motor oils, additives and superlubrifiants


Share this article with your friends:

Oils and additives: a more than delicate wedding!

TETE TECHNOLOGY. Text & photos: Marc Alias

Keywords: additive, grease, superhuiles, lubrication, life, drain, synthetic oils, test, test standards.

Introduction.

Who has not met one day in his readings, his entourage, on a circuit or in a local show or national, a voluble Jean Rakonte, who gives his opinion on everything and especially his opinion?

To clarify the ideas and avoid mechanical breaks sometimes tragic and always expensive, Marc Alias ​​and the Econologie.com site deliver you the whole truth, nothing but the truth about the topic of the motor oils, with the inevitable John Rowland, chief chemist with the Fuchs UK research laboratory, not to mention test their prodigy oil: the Titan GT1 0W20.

Small mechanical reminders

Nowadays, with recent engines, especially turbo diesel, which display up to 57 m.kg at only 1700 rpm in order to reliably move the few 2,5 tons of the vehicle, more than ever lubrication must be the object of all your attention. The life of the engine, and perhaps even your driving, depend directly on it.

However, I remind you that the lubricant must separate the parts in relative motion, cool them where the water can not or badly, reduce their friction and wear of course, but also clean them, prevent them from polluting and protect them from solid, liquid pollutants and flue gas corrosion, in particular. For this purpose, the oil must remain sufficiently liquid at -35 ° c to lubricate from the start and sufficiently viscous at 180 ° C not to break the engine running! In short, an ideal behavior not at all natural for an oil!

To remedy this, today the manufacturers draw their base oil which will make 70 85% of the weight of the final product, in two large families:

  • from petroleum refining for mineral oils,
  • or as here, obtained by various chemical processes, it will be a synthetic oil.

Then, and there lies all the knowledge and the final differences of the products, each brand add its famous additives. These are chemical compounds that can be incorporated into lubricants (or fuels!) To improve their basic properties or to create new ones, in short, dopants. It should be noted that they are less necessary with synthesis bases which are otherwise generally free of sulphides and phosphorus which are toxic for catalytic converters. These additives include:

  • anti wear,
  • detergents,
  • anti corrosion,
  • dispersants,
  • antioxidants
  • anti foam,
  • viscosity improvers.

With these, a base oil becomes more fluid cold and more viscous when hot in a temperature range between -35 ° C and 100 ° C or more, this is the principle multigrade oils. To sort out all these oils, standards have emerged.

Multigrade engine oil classifications

All multigrade oils are classified according to the SAE standard by xW y with xW and y respectively corresponding to cold viscosity (test temperature = x-35 ° C) and hot (100 ° C).

Example of an 0W20 oil.

0W (W for Winter) is an oil that meets the test at -35 ° C (such as 5W at -30 ° C, 10W at -25 ° C, 15W at -20 ° C). According to the average cold temperatures of our regions, we already see that modern multigrade oils are largely cold enough.

This figure must be as low as possible (0W therefore) for better pumpability and thus rapid lubrication from the start.

The other figure, 20 for this example, is the viscosity measured at 100 ° C: conventionally, it must be as high as possible to ensure a film of oil between the parts at high temperature and especially not to fall too much beyond of maintain oil pressure.

This last quality, essential, is characterized by VI or viscosity index. The higher it is, the lower the viscosity drops at high temperature. Therefore, select indices above 150 and do not hesitate to ask your dealer for this valuable data via the manufacturer.

Finally mixes side, the result will be closer to the lower product but do not worry too much for possible chemical reactions since all the current oils use bases and similar additives ...

When in doubt, it is best to comply with the manufacturer's recommendations.

Eco class or 1ère?

Semi-synthetic and synthetic oils are made from unconventional bases using sophisticated chemical processes that give them special properties. Engine oils can be derived from 4 bases:

  • mineral,
  • MC (Moleculary Converted) also Hydrocracked base oils with a very high viscosity index obtained by hydroisomerization,
  • polyalphaolefin PAOs,
  • ESTERS of plant or synthetic origin.

Each has its advantages and faults but overall the high viscosity index of the synthetic base oils used (up to 180 at Fuchs) allows the finished lubricant to have a naturally good behavior with respect to the temperature, ie to say to present a viscosity down certainly, but always high regardless of the temperature. This property is a major superiority over mineral oils, made from conventional bases that require the addition of viscosity improving additives in larger amounts.

The stability of the lubricant as a function of temperature guarantees its optimum efficiency both in the cold start phase which is particularly demanding on the engine (80 at 90% of its total wear!) in the most intensive hot running conditions.

Synthesis-based lubricants also have an increased resistance to oxidation, resulting in a longer life of the oil that empties the oil and guarantees a longer service life for the engine. The use of unconventional bases, finally, makes it possible to develop more fluid lubricants, without being more volatile therefore with reduction of the oil consumption.



Note also that a so-called semi-synthetic oil unfortunately does not contain 50% but 20 30%, the rest being a classic mineral base with additives!

Still a typical marketing trap ...

Fuchs Silkolene Company

Originally called Dalton and Co in 1899, this leading British chemical company became known in the 30 and 40 years by lubricating the Spitfires' superb V12 Rolls Royce Merlin and later the famous and late Concorde thanks to its work on synthetic oils. for the US Air Force.

At the beginning of the 1980 years, she was renamed Silkolène. Then, in 1989, the German group Fuchs acquired it without overhauling the initial strategy to take advantage of the technological spin-offs in competition kart, scooter, car and motorcycle with Honda, Suzuki and Kawasaki. And this until gp bike on Hyper Bikes ZXRR.

Motorcycle specialist Fuchs Group, Silkolene is one of the world's largest supplier of engine lubricants, gearboxes, chains and suspensions, greases, coolants or brake fluids, as well as various service products. Must have! With such an advance in synthetic oil, Silkolene dominates to the highest level. But to stagnate is to retreat from the competition. Professor John Rowland, who leads the research lab, is well aware of this and he discovers in 2000, Electrosyntec Adhesion Technology. From these innovative principles will flow the Electro Static Adhesion (ESA) which is applied today to several very high-end lubricants like the Pro 2, the Pro 4 and the Pro R Electrosyntec 0W20 derived from the Titan GT1 0W20 self become 5W30 in longlife3 version. Which brings us to the German group Fuchs, he is the first technical partner of the most famous builders of his country!

Read more

Illustrations


In his Silkolene oils lab in Hanley, England, John Rowland, research and development chemist for auto oils since 33 years is the reference in the field. These opinions have values ​​of expertise worldwide knowing that Fuchs does not sell competing additives.


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Huiles moteur, additifs et superlubrifiants

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Huiles et additifs : un mariage plus que délicat !

TETIERE TECHNOLOGIE. Texte & photos : Marc Alias

Mots clés : additif, graissage, superhuiles, lubrification, durée de vie, vidange, huiles synthétique, essais, test, normes.

Introduction.

Qui n’a pas rencontré un jour dans ses lectures, son entourage, sur un circuit ou dans un salon local voire national, un volubile Jean Rakonte, qui donne son avis sur tout et a surtout ses avis ?

Pour éclaircir les idées et éviter des casses mécaniques parfois tragiques et toujours onéreuses, Marc Alias et le site Econologie.com vous livrent toute la vérité, rien que la vérité sur le thème des huiles moteur, avec l’incontournable John Rowland, chef chimiste au laboratoire de recherche Fuchs UK, sans oublier de tester leur huile prodige : la Titan GT1 0W20.

Petits rappels mécaniques

De nos jours, avec les moteurs récents, en particulier turbo diesels, qui affichent jusqu’à 57 m.kg à seulement 1700 tr/mn afin de déplacer honorablement les quelques 2,5 tonnes du véhicule, plus que jamais la lubrification doit être l’objet de toute votre attention. La vie du moteur, et peut-être même la votre en roulage, en dépendent directement.

Ceci étant, je vous rappelle que le lubrifiant doit séparer les pièces en mouvement relatif, les refroidir là ou l’eau ne le peut pas ou mal, réduire leurs frottements et leur usure bien sur, mais aussi les nettoyer, les empêcher de se polluer et les protéger des polluants solides, liquides et de la corrosion des gaz de combustion, en particulier. Dans ce but, l’huile devra rester suffisamment liquide à –35°c pour lubrifier dès le démarrage et suffisamment visqueuse à 180°C pour ne pas casser le moteur en course ! Bref, un comportement idéal pas du tout naturel pour une huile !!

Pour remédier à cela, aujourd’hui les fabricants puisent leur huile de base qui fera 70 à 85 % du poids du produit final, dans deux grandes familles :

  • soit issue du raffinage du pétrole pour les huiles minérales,
  • soit comme ici, obtenue par des process chimiques divers, ce sera une huile à base de synthèse.

Ensuite, et là réside tout le savoir faire et les différences finales des produits, chaque marque y ajoute ses fameux additifs. Ceux-ci sont des composés chimiques incorporables à des lubrifiants (ou des carburants !) pour en améliorer les propriétés de base ou en créer de nouvelles, en bref, des dopants. A noter qu’ils sont moins nécessaires avec des bases de synthèse par ailleurs en général, exempte de sulfures et de phosphore toxiques pour les pots catalytiques. Citons les additifs suivants :

  • anti usure,
  • détergents,
  • anticorrosion,
  • dispersants,
  • antioxydants,
  • anti mousse,
  • améliorants de viscosité.

Avec ces derniers, une huile de base devient plus fluide à froid et plus visqueuse à chaud dans une fourchette de températures entre –35°C et 100°C voire plus, c’est le principe des huiles multigrades. Pour faire le tri entre toutes ces huiles, des normes sont apparues.

Classifications des huiles moteurs multigrade

Toutes les huiles multigrades sont classées suivant la norme SAE par xW y avec xW et y correspondant respectivement à la visosité à froid ( température d’essai = x-35°C ) et à chaud ( 100°C ).

Exemple d’une huile 0W20.

0W (W pour Winter) est une huile qui satisfait le test à -35°C (comme la 5W à -30°C, la 10W à -25°C, 15W à -20°C). Suivant les températures froides moyennes de nos régions, nous constatons déjà que les huiles multigrades modernes sont largement assez fluides à froid.

Ce chiffre doit être le plus faible possible (0W donc) pour une meilleure pompabilité et donc une lubrification rapide dès le démarrage.

L’autre chiffre, 20 pour cet exemple, est la viscosité relevée à 100 °C : classiquement, elle doit être la plus élevée possible pour assurer un film d’huile entre les pièces à haute température et surtout ne pas trop chuter au delà afin de maintenir la pression d’huile.

Cette dernière qualité, primordiale, est caractérisée par le VI ou indice de viscosité. Plus il est élevé, moins la viscosité baisse à haute température. Sélectionnez donc des indices supérieurs à 150 et n’hésitez pas à demander cette précieuse donnée à votre revendeur, via le fabricant.

Enfin coté mélanges, le résultat sera plus proche du produit inférieur mais ne vous inquiétez pas trop pour les éventuelles réactions chimiques puisque toutes les huiles actuelles utilisent des bases et des additifs similaires…

Dans le doute, le mieux est donc de se conformer aux préconisations du constructeur.

Classe éco ou 1ère ?

Les huiles semi-synthétiques et synthétiques sont élaborées à partir de bases non conventionnelles faisant intervenir des procédés chimiques sophistiqués qui leur confèrent des propriétés particulières. Les huiles moteurs peuvent être issues de 4 bases :

  • Minérales,
  • MC ( Moleculary Converted ) dites aussi huiles de base Hydrocraquée à très haut indice de viscosité obtenue par hydro isomérisation,
  • les PAO polyalphaoléfines,
  • les ESTERS d’origine végétale ou de synthèse.

Chacune a ses avantages et ses défauts mais globalement l’indice de viscosité élevé des huiles de base synthétiques utilisées (jusqu’à 180 chez Fuchs) permet au lubrifiant fini d’avoir un comportement naturellement bon par rapport à la température, c’est-à-dire de présenter une viscosité en baisse certes, mais toujours élevée quelle que soit la température. Cette propriété est une supériorité majeure sur les huiles minérales, élaborées à partir de bases conventionnelles qui nécessitent l’adjonction d’additifs améliorants de viscosité en plus grande quantité.

La stabilité du lubrifiant en fonction de la température garantit son efficacité optimale tant dans la phase de démarrage à froid particulièrement exigeante pour le moteur (80 à 90% de son usure totale !) que dans les conditions de fonctionnement à chaud les plus intensives en roulage.

Les lubrifiants à bases de synthèse présentent par ailleurs une résistance accrue à l’oxydation, d’où une plus grande longévité de l’huile qui espace les vidanges et garantit une plus grande durée de vie pour le moteur. L’utilisation de bases non conventionnelles, enfin, permet d’élaborer des lubrifiants plus fluides, sans être plus volatils donc avec réduction de la consommation d’huile.

Notez aussi qu’une huile dite de semi synthèse n’en contient malheureusement pas 50% mais 20 à 30 %, le reste étant une base classique minérale avec des additifs !

Encore un piège marketing typique…

L’entreprise Fuchs Silkolène

Originellement appelée Dalton and Co en 1899, cette entreprise anglaise de chimie de pointe se fit connaître dans les années 30 et 40 en lubrifiant les superbes V12 Rolls Royce Merlin des Spitfires puis plus tard le célébrissime et regretté Concorde grâce à ses travaux sur les huiles synthétiques pour l’US Air Force.

Au début des années 1980, elle se renomma Silkolène. Puis, en 1989, Le groupe allemand Fuchs en fit l’acquisition sans en refondre la stratégie initiale afin de profiter des retombées technologiques en compétition kart, scooter de mer, voiture et moto avec Honda, Suzuki et Kawasaki. Et ce jusqu’en moto gp sur les Hyper Bikes ZXRR.

Spécialiste moto du groupe Fuchs, Silkolene est l’un des plus important fournisseur mondial de lubrifiants moteurs, boite de vitesses, chaînes et suspensions, graisses, liquides de refroidissement ou de freins, ainsi que divers produits de service. Incontournable ! Avec une telle avance en huile de synthèse, Silkolène domine jusqu’au plus haut niveau. Mais stagner c’est reculer par rapport à la concurrence. Le professeur John Rowland qui dirige le labo de recherche le sait bien et il découvre en 2000, l’Electrosyntec Adhesion Technology. De ces principes novateurs découlera l’Electro Static Adhesion (ESA) qui est appliqué aujourd’hui à plusieurs lubrifiants très haut de gamme comme la Pro 2, la Pro 4 et la Pro R Electrosyntec 0W20 dérivée de la Titan GT1 0W20 auto devenue 5W30 en version longlife3. Ce qui nous amène au groupe allemand Fuchs, il est le premier partenaire technique des plus célèbres constructeurs de son pays !

Lire la suite

Illustrations


Dans son labo d’huiles Silkolène à Hanley en Angleterre, John Rowland, chimiste de recherche et développement des huiles auto depuis 33 ans est LA référence en la matière. Ces avis ont valeurs d’expertises au niveau mondial sachant que Fuchs ne vend pas d’additifs concurrents.

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *