The currents of the Atlantic Ocean, concern.


Share this article with your friends:

The radiator of Europe he may fall down? Thermohaline circulation, through which warm water from the south back the Atlantic Ocean to the north, bringing mild weather in Europe show signs of weakness, according to a new study published today in the journal Nature. These ocean currents are closely monitored and several studies have attempted to measure their progress. The study of climate over thousands of years found that stopping or acceleration of that ocean circulation was involved in major climate changes.

Harry Bryden of the National Oceanography Centre Southampton (UK), and colleagues sailed between the Bahamas and Canary spring 2004 study to measure the currents that form the 'meridional overturning circulation' of the Atlantic Ocean. Comparable measurements in 1957, 1981, 1992 or 1998 had revealed little change, says Bryden. In contrast, the campaign of 2004 shows that all of the thermohaline circulation has slowed 30%. If the Gulf Stream, on the surface, little change, the deeper currents would have declined 50%.

The researchers temper their results by emphasizing that it is difficult to know whether this is a short- or long-term trend. Sensors were installed in 25 different points of the subtropical Atlantic to monitor deep currents, specify the journal Nature. Monitoring should provide new results in the coming years.

source


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Les courants de l’océan Atlantique, source d’inquiétude.

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Le radiateur de l’Europe risque-t-il de tomber en panne? La circulation thermohaline, grâce à laquelle des eaux chaudes venues du sud remontent l’océan Atlantique vers le nord, apportant une météo clémente sur l’Europe, montrent des signes de faiblesse, selon une nouvelle étude publiée aujourd’hui dans la revue Nature. Ces courants océaniques sont surveillés de près et plusieurs travaux ont tenté de mesurer leur évolution. L’étude du climat sur plusieurs milliers d’années a révélé que l’arrêt ou l’accélération de cette circulation océanique était impliquée dans des changements climatiques majeurs.

Harry Bryden, du Centre océanographique national de Southampton (GB), et ses collègues ont navigué entre les Bahamas et les Canaries au printemps 2004 pour mesurer étudier ces courants qui forment la ‘’circulation méridionale de renversement’’ de l’océan Atlantique. Des mesures comparables réalisées en 1957, 1981, 1992 ou 1998 avaient révélé peu de changements, explique Bryden. En revanche, la campagne de 2004 montre que l’ensemble de la circulation thermohaline a ralenti de 30%. Si le Gulf Stream, en surface, évolue peu, les courants les plus profonds auraient diminué de 50%.

Les chercheurs tempèrent leurs résultats en soulignant qu’il est difficile de savoir s’il s’agit là d’une tendance à court ou à long terme. Des capteurs ont été installés en 25 points différents de l’Atlantique subtropical pour surveiller les courants profonds, précisent la revue Nature. Cette surveillance devrait fournir de nouveaux résultats dans les années qui viennent.

Source

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *