The water law: 3 Articles


Share this article with your friends:

Water Act: the important thing is to believe it ...

"Water is life. This bill aims we have in ten years total quality water (sic) in nature. "Minister of Ecology presented yesterday its water law in Cabinet. And he's so happy he paints a rosy picture of its effects: "This will allow us to have rivers that are both environmentally and alive, rich in fish, a less expensive drinking water. And we can find leisure activities such as swimming in our rivers. "No article of this law is seriously addressing the problem of diffuse pollution, such as nitrates. For Serge Lepeltier, the reform of the CAP (common agricultural policy) will do. The consumer association UFC-Que Choisir believes that the law enshrines the principle of "polluted pays".

Source: www.liberation.fr

The water bill household farmers and irritated environmentalists
by Hervé Kempf

Bill on water presented by the Minister of Ecology and Sustainable Development, Serge Lepeltier, the Council of Ministers of 9 March angry environmentalists and farmers happy.
The challenge: how to ensure a just penalty for water pollution? Farmers are responsible, by their discharges of fertilizers and pesticides, most of the pollution of rivers and aquifers French, but pay only a small share of royalties to the water agencies.
However, water quality is not improving: according to the French Environment Institute (IFEN), pesticides are present in 80% of surface water stations and 57% of those water underground, while nearly half the territory the concentration of nitrates in water exceeds 40 milligrams per liter - the health limit of 50 milligrams. This has earned the France five convictions by the European Court of Justice for non-compliance with Community legislation.
The bill proposes to reorganize the water management system and modify the royalty regime. As it stands, the text operates a grooming than a radical change. Enumerating many technical provisions, it is to not rush the agricultural world, confirming the choice made in the summer 2004.
In July, Hervé Gaymard, then Minister of Agriculture, told West-France that "the Prime Minister, confirming the position of the President of the Republic, has rendered his arbitration: there will be no new tax levied on Farmers ".
It is because the preliminary project of the time still envisaged to extend to intensive crops a "livestock royalty", paid for by the biggest breeders (the nitrates of the water are due to the excrement of the animals, but also to the widespread fertilizers on crops).
"The polluter-pays principle will remain largely unapplied, deplores the association Eaux et Rivières de Bretagne. Consumers will continue to provide 85% of the budget of water agencies, agriculture, which consumes chemical fertilizers and produces slurry, supporting only 4%. "
For its part, the consumer association UFC-Que Choisir "is indignant that after years of consultation the government choose the path of immobilism. The UFC-Que Choisir demands a complete overhaul of the water agencies' fee system, which must oblige the polluter to finance the pollution of which he is the author ".

The landscape maintenance
On the agricultural side, the perception is different. "This project is balanced, says Pascal Ferey, for the FNSEA (National Federation of Farmers' Unions). It does not penalize anyone but makes everyone responsible. According to Mr. Ferey, "we must recognize that beside the polluter-pays principle, there is the farmer-protector principle," the cultivation of land for the maintenance of landscapes.
A view confirmed by the MP (UMP) Jean-Claude Flory, author of a report on water royalties: "It all depends on the places. For example, in Ardèche, farmers do not pollute, but rather play a very positive role against floods, stopping erosion and runoff. "
Another point of the project meets the farmers by promoting, hint, creating small dams to facilitate irrigation. This practice is synonymous with waste for environmentalists. The Senate will begin debating the text in April.

source: LeMonde.fr

Read the article on econology


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

La loi sur l’eau : 3 articles

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Loi sur l’eau : l’important, c’est d’y croire…

«L’eau, c’est la vie. Ce projet de loi a pour objectif que nous ayons d’ici dix ans une eau de totale qualité (sic) dans la nature.» Le ministre de l’Ecologie a présenté hier sa loi sur l’eau en Conseil des ministres. Et il en est si satisfait qu’il dresse un tableau idyllique de ses effets : «Cela nous permettra d’avoir des cours d’eau à la fois écologiques et vivants, riches en poissons, une eau potable moins coûteuse. Et puis, nous allons pouvoir retrouver des activités de loisir telles que se baigner dans nos rivières.» Aucun article de cette loi ne s’attaque sérieusement au problème des pollutions diffuses, tels les nitrates. Pour Serge Lepeltier, la réforme de la PAC (politique agricole commune) s’en chargera. L’association de consommateurs UFC-Que choisir estime que la loi consacre le principe du «pollué-payeur».

Source : www.liberation.fr

Le projet de loi sur l’eau ménage les agriculteurs et irrite les écologistes
par Hervé Kempf

Le projet de loi sur l’eau présenté par le ministre de l’écologie et du développement durable, Serge Lepeltier, au conseil des ministres du 9 mars, met en colère les écologistes et satisfait les agriculteurs.
L’enjeu : comment assurer une juste pénalisation des pollutions aquatiques ? Les agriculteurs sont responsables, par leurs rejets d’engrais et de pesticides, de la majeure partie de la pollution des cours d’eau et des nappes phréatiques françaises, mais ne payent qu’une part minime des redevances aux agences de l’eau.
Or, la qualité des eaux ne s’améliore pas : d’après l’Institut français de l’environnement (IFEN), des pesticides sont présents dans 80 % des stations d’eau de surface et dans 57 % de celles d’eau souterraine, tandis que sur près la moitié du territoire la concentration de l’eau en nitrates dépasse 40 milligrammes par litre – la limite sanitaire est de 50 milligrammes. Cette situation a valu à la France cinq condamnations par la Cour européenne de justice pour non-respect des textes communautaires.
Le projet de loi propose de réorganiser le système de gestion des eaux et de modifier le régime des redevances. En l’état, le texte opère un toilettage plus qu’un changement radical. Enumérant de nombreuses dispositions techniques, il vise à ne pas brusquer le monde agricole, confirmant le choix opéré à l’été 2004.
En juillet, Hervé Gaymard, alors ministre de l’agriculture, avait déclaré à Ouest-France que « le premier ministre, confirmant la position du président de la République, a rendu son arbitrage : il n’y aura pas de nouvelle taxe prélevée sur les agriculteurs ».
C’est que l’avant-projet de l’époque envisageait encore d’étendre aux cultures intensives une « redevance élevage », payée par les plus grands éleveurs (les nitrates des eaux sont dus aux déjections des animaux, mais aussi aux engrais répandus sur les cultures).
« Le principe pollueur-payeur restera très largement inappliqué, déplore l’association Eaux et Rivières de Bretagne. Les consommateurs continueront d’assurer 85 % du budget des agences de l’eau, l’agriculture, qui consomme les engrais chimiques et produit les lisiers, n’en supportant que 4 %. »
De son côté, l’association de consommateur UFC-Que Choisir « s’indigne qu’après des années de concertation le gouvernement choisisse la voie de l’immobilisme. L’UFC-Que Choisir demande une refonte totale du système de redevance des agences de l’eau qui doit obliger le pollueur à financer la pollution dont il est l’auteur ».

L’entretien des paysages
Du côté agricole, la perception est différente. « Ce projet est équilibré, dit Pascal Ferey, pour la FNSEA (Fédération nationale des syndicats d’exploitants agricoles). Il ne pénalise personne mais responsabilise tous les acteurs. » Selon M. Ferey, « il faut reconnaître qu’à côté du principe pollueur-payeur, il y a le principe agriculteur-protecteur », la culture des terres permettant l’entretien des paysages.
Un point de vue confirmé par le député (UMP) Jean-Claude Flory, auteur d’un rapport sur les redevances sur l’eau : « Tout dépend des endroits. Par exemple, en Ardèche, les agriculteurs ne polluent pas, mais jouent au contraire un rôle très positif contre les inondations, en stoppant l’érosion et le ruissellement. »
Un autre point du projet satisfait les agriculteurs en favorisant, à demi-mot, la création de retenues collinaires facilitant l’irrigation. Cette pratique est synonyme de gaspillage pour les écologistes. Le Sénat commencera à débattre du texte en avril.

Source : LeMonde.fr

Lire l’article sur econologie

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *