Mauritius wants to develop wind energy

Share this article with your friends:

After solar energy and that produced from bagasse and coal, Maurice turns to wind as part of its national policy to make maximum use of renewable energy resources, PANA learned from a government source Wednesday .

Currently discussions are ongoing on this subject between the "Central Electricity Board" (CEB), sole provider of electricity on the island and the Indian company Suzlon Energy Ltd, in order to create a power generation park from wind turbines to Bigara in the center of the island

According to a government official, this framework approach with national policy favoring the exploitation of renewable energy sources, given the constantly rising costs of petroleum products on the world market. It also is consistent with the agreement signed between Mauritius and India in order to encourage investment in this field.

"This electricity generation fleet will comprise twenty wind turbines with a capacity of 25 megawatts. But the electricity produced will depend on the wind speed in the concerned region, "he stressed.

Wind energy is not new in Mauritius, where a wind turbine was installed in the Great Basin in the south, 1987, with assistance from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) before being abandoned after 17 months of operation due to a supply problem of spare parts.

Rodrigues Island to 350 km northeast of Maurice and dependent, has it, a small production plant with three turbines since 2003.

About 56% of electricity production on the island is provided by heavy oil, 39% from bagasse and coal and 5% by water turns turbines.

source


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

L’ile Maurice veut développer l’énergie éolienne

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Après l’énergie solaire et celle produite à partir de la bagasse et du charbon, Maurice se tourne vers l’éolienne dans le cadre de sa politique nationale visant à utiliser au maximum les ressources énergétiques renouvelables, a appris la PANA, mercredi de source gouvernementale.

Des discussions sont en cours actuellement à ce sujet entre le « Central Electricity Board » (CEB), fournisseur unique d’électricité dans l’île et la compagnie indienne Suzlon Energy Ltd, dans le but de créer un parc de production d’électricité à partir d’installations éoliennes à Bigara, dans le centre de l’île

Selon un officiel du gouvernement, cette démarche cadre avec la politique nationale favorisant l’exploitation de sources d’énergies renouvelables, vu la hausse constante des coûts des produits pétroliers sur le marché mondial. Elle cadre également avec le protocole d’accord signé entre Maurice et l’Inde dans le but d’encourager l’investissement dans ce domaine.

« Ce parc de production d’électricité va comprendre une vingtaine de turbines éoliennes d’une capacité de production de 25 mégawatts. Mais l’électricité produite dépendra de la vitesse des vents dans la région concernée », a-t-il fait ressortir.

L’énergie éolienne n’est pas nouvelle à Maurice où une éolienne avait été installée à Grand Bassin, dans le sud, en 1987, avec l’aide du Programme des Nations unies pour le développement (PNUD) avant d’être abandonnée après 17 mois d’opération en raison d’un problème d’approvisionnement en pièces de rechange.

L’île Rodrigues, à 350 km au nord-est et dépendante de Maurice, dispose, elle, d’une petite unité de production comprenant trois turbines depuis 2003.

Environ 56% de la production d’électricité dans l’île est assurée par l’huile lourde, 39% par la bagasse et le charbon et 5% par l’eau qui fait tourner les turbines.

Source

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *