The material of the vacuum


Share this article with your friends:

The laser intensity will gush matter vacuum Michel Alberganti

Keywords: energy, empty, material creation, particles, antimatter

The biography of the equation E = mc 2 is far from complete. Laremarquable illustration given in the documentary fiction broadcast by Arte on Sunday, October 16 (A biography of the equation E = mc2, Gary Johnstone) could soon experience an exciting new chapter. In Applied Optics Laboratory (LOA), common to the National School of Advanced Technologies (Ensta) at the Ecole Polytechnique and CNRS, Palaiseau (Essonne), Gérard Mourou is approaching when he will bring forth of matter from the void ...

"Void is the mother of all matter," he says with a certain jubilation. In the perfect state, "it contains a gigantic quantity of particles per cm3 ... and just as many antiparticles". Hence a zero sum that leads to this apparent absence of matter that we name ... emptiness. What challenge the dictionary definition for which, since the fourteenth century, the latter is a "space that is not occupied by matter." It was to count without the antimatter and without the famous formula E = mc², that Albert Einstein deduced from the special relativity a hundred years ago, in 1905.

Why invert this formula by producing matter from emptiness? For Gérard Mourou, the applications will go from the creation of a new relativistic microelectronics to the study of the Big Bang and the possibility of simulating black holes. What he calls "extreme light" makes it possible to develop proton therapy, able to attack tumors without damaging surrounding cells, a "nuclear pharmacology" and the ability to control the radioactivity of a material with a single button. Not to mention the manufacture of extremely compact accelerators that can compete with the gigantic facilities of CERN Geneva. The control of light is far from having reached its limits. The LOA works with the laser, one of the most spectacular achievements of the discoveries that earned Albert d'Einstein the Nobel Prize in 1921.

Gérard Mourou played a major role in increasing the power of this coherent ray of light obtained for the first time in 1960. In 1985, he developed a method called chirped pulse amplification (CPA) (The World of 8 June 1990). "Overnight, we made a source that stood on a table and whose intensity matched that of facilities the size of a football field," says Gerard Mourou.

beachcomber

Physicists have been struggling for twenty years on the appearance of nonlinear phenomena at intensities of about 1014 W / cm2 (W / cm2) which degraded the wave and caused the destruction of the solids in which the lasers were born. Gérard Mourou used sources producing very short pulses (picosecond, 10- 12 second), one of the characteristics of which was to contain a wide range of frequencies. "To solve the problem, before amplifying the impulse, we stretched it by ordering the photons", indicates the researcher who, to explain the CPA, uses the analogy of a bunch of cyclists facing a tunnel. To avoid a blockage during a crossing of the front, it is necessary to slow down some riders before the obstacle.

Gérard Mourou proceeds in the same way with the frequencies. After separating them, it imposes different paths to each color using a diffraction grating. After the amplification of each frequency, it is "enough" to perform the reverse operation to find a pulse profile identical but much more intense. With the CPA, the intensity has been climbing again to reach ... 1022 W / cm2 today, 1024 W / cm2 in 2006.



"Until a certain value of the intensity, the magnetic component of the incident wave remains negligible compared to its electrical component, explains Gérard Mourou. But from 1018 W / cm2, it exerts a pressure on the electron. The latter, until then subject to a simple "swell", is suddenly swept away by a surging wave that drives him to reach his own speed, that is to say that of the light. We then enter the relativistic nonlinear optics. The torn electrons turn their atoms into ions that "try to retain the electrons, which creates a continuous electric field, that is, electrostatic, of considerable intensity." This transforms the alternating electric field of the incident light wave into a continuous electric field.

This "extraordinary" phenomenon generates a titanic field of 2 teravolts per meter (1012 V / m). "CERN on a meter ...", summarizes Gérard Mourou. At 1023 W / cm2, the electrostatic field will reach 0,6 petavolt per meter (1015 V / m) ...
For comparison, the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) accelerates particles up to 50 gigaelectronvolts (GeV) on 3 km. "In theory, we can do the same on a distance of the order of the diameter of a hair," says the researcher. In his time, Enrico Fermi (1901-1954) believed that to reach the petavolt, the accelerator should go around the Earth.

"The electrons pushed by the light end up pulling the ions behind them," continues Mourou. From now on, the boat carries anchor. The initial light generated a beam of electrons and ions. The LOA has managed to accelerate electrons up to 150 mega-electronvolts (MeV) energies over distances of a few tens of microns. He intends to push first to GeV, and much later.

Mini Big Bang

In parallel with this development that could eventually compete with large particle accelerators, Gérard Mourou said he was very close, still thanks to the huge luminous intensities obtained, to "slam the void", that is to say, to reveal " something "where there was nothing in appearance.

In reality, it is not a magical operation but, "simply", to reveal what was invisible. Theoretical goal is an intensity of 1030 W / cm2. To obtain this value, physicists consider the vacuum as a dielectric, that is to say an insulator. In the same way that a too strong intensity "snaps" a capacitor, it is possible to "slam the vacuum".

But what will happen then? What strange particles will flow they vacuum? Again, the mystery is stale. There will be a couple electron-positron. A particle and its antiparticle, which are lighter and therefore those who, in the words of Einstein, will claim the least energy to be produced. And that minimum is also well known: 1,022 MeV.

Thus, everything seems ready for that matter makes its first appearance from the vacuum in a laboratory. This mini-Big Bang could even happen before the 1030 W / cm2. Mr. Mourou think that using X-rays or gamma rays, it would be possible to reduce the threshold to around 1023 1024 W / cm2. But it is precisely the objective of the LOA for the coming years

Article in 19.10.05 edition of the World


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

La matière du vide

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

L’intensité du laser fera jaillir la matière du vide par Michel Alberganti

Mots clé : énergie, vide, matière, création, particules, antimatière

La biographie de l’équation E = mc 2 est loin d’être complète. Laremarquable illustration qu’en donne le documentaire fiction diffusé par Arte le dimanche 16 octobre (Une biographie de l’équation E = mc2, de Gary Johnstone) pourrait connaître bientôt un nouveau chapitre passionnant. Au laboratoire d’optique appliquée (LOA), commun à l’Ecole nationale supérieure de techniques avancées (Ensta), à l’Ecole polytechnique et au CNRS, de Palaiseau (Essonne), Gérard Mourou se rapproche du moment où il pourra faire jaillir de la matière à partir du vide…

« Le vide est mère de toute matière » , lance-t-il avec une certaine jubilation. A l’état parfait, « il contient une quantité gigantesque de particules par cm3…et tout autant d’antiparticules » . D’où une somme nulle qui conduit à cette apparente absence de matière que nous nommons… le vide. De quoi contester la définition du dictionnaire pour lequel, depuis le XIVe siècle, ce dernier est un « espace qui n’est pas occupé par de la matière » . C’était compter sans l’antimatière et sans la célèbre formule E = mc², qu’Albert Einstein a déduit de la relativité restreinte il y a cent ans, en 1905.

Pourquoi inverser cette formule en produisant de la matière à partir du vide ? Pour Gérard Mourou, les applications iront de la création d’une nouvelle microélectronique relativiste à l’étude du Big Bang et à la possibilité de simuler des trous noirs. Ce qu’il nomme la « lumière extrême » permet de développer la protonthérapie, capable d’attaquer des tumeurs sans détériorer les cellules environnantes, une « pharmacologie nucléaire » et la possibilité de contrôler la radioactivité d’un matériau avec un simple bouton. Sans parler de la fabrication d’accélérateurs extrêmement compacts pouvant concurrencer les gigantesques installations du CERN de Genève. La maîtrise de la lumière est donc loin d’avoir atteint ses limites. Le LOA travaille avec le laser, l’un des aboutissements les plus spectaculaires des découvertes qui ont valu à Albert d’Einstein le prix Nobel en 1921.

Gérard Mourou a joué un rôle majeur dans l’augmentation de la puissance de ce rayon de lumière cohérente obtenu pour la première fois en 1960. En 1985, il a mis au point une méthode baptisée chirped pulse amplification (CPA) (Le Monde du 8 juin 1990). « Du jour au lendemain, nous avons fabriqué une source qui tenait sur une table et dont l’intensité égalait celle d’installations de la taille d’un terrain de football » , explique Gérard Mourou.

Vague déferlante

Les physiciens butaient depuis une vingtaine d’années sur l’apparition de phénomènes non linéaires aux intensités d’environ 1014 W/cm2 (W/cm2) qui dégradaient l’onde et provoquaient la destruction des solides dans lesquels naissaient les lasers. Gérard Mourou utilisait des sources produisant des impulsions très courtes (picoseconde, soit 10- ­ 12 seconde), dont l’une des caractéristiques était de contenir une large gamme de fréquences. « Pour résoudre le problème, avant d’amplifier l’impulsion, nous l’avons étirée en ordonnant les photons » , indique le chercheur qui, pour expliquer la CPA, utilise l’analogie d’un peloton de cyclistes face à un tunnel. Pour éviter un blocage lors d’un passage de front, il faut ralentir certains coureurs avant l’obstacle.

Gérard Mourou procède de même avec les fréquences. Après les avoir séparées, il impose des parcours différents à chaque couleur à l’aide d’un réseau de diffraction. Après l’amplication de chaque fréquence, il « suffit » de réaliser l’opération inverse afin de retrouver une impulsion au profil identique mais beaucoup plus intense. Avec la CPA, l’intensité s’est remise à grimper pour atteindre… 1022 W/cm2 aujourd’hui, 1024 W/cm2 en 2006.

« Jusqu’à une certaine valeur de l’intensité, la composante magnétique de l’onde incidente reste négligeable par rapport à sa composante électrique, explique Gérard Mourou. Mais à partir de 1018 W/cm2, elle exerce une pression sur l’électron. » Ce dernier, jusque-là soumis à une simple « houle », se trouve soudain emporté par une vague déferlante qui l’entraîne jusqu’à lui faire atteindre sa propre vitesse, c’est-à-dire celle de la lumière. On entre alors dans l’optique non linéaire relativiste. Les électrons arrachés transforment leurs atomes en ions qui « tentent de retenir les électrons, ce qui crée un champ électrique continu, c’est-à-dire électrostatique, d’une intensité considérable » . On transforme ainsi le champ électrique alternatif de l’onde lumineuse incidente en champ électrique continu.

Ce phénomène « extraordinaire » engendre un champ titanesque de 2 teravolts par mètre (1012 V/m). « Le CERN sur un mètre… » , résume Gérard Mourou. A 1023 W/cm2, le champ électrostatique atteindra 0,6 petavolt par mètre (1015 V/m)…
A titre de comparaison, le Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) accélère les particules jusqu’à 50 giga-électronvolts (GeV) sur 3 km. « En théorie, nous pourrons faire de même sur une distance de l’ordre du diamètre d’un cheveu » , assure le chercheur. En son temps, Enrico Fermi (1901-1954) estimait que, pour atteindre le petavolt, l’accélérateur devrait faire le tour de la Terre.

« Les électrons poussés par la lumière finissent par tirer les ions derrière eux », poursuit M. Mourou. Désormais, la barque entraîne son ancre. La lumière initiale a engendré un faisceau d’électrons et d’ions. Le LOA est parvenu à accélérer des électrons jusqu’à des énergies de 150 méga-électronvolts (MeV) sur des distances de quelques dizaines de microns. Il compte d’abord pousser jusqu’au GeV, et « beaucoup plus loin ensuite » .

Mini Big-Bang

Parallèlement à ce développement qui pourrait, à terme, concurrencer les grands accélérateurs de particules, Gérard Mourou se dit très proche, toujours grâce aux énormes intensités lumineuses obtenues, de « claquer le vide » , c’est-à-dire de faire apparaître « quelque chose » là où il n’y avait rien en apparence.

En réalité, il ne s’agit pas d’une opération magique mais, « simplement » , de faire apparaître ce qui était invisible. L’objectif théorique est une intensité de 1030 W/cm2. Pour obtenir cette valeur, les physiciens considèrent le vide comme un diélectrique, c’est-à-dire un isolant. De la même façon qu’une intensité trop forte fait « claquer » un condensateur, il est possible de « claquer le vide » .

Mais que se passera-t-il alors ? Quelles particules étranges jailliront-elles du vide ? Là encore, le mystère est éventé. Il s’agira d’un couple électron-positron. Une particule et son antiparticule, qui sont les plus légères et donc celles qui, selon la formule d’Einstein, réclameront le moins d’énergie pour apparaître. Et ce minimum est également parfaitement connu : 1,022 MeV.

Ainsi, tout semble prêt pour que la matière fasse sa première apparition à partir du vide dans un laboratoire. Ce mini-Big Bang pourrait même se produire avant les 1030 W/cm2. M. Mourou pense qu’en faisant appel à des rayons X ou gamma, il serait possible de ramener ce seuil aux alentours de 1023 à 1024 W/cm2. Or c’est justement l’objectif du LOA pour les prochaines années

Article paru dans l’édition du 19.10.05 du Monde

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *