Bacteria do not like nanoparticles


Share this article with your friends:

Fullerenes (C60) would be a good risk to ecosystems, according to the latest work of a team of Rice University (Texas) and the Georgia Institute of Technology published in Environmental Science & Technology Journal.

These quasi-spherical form of carbon nanoparticles are increasingly used in industry (Frontier Carbon Corporation believes that production should be around 10 tons per year by 2007) and the question of their impact on the environment is debate. With less than a few picograms per liter solubility, fullerenes are generally considered to be poorly soluble in polar solvents like water, so little dangerous. However John Fortner and his colleagues were able to show that under certain conditions depending eg pH, C60 can form colloidal aggregates baptized nano-C60.

These new structures, with a diameter of at 25 500 nm are therefore much more soluble with rates of up to 100 milligrams per liter. Moreover
is, they are perfectly stable for at least 15 weeks in medium ionic strength less than 0,05, which is the case of most natural waters. By studying their effects in solution on two types of prokaryotic (e. Coli and B. subtilis), the researchers found slower growth of bacterial cultures, both in aerobic than anaerobic, for a concentration of nano-C60 over 0,5 parts per million. If these results are confirmed, it would probably, as recommended by the team reviewing pollution standards C60 (currently based on those of graphite) taking into account their possible interaction with the environment.

It should be noted that other teams contest these conclusions.

WP 16 / 05 / 05 (Bacteria and buckyball clumps)

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/05/15/AR2005051500941_2.html
http://pubs.acs.org/subscribe/journals/esthag-w/2005/may/science/rp_nanocrystals.html


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Les bactéries n’aiment pas les nanoparticules

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Les fullerènes (C60) constitueraient bien un risque pour les écosystèmes, selon les derniers travaux d’une équipe de la Rice University (Texas) et du Georgia Institute of Technology publiées dans le journal Environmental Science & technology.

Ces nanoparticules de carbone de forme quasi-sphérique sont de plus en plus utilisées dans l’industrie (Frontier Carbon Corporation estime que leur production devrait avoisiner les 10 tonnes par an d’ici 2007) et la question de leur impact sur l’environnement fait débat. Avec une solubilité inférieure à quelques picogrammes par litre, les fullerènes sont en général considérées comme peu solubles dans des solvants polaires comme l’eau, donc peu dangereuses. Cependant John Fortner et ses collègues ont pu montrer que, dans certaines conditions dépendant par exemple du pH, les C60 peuvent former des agrégats colloïdaux baptisés nano-C60.

Ces nouvelles structures, d’un diamètre de 25 à 500 nm, sont dès lors nettement plus solubles avec des taux pouvant atteindre les 100 milligrammes par litre. Qui plus
est, elles sont parfaitement stables durant au moins 15 semaines en milieu de force ionique inférieure à 0,05, ce qui est le cas de la plupart des eaux naturelles. En étudiant leurs effets en solution sur deux types de procaryotes (l’E. Coli et B. Subtilis), les chercheurs ont observé une croissance ralentie des cultures bactériennes, aussi bien en aérobie qu’en anaérobie, pour une concentration en nano-C60 de plus de 0,5 parties par million. Si ces résultats étaient confirmés, il faudrait sans doute, comme le préconise l’équipe, réviser les normes de pollution en C60 (actuellement calquées sur celles du graphite) en tenant compte de leur possible interaction avec l’environnement.

Il convient toutefois de noter que d’autres équipes contestent ces conclusions.

WP 16/05/05 (Bacteria and buckyball clumps)

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/05/15/AR2005051500941_2.html
http://pubs.acs.org/subscribe/journals/esthag-w/2005/may/science/rp_nanocrystals.html

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *