The glaciers of the Antarctic Peninsula down

Share this article with your friends:

An Anglo-American team in the journal Science reveals that coastal glaciers of the Antarctic Peninsula have lost ground over the last fifty years.

Researchers from the British Antarctic Survey (BAS) and the US Geological Survey (USGS) analyzed more than 2000 aerial photographs taken between 1940 and 2000 and a hundred satellite images dating back to 1960 years to present (via Argon , Landsat 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 MSS, Landsat TM 4 and 5, 1 and 2 ERS, RADARSAT and ASTER).

This helped to map with a resolution of the order of thirty meters and a positional accuracy of about 130 meters. Of the studied glaciers 244, 87 600% declined meters on average since the 1950 years (the other, irregularly distributed, with slightly increased), at a rate that is accelerating 50 meters per year for five years.

In fact, 1945 in 1954, 62% of these glaciers were growing, but the trend has changed from 1954 to achieve a retirement rate of 75% in 2004 (percentages based on average changes calculated with 95% of trust). The American Jane Ferrigno and his colleagues also noted a distinct difference depending on the location of the glaciers, those located in the northern part of the peninsula (warmer) being the most affected by the melting. Specifically, considering the isotherms to -5 -9 ° C and ° C as known in 2000, the glaciers in the coldest area were unchanged, those between -5 ° C -9 ° C decreased, whereas there is none in the hottest area (beyond -5 ° C). This particular distribution induces a link with atmospheric warming experienced by the area since 1950 (+ 2 ° C), but the team is cautious and does not want to make this warming solely responsible for the glacier retreat (of as a slowing of decline in certain areas between 1985 and 1994 not match any on cooling). Response mechanisms of these ice monsters to climate change are indeed complex and other parameters must be considered, such as ocean temperature and the amount of rainfall.

There remains a clear conclusion: the retreat of Antarctic glaciers is superior to what we thought.

WP 22 / 04 / 05 (Study Says Antarctic glaciers are shrinking, sea levels May
climb) / FT 21 / 04 / 05 (Retreat of Antarctic ice gathers pace)

http://www.aaas.org/news/releases/2005/0421glaciers.shtml

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Les glaciers de la péninsule antarctique en recul

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Une équipe anglo-américaine révèle dans la revue Science que les glaciers côtiers de la péninsule antarctique ont perdu du terrain au cours des cinquante dernières années.

Les chercheurs du British Antarctic Survey(BAS) et de l’U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)ont analysé plus de 2000 photographies aériennes prises entre 1940 et 2000 ainsi qu’une centaine d’images satellites datant des années 1960 à nos jours (via Argon, LANDSAT 1, 2, 3, 4 et 5 MSS, LANDSAT 4 et 5 TM, ERS 1 et 2, RADARSAT et ASTER).

Cela a permis d’établir une cartographie avec une résolution de l’ordre de la trentaine de mètres et une précision de localisation de l’ordre de 130 mètres. Sur les 244 glaciers étudiés, 87% ont reculé de 600 mètres en moyenne depuis les années 1950 (les autres, irrégulièrement répartis, ayant faiblement progressé), à un rythme qui s’accélère de 50 mètres par an depuis cinq ans.

En fait, de 1945 à 1954, 62% de ces glaciers étaient en progression, mais la tendance a changé à partir de 1954 pour atteindre un taux de retraite de 75% en 2004 (ces pourcentages reposant sur des variations moyennes calculées avec 95% de confiance). L’Américaine Jane Ferrigno et ses collègues ont par ailleurs noté une très nette différence suivant l’emplacement des glaciers, ceux situés dans la partie Nord de la péninsule (plus chaude) étant les plus touchés par la fonte. Plus précisément, si l’on considère les isothermes à -5°C et à -9°C tels que connus en 2000, les glaciers situés dans la zone la plus froide n’ont pas varié, ceux situés entre -5°C et -9°C ont diminué, tandis qu’il n’y en a pas dans la zone la plus chaude (au-delà de -5°C). Cette distribution particulière induit un lien avec le réchauffement atmosphérique qu’a connu cette zone depuis 1950 (+2°C), mais l’équipe reste prudente et ne souhaite pas faire de ce réchauffement l’unique responsable du recul des glaciers (d’autant qu’un ralentissement du recul dans certaines zones entre 1985 et 1994 ne correspond à aucun refroidissement relatif). Les mécanismes de réponse de ces monstres de glace aux changements climatiques sont en effet complexes et d’autres paramètres doivent encore être pris en compte, comme la température des océans et l’importance des précipitations.

Il n’en reste pas moins une conclusion claire : le recul des glaciers antarctiques s’avère supérieur à ce que l’on estimait.

WP 22/04/05 (Study says Antarctic glaciers are shrinking, sea levels may
climb) / FT 21/04/05 (Retreat of Antarctic ice gathers pace)

http://www.aaas.org/news/releases/2005/0421glaciers.shtml

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *