A mixture of gas and hydrogen to fuel the future?


Share this article with your friends:

The Clean Gas project, conducted within the Network of Excellence AUTO21 Centre, may soon turn our engines to gas and hydrogen.

CLEAN GAS, referring to his English name: Combustion of Low-Emission Automotive-tailored Natural GAS, is led by Dr. Steven Rogak, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of British Columbia and holds a Chair research on clean energy systems.

Among the most promising fuels for vehicles, hydrogen looks good, though its production costs do not make it attractive enough that it can be used as the sole source of energy. In contrast, natural gas is more abundant, but it is not completely clean, and its exhaust would require the same treatment as that which is applied to conventional fuels.

By against a mixture of natural gas and hydrogen could be a winning combination that rival what is found today in a service station. The first tests have shown that by mixing hydrogen with natural gas, in a proportion of about eight percent by energy content, it is possible to reduce hydrocarbon emissions and about half of the particles.


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Un mélange de gaz et d’hydrogène pour carburant du futur ?

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Le projet Clean Gas, mené au sein du Centre de Réseau d’Excellence AUTO21, pourrait bientôt faire tourner nos moteurs au gaz et à l’hydrogène.

CLEAN GAS, en référence à son nom anglais: Combustion of Low-Emission Automotive-tailored Natural GAS, est dirigé par le Dr Steven Rogak, professeur agrégé en génie mécanique à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et titulaire d’une chaire de recherche sur les systèmes d’énergie propre.

Parmi les carburants les plus prometteurs pour les véhicules, l’hydrogène fait bonne figure, cependant ses coûts de production ne le rendent pas assez attrayant pour que l’on puisse l’utiliser comme seule source d’énergie. Au contraire, le gaz naturel est beaucoup plus abondant, mais il n’est pas totalement propre, ainsi ses gaz d’échappement nécessiteraient le même traitement que celui que l’on applique aux carburants conventionnels.

Par contre un mélange de gaz naturel et d’hydrogène pourrait bien être une combinaison gagnante qui rivaliserait avec ce que l’on trouve aujourd’hui dans une station-service. Les premiers essais ont montré qu’en mélangeant de l’hydrogène au gaz naturel, dans une proportion d’environ huit pour cent par contenu énergétique, il est possible de réduire les émissions d’hydrocarbures et de particules de moitié environ.

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *