Innovation in the field of light emitting diodes

Share this article with your friends:

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute researchers have developed light emitting diodes (or LEDs) white light with better luminous efficiency without consuming more energy.
Many marketed today LEDs combine semiconductor components monochromatic radiation to the phosphor emitting photons in a complementary color (which provides a visible white light).

However, more than half of the photons emitted by the phosphor are reabsorbed by the LED, decreasing the amount of light generated. By varying the distance between the phosphor and the semiconductor as well as the geometry of the LED lens, Nadarajah Narendran and colleagues were able to release usually absorbed photons.

Prototypes of SPE diodes (Scattered Photon Extractors) set developed by scientists have achieved under low current, greater than 80 lumens per watt luminous efficacy (lm / W), against 60 lm / W for a lamp fluorescent and 14 lm / W with a conventional incandescent lamp.

The lighting industry said solid state (SSL), which covers applications
varied (signage, street lighting, etc.), has set a target of 150 lm / W by 2012. The US Department of Energy (DOE) for its view that the spread of LEDs, known for their safety, strength and effectiveness, could reduce national energy consumption by 29 2025%. This work, published on the newspaper's website Physica Status Solidi (a), were funded by the Building Technologies Lighting R & D Program of the DOE and the National Energy Technology Laboratory.

USAT 14 / 04 / 05
(LED Evolution Could spell the end for light bulbs) http://www.usatoday.com


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Innovation dans le domaine des diodes électroluminescentes

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Des chercheurs du Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute ont développé des diodes électroluminescentes (ou DEL) à lumière blanche possédant une meilleure efficacité lumineuse sans consommer plus d’énergie.
Beaucoup de DEL aujourd’hui commercialisées combinent des composants semiconducteurs au rayonnement monochromatique à du phosphore émettant des photons d’une couleur complémentaire (ce qui permet d’obtenir une lumière blanche visible).

Cependant, plus de la moitié des photons émis par le phosphore sont réabsorbés par la DEL, diminuant la quantité de lumière générée. En jouant sur la distance entre le phosphore et le semiconducteur ainsi que sur la géométrie de la lentille des DEL, Nadarajah Narendran et ses collègues ont réussi à libérer les photons habituellement absorbés.

Les prototypes de diodes SPE (pour Scattered Photon Extration) mises point par les scientifiques ont ainsi permis d’atteindre, sous faible courant, une efficacité lumineuse supérieure à 80 lumens par watt (lm/W), contre 60 lm/W pour une lampe à fluorescence et 14 lm/W avec une lampe classique à incandescence.

L’industrie de l’éclairage dit à état solide (SSL), qui regroupe des applications
variées (signalisation, éclairage urbain, etc.), s’est fixée un objectif de 150 lm/W d’ici 2012. Le Département américain de l’Energie (DOE) quant à lui estime que la généralisation des DEL, reconnues pour leur sécurité, leur résistance et leur efficacité, pourrait réduire la consommation d’énergie nationale de 29% d’ici 2025. Ces travaux, publiés sur le site du journal Physica Status Solidi (a), ont été financés par le Building Technologies Lighting R&D Program du DOE et le National Energy Technology Laboratory.

USAT 14/04/05
(LED evolution could spell the end for light bulbs) http://www.usatoday.com

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *