Easter Island, a self-destroying people by the depletion of its resources


Share this article with your friends:

Lessons of Easter Island - from the book by Clive Ponting

Easter Island is one of the most remote places and most of uninhabited land. One hundred and sixty square kilometers extending in the Pacific Ocean, three thousand seven hundred kilometers from the Chilean coast and two thousand three hundred kilometers of the inhabited the nearest Pitcairn Island. At its peak, it had only seven thousand inhabitants. Yet despite its apparent insignificance, the history of this island is a stern warning to the world.

The Dutch Admiral Roggeveen was the first European to set foot on Easter Sunday 1722. He discovered a primitive society of some three thousand people who lived in miserable reed huts or caves, in a state of almost permanent war and forced to cannibalism to improve scarce food resources. When the Spaniards in 1770 officially annexed the island, they found in such a state of isolation, poverty and under-stand that no real colonial occupation was never developed. The population continued to decline and living conditions on the island worse: in 1877, Peruvians took him and rédui-sirent enslaved the inhabitants, except for one hundred and ten old men and children. Finally, Chile laid hands on the island and turned it into a giant ranch for forty thousand sheep run by a British company, while it confined in one small village a few natives still present.

Yet amidst this misery and this barbarism, the first European explorers found evidence of a once thriving and developed society: all along the island lay over six hundred high stone statues of at least six meters. When, in the early twentieth century, anthropologists began to study the history and culture of Easter Island. they were in agreement on one point: in any case these sculptures could not be the work of the original population, backward and destitute that the colonists of the eighteenth century had discovered. The famous "mystery" of Easter Island was born ...

soon we walked a range of theories to explain its history. The fancier evoked the visit of aliens or the existence of civilizations lost on continents that sank in the Pacific, leaving any traces this lost island. The less extravagant than the Norwegian archaeologist Thor Heyerdahl, argues that very formerly colonized by South American peoples, the island would have inherited a tradition of monumental sculpture and stone work similar to the great achievements Inca and have declined at a later time, under the repeated assaults of other settlers from the west to cause a series of wars between "long ears" and "short ears". But this theory has never unanimous.

The history of Easter Island has nothing to do with lost civilizations and esoteric explanations. It is however a striking example of how human societies are dependent on their environment and the consequences resulting from the irreversible damage they cause it. That's the story of a people who, in an unfavorable environment, was able build one of the world's most advanced societies, imposing natural resources available considerable demands. When they were no longer able to bear the civilization that had painfully built up over the preceding millennia collapsed with them.

The colonization of Easter Island belongs to the last phase of the long expansion movement of men across the globe during the fifth century AD. The Roman Empire was beginning its decline, China was still in chaos that followed the fall of the Han empire two hundred years ago, India saw the end of the short-lived Gupta empire and the great city of Teothihuacàn dominated almost all of Mesoamerica.

Polynesians them, then finishing to address the vastness of the Pacific Ocean. Came from Southeast Asia, the first of them had reached Tonga and Samoa about the year 1000 BC. J.-C. Of the. They were deployed to the east to the Marquesas Islands around the year AD 300, then the v 'in the ninth century, to Easter Island southeast, Hawaii in the north, Society islands and finally New Zealand. This colonization ended, Polynesians were the most widely used people on Earth, occupying a huge triangle from Hawaii in the north to the southwest NouvelleZélande and Easter Island to the southeast: double the area United States today.

The discoverers of Easter Island landed on a land with few resources. Of volcanic origin, its three volcanoes were extinct for at least four hundred years to their arrival. The temperature as humidity were high and, although the ground was suitable for cultivation, drainage was very bad, especially as the sole source of drinking water came from the lakes in the craters extinct volcanoes. Very isolated, the island was home to some plants and animals: thirty species of native flora, some insects, two types of lizards and not a mammal. The sea surrounding the island was poor in fish.

The arrival of the first humans did little to improve the situation. Animals (pig, dog and Polynesian rat) and crops (yam, taro, breadfruit, banana and coconut) that made the livelihood of their homelands adapting poorly to the harsh climate of their new country, their strength was to be content with a mainly composed of sweet potatoes and chicken diet. Only advantage of this monotonous diet of sweet potato cultivation did not require much effort and largely leaving time for other activities.

We do not know the exact number of these early settlers, but he could hardly exceed thirty. The population grew slowly, gradually adopting the familiar social organization in the rest of Polynesia: a large family group, whose members possessed and cultivated in common the land. These closely related families formed lineages and clans, each with their place of worship. At the head of each clan chief organizing and leading the activities, and supervising the distribution of food and other vital products. This mode of operation, competition and probably conflicts between clans that engendered explain the great achievements of the Easter Island civilization as well as its final collapse.

The villages stood on the entire surface of the island in small groups of huts surrounded by cultivated fields. Social activities were held in separate ceremonial centers occupied part of the year. The main monuments were the ahu, the vast stone platforms similar to those found in other parts of Polynesia. They served at funerals, ancestor worship and commemorations in honor of the departed leaders. Agricultural production mobilizing little energy, the clan leaders had time to look closely at these religious rites. This feature results in the development of Polynesian society the most advanced of all, one of the most complex in the world with the limited resources available to it. The Easter Islanders share most of their time between the elaborate rituals and the construction of religious monuments.

More than three hundred of these platforms were thus built on the island, mainly near the coast. Many of them, built by sophisticated astronomical alignments, oriented towards a solstice or equinox, show a high level of intellectual achievement. At each site rose between one and fifteen monumental stone statues that survive today as the only vestige of the vanished Easter Island society. Carved by obsidian tools in the Rano Raraku quarry, they were designed to represent highly stylized form a male head and torso. The head was crowned with a "bun" of red stone weighing about ten tons from another quarry. The size of the stone was a simple task but lengthy. The biggest challenge was in the transport of these monumental works throughout the island, and their erection on top of the ahu.



The solution found by the islanders to this problem provides the key to the fate that subsequently enjoyed their company. Without draft animals, they had to use a very important human labor to haul the statues using rollers like tree trunks. The first small group came to the fifth century, the population of the island is therefore increased steadily to its peak in 1550, 7 000 the number of inhabitants. The island then were hundreds of ahu on which we had set over six hundred huge stone statues.

Then, suddenly, this civilization collapsed, leaving behind more than half of the unfinished sculptures from the quarry of Rano Raraku.

What had happened? A massive environmental degradation caused by deforestation of the island. When the first Europeans landed there in the eighteenth century, they found it totally cleared with the exception of a handful of isolated trees at the bottom of the deepest crater of the extinct volcano Rano Kao. But recent scientific work, the analysis of pollen types, have shown that fifth century Easter Island had a thick vegetation including thick woods. As the population grew, it was necessary to cut down more trees to provide clearings for agriculture, fuel for heating and cooking, building material for houses, canoes for fishing, and trunks to transport the statues on the kinds of flexible tracks along which the slip were hundreds of workers. In other words we used prodigious amounts of wood. And one day there was enough ...

Deforestation of the island not only sounded the death knell of any social or religious life a little developed: it also had dramatic effects on the daily lives of the population. In 1500 the shortage of trees forced many people to no longer build houses planks but to live in caves and when a century later the wood eventually fail completely, everyone had to fall back on housing cave dug into the hillsides or flimsy reed huts cut from the vegetation from the edge of the crater lakes. More about building canoes: reed boats made it impossible to undertake long journeys.

Fishing also became more difficult as the mulberry wood with which manufactured the nets no more. The disappearance of forest cover still impoverished island soil that was already suffering from a lack of fertilizer suitable animal to replace the nutrients absorbed by crops. Increased exposure to the weather worsened erosion and quickly brought down crop yields. Chickens became the main source of supply. As their numbers increased, it was necessary to protect them from theft. But they could not be enough to live seven thousand inhabitants, and the population rapidly declined.

From 1600, the decadent society of Easter Island regressed to ever more primitive level of life. Private tree and therefore canoes, the islanders found themselves prisoners to thousands of kilometers from their native homeland, unable to escape the consequences of the collapse of their environment which they themselves were responsible. The social and cultural impact of deforestation was equally important. The impossibility of erecting new statues must have had a devastating effect on belief systems and social organization and question the very foundations upon which was built this complex society.

Conflicts multiplied, causing an almost permanent state of war. Slavery became common practice and, as thinned the amount of protein available, people indulged in cannibalism. One of the main objectives of these wars was to destroy the ahu of opposing clans. Most beautiful stone statues were thus gradually slaughtered. Faced with this bleak landscape, facing the ignorance of the islanders who lost over the centuries the memory of their culture, the first Europeans did not understand what a strange civilization could one day flourish on the island. Thousand years, the islanders were able to maintain a lifestyle corresponding to a refined set of social and religious customs that not only allowed them to survive, but to thrive.

This is in many ways a triumph of human ingenuity and an apparent victory over a hostile environment. But ultimately, the growth of the population and the cultural ambitions of the islanders proved too heavy for the limited resources available to them. These exhausted, the company was soon to collapse, causing residents to a level close to barbarism. It was enough for these men, totally isolated from the rest of the world one day for a tour of their small island and understand the vital need to create a good balance with their environment.

Instead, they exploited it as if the opportunities it offered them were unlimited. Worse, even as the shortcomings of the island became cruelly obvious, the struggle between the clans seems to have intensified: one more carved statues in addition to being transported across the island in a final effort to ensure its prestige, even leave a large number unfinished and abandoned near the quarry, without any regard to the alarming shortage of trees such escalation resulted.


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

L’île de Pâques, un peuple auto-détruit par l’épuisement de ses ressources

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Les leçons de l’île de Pâques – extrait du livre de Clive Ponting

L’île de Pâques est l’un des endroits les plus perdus et les plus inhabités de la terre. Cent soixante kilomètres carrés qui s’étendent en plein océan Pacifique, à trois mille sept cents kilo­mètres de la côte chilienne et à deux mille trois cents kilomètres de la terre habitée la plus proche, l’île Pitcairn. À son apogée, elle ne comptait que sept mille habitants. Pourtant, malgré son appa­rente insignifiance, l’histoire de cette île est un sévère avertisse­ment au monde.

L’amiral hollandais Roggeveen fut le premier Européen à y poser le pied le dimanche de Pâques 1722. Il découvrit une société primitive de quelque trois mille individus qui vivaient dans de misérables huttes de roseau ou dans des grottes, en état de guerre quasi permanent et contraints de pratiquer le cannibalisme pour améliorer les maigres ressources alimentaires disponibles. Lorsque en 1770 les Espagnols annexèrent officiellement l’île, ils la trou­vèrent dans un tel état d’isolement, de pauvreté et de sous-­peuplement qu’aucune occupation coloniale réelle ne se développa jamais. La population continua de décliner et les conditions de vie sur l’île d’empirer : en 1877, les Péruviens emmenèrent et rédui‑sirent en esclavage tous les habitants, à l’exception de cent dix vieillards et enfants. Pour finir, le Chili fit main basse sur l’île et la transforma en un ranch géant pour quarante mille moutons géré par une compagnie britannique, tandis que l’on confinait dans un unique petit village les quelques indigènes encore présents.

Et pourtant, au milieu de cette misère et de cette barbarie, les premiers explorateurs européens trouvèrent les preuves d’une société autrefois florissante et développée : tout le long de l’île gisaient plus de six cents statues de pierre hautes d’au moins six mètres. Lorsque, au début du XXe siècle, les anthropologues commencèrent à étudier l’histoire et la culture de l’île de Pâques. ils tombèrent d’accord sur un point : en aucun cas ces sculptures ne pouvaient être l’œuvre de la population primitive, attardée et miséreuse que les colons du XVIIIe siècle avaient découverte. Le fameux « mystère » de l’île de Pâques était né…

On avança bientôt tout un éventail de théories pour expliquer son histoire. Les plus fantaisistes évoquaient la visite d’extraterrestres ou l’existence de civilisations perdues sur des continents ayant sombré dans le Pacifique, ne laissant pour toute trace que cet îlot perdu. La moins extravagante, celle de l’archéologue norvégien Thor Heyerdhal, soutient que, très anciennement colonisée par des peuples d’Amérique du Sud, l’île aurait hérité d’une tradition de sculpture monumentale et de travail de la pierre similaire aux grandes réalisations des Incas, puis aurait décliné à une époque ultérieure, sous les assauts répétés d’autres colons venus de l’ouest pour provoquer une série de guerres entre « les longues oreilles » et « les courtes oreilles ». Mais cette thèse n’a jamais fait l’unanimité.

L’histoire de l’île de Pâques n’a rien à voir avec des civilisations perdues ou des explications ésotériques. Elle constitue en revanche un exemple frappant de la façon dont les sociétés humaines sont dépendantes de leur environnement et des conséquences qu’entraînent les dégâts irréversibles qu’elles lui causent. Voilà l’histoire d’un peuple qui, dans un contexte peu favorable, a su édifier une des sociétés les plus avancées du monde, en imposant aux ressources naturelles dont il disposait des exigences considérables. Lorsqu’elles n’ont plus été capables de les supporter, la civilisation qui s’était péniblement constituée au cours des millénaires précédents s’est écroulée avec elles.

La colonisation de l’île de Pâques appartient à la dernière phase du long mouvement d’expansion des hommes à travers le globe au cours du v’ siècle de notre ère. L’Empire romain amorçait sa décadence, la Chine était encore plongée dans le chaos qui avait suivi la chute de l’empire Han deux cents ans plus tôt, l’Inde voyait la fin de l’éphémère empire Gupta et la grande ville de Teothihuacàn dominait la quasi‑totalité de la Méso‑Amérique.

Les Polynésiens, eux, achevaient alors de s’attaquer aux immensités de l’océan Pacifique. Venus du Sud‑Est asiatique, les premiers d’entre eux avaient atteint les îles Tonga et Samoa vers l’an 1000 av. J.‑C. De là. ils s’étaient déployés plus à l’est jusqu’aux îles Marquises vers l’an 300 de notre ère, puis, du v’ au ix’ siècle, vers l’île de Pâques au sud‑est, Hawaï au nord, les îles de la Société et enfin la Nouvelle‑Zélande. Cette colonisation terminée, les Polynésiens constituaient le peuple le plus largement répandu sur la Terre, occupant un immense triangle allant de Hawaï au nord à la NouvelleZélande au sud‑ouest et à l’île de Pâques au sud‑est : le double de la superficie des États‑Unis d’aujourd’hui.

Les découvreurs de l’île de Pâques débarquèrent sur une terre aux faibles ressources. D’origine volcanique, ses trois volcans étaient éteints depuis au moins quatre cents ans à leur arrivée. La température comme le degré d’humidité étaient élevés et, même si le sol convenait à la culture, l’écoulement des eaux était très mauvais, d’autant que l’unique source d’eau potable provenait des lacs situés dans les cratères des volcans éteints. Très isolée, l’île abritait peu de plantes et d’animaux : trente espèces de flore indigène, quelques insectes, deux types de petits lézards et pas un mammifère. La mer entourant l’île était pauvre en poisson.

L’arrivée des premiers hommes ne contribua guère à améliorer la situation. Les animaux (porc, chien et rat polynésien) et les récoltes (yam, taro, arbre à pain, banane et noix de coco) qui composaient la subsistance de leurs terres natales s’adaptant mal au rude climat de leur nouveau pays, force leur fut de se contenter d’un régime essentiellement composé de patates douces et de poulets. Seul avantage de cette alimentation monotone, la culture de la patate douce ne demandait pas beaucoup d’efforts et laissait largement le temps pour d’autres activités.

On ne connaît pas le nombre exact de ces premiers colons, mais il ne devait guère dépasser la trentaine. La population augmenta lentement, adoptant peu à peu l’organisation sociale familière au reste de la Polynésie : un large groupement familial, dont les membres possédaient et cultivaient la terre en commun. Ces familles étroitement liées formaient des lignées et des clans, chacune ayant son lieu de culte. À la tête de chaque clan, un chef organisait et dirigeait les activités, et supervisait la distribution de la nourriture et autres produits vitaux. Ce mode de fonctionnement, la compétition et sans doute les conflits entre les clans qu’il engendrait expliquent les grandes réalisations de la civilisation de l’île de Pâques aussi bien que son effondrement final.

Les villages s’élevaient sur toute la surface de l’île en petits groupes de huttes entourés de champs cultivés. Les activités sociales se déroulaient dans des centres cérémoniels séparés occupés une partie de l’année. Les principaux monuments étaient les ahu, ces vastes plates‑formes de pierre semblables à celles qu’on trouve dans d’autres régions de Polynésie. Ils servaient aux enterrements, au culte des ancêtres et aux commémorations en l’honneur des chefs disparus. La production agricole mobilisant peu d’énergie, les chefs de clans avaient le temps de s’intéresser de près à ces rites religieux. Cette particularité aboutit au développe­ment de la société polynésienne la plus avancée de toutes, l’une des plus complexes du monde compte tenu des ressources limitées dont elle disposait. Les Pascuans partageaient le plus clair de leur temps entre les rituels élaborés et la construction de monuments religieux.

Plus de trois cents de ces plates‑formes furent ainsi construites sur l’île, principalement près de la côte. Beaucoup d’entre elles, bâties selon des alignements astronomiques sophistiqués, orientées vers un des solstices ou vers l’équinoxe, témoignent d’un haut niveau d’accomplissement intellectuel. Sur chaque site se dressaient entre une et quinze des monumentales statues de pierre qui survivent aujourd’hui comme seul vestige de la société pascuane disparue. Sculptées au moyen d’instruments en obsidienne dans la carrière de Rano Raraku, elles étaient conçues pour représenter de façon haute­ment stylisée une tête et un torse masculins. La tête était couronnée d’un « chignon » de pierre rouge pesant environ dix tonnes et pro­venant d’une autre carrière. La taille de la pierre était une tâche simple mais de longue haleine. La plus grosse difficulté consistait dans le transport de ces oeuvres monumentales à travers l’île, puis leur érection au sommet de l’ahu.

La solution trouvée par les Pascuans à ce problème fournit la clé du sort que connut par la suite leur société. Faute de bêtes de trait, ils durent employer une très importante main‑d’oeuvre humaine pour haler les statues en utilisant comme rouleaux des troncs d’arbres. Du premier petit groupe arrivé au v’ siècle, la population de l’île s’accrut donc régulièrement pour atteindre à son apogée, en 1550, le chiffre de 7 000 habitants. L’île comptait alors des centaines d’ahu sur lesquels on avait dressé plus de six cents énormes statues de pierre.

Puis, brutalement, cette civilisa­tion s’effondra, laissant derrière elle plus de la moitié des sculptures inachevées autour de la carrière de Rano Raraku.

Que s’était‑il passé ? Une dégradation massive de l’environnement pro­voquée par la déforestation de l’île. Lorsque les premiers Euro­péens y débarquèrent au XVIIIe siècle, ils la trouvèrent totalement déboisée à l’exception d’une poignée d’arbres isolés au fond du plus profond cratère du volcan éteint de Rano Kao. Or de récents travaux scientifiques, dont l’analyse des types de pollen, ont mon­tré qu’au v’ siècle l’île de Pâques possédait une épaisse couverture végétale incluant des bois touffus. À mesure que la population se développait, il a fallu abattre de plus en plus d’arbres afin de four­nir des clairières à l’agriculture, du carburant pour le chauffage et la cuisine, du matériau de construction pour les habitations, des canoës pour la pêche, et des troncs pour transporter les statues sur des sortes de pistes flexibles le long desquelles les faisaient glisser des centaines d’ouvriers. Autrement dit on utilisa de prodigieuses quantités de bois. Et, un jour, il n’y en eut plus assez…

La déforestation de l’île ne sonna pas seulement le glas de toute vie sociale ou religieuse un peu élaborée : elle eut également des effets spectaculaires sur la vie quotidienne de la population. En 1500, la pénurie d’arbres contraignit bien des gens à ne plus construire des maisons en planches mais à vivre dans des grottes et, quand environ un siècle plus tard le bois finit par manquer tota­lement, tout le monde dut se rabattre sur des habitations troglo­dytes creusées au flanc des collines ou de frêles huttes en roseaux taillés dans la végétation qui poussait en bordure des lacs de cra­tère. Plus question de bâtir des canoës : les embarcations en roseau ne permettaient pas d’entreprendre de longs voyages.

La pêche devint aussi plus difficile car le bois de mûrier avec lequel on fabriquait les filets n’existait plus. La disparition de la couverture boisée appauvrit encore le sol de l’île qui souffrait déjà d’un manque d’engrais animaux convenables pour remplacer les élé­ments nutritifs absorbés par les cultures. L’exposition accrue aux intempéries aggrava l’érosion et fit rapidement chuter le rende­ment des cultures. Les poulets devinrent la principale source de ravitaillement. À mesure que leur nombre augmentait, il fallut les protéger du vol. Mais ils ne pouvaient suffire à faire vivre sept mille habitants, et la population déclina rapidement.

À partir de 1600, la société décadente de l’île de Pâques régressa vers un niveau de vie toujours plus primitif. Privés d’arbres et donc de canoës, les insulaires se retrouvaient prison­niers à des milliers de kilomètres de leur patrie natale, incapables d’échapper aux conséquences de la débâcle de leur environnement dont ils étaient eux-mêmes responsables. L’impact social et cultu­rel du déboisement fut tout aussi important. L’impossibilité d’éri­ger de nouvelles statues dut avoir un effet dévastateur sur les systèmes de croyances et d’organisation sociale et remettre en question les fondations mêmes sur lesquelles s’était édifiée cette société complexe.

Les conflits se multiplièrent, provoquant un état de guerre quasi permanent. L’esclavage devint pratique courante et, à mesure que se raréfiait la quantité de protéines disponibles, les habitants se livrèrent au cannibalisme. L’un des principaux objectifs de ces guerres était de détruire les ahu des clans adverses. La plupart des magnifiques statues de pierre furent ainsi peu à peu abattues. Face à ce paysage désolé, face à l’ignorance des insulaires qui avaient perdu au fil des siècles la mémoire de leur culture, les premiers Européens ne comprirent pas quelle étrange civilisation avait pu un jour fleurir sur l’île. Mille ans durant, les Pascuans surent conserver un mode de vie correspon­dant à un ensemble raffiné de coutumes sociales et religieuses qui leur permit non seulement de subsister, mais de s’épanouir.

Il s’agit à bien des égards d’un triomphe de l’ingéniosité humaine et d’une apparente victoire sur un environnement hostile. Or, au bout du compte, la croissance de la population et les ambitions cultu­relles des insulaires se révélèrent trop pesantes pour les ressources limitées mises à leur disposition. Celles‑ci épuisées, la société ne tarda pas à s’effondrer, entraînant les habitants à un niveau proche de la barbarie. Il suffisait à ces hommes, totalement isolés du reste du monde, d’une journée pour faire le tour de leur petite île et comprendre la nécessité vitale de créer un bon équilibre avec leur environnement.

Au lieu de cela, ils l’exploitèrent comme si les possibilités qu’il leur offrait étaient illimitées. Pis, alors même que les lacunes de l’île devenaient cruellement évidentes, la lutte entre les clans semble s’être intensifiée : on sculptait de plus en plus de statues qu’on transportait à travers l’île dans un ultime effort pour assurer son prestige, quitte à en laisser un grand nombre inache­vées et abandonnées à proximité de la carrière, sans tenir aucun compte de l’inquiétante pénurie d’arbres qu’une telle escalade entraînait.

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *