science/mathscience/2005-02-11-neutrino-detector_x.htm
http://www.fnal.gov/pub/about/public_affairs/neutrinos/index.html

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *