motor oils, additives and superlubrifiants 2


Share this article with your friends:

Oils and additives: a more than delicate wedding! part 2

TETE TECHNOLOGY. Text & photos: Marc Alias

Keywords: additive, grease, superhuiles, lubrication, life, drain, synthetic oils, testing, testing, standards, Electrosyntec.

Advanced Project Development

In short, Electrosyntec technology is based on the positive magnetic polarity of metal surfaces that constantly attracts negatively charged oil molecules. Thus a thin "mille feuilles" composed of 10 50 layers of oil molecules remains on all the motor organs even at rest so also at restart. Note that the overall thickness of this electrostatic film is on average 100 times lower than ordinary, so does not ensure good oil pressure only with modern engines with reduced games, advice to preparers ...

Advantages of this 0W 20 ADP? No wear at startup, an extreme friction reducing additive that facilitates the work of the starter and allows a gain between 2 and 5% power and finally, a film withstand in extreme conditions thanks to very high temperature special esters from applications US space.

In addition, to maintain the effectiveness of the pollution control system, this oil has been cleared of zinc and other heavy metals such as sulfur, phosphorus, sulphates which end up poisoning the catalytic converter and we with ...

To replace these good metals, additives of the past, a new technology was invented that also allowed consumption gains up to 3%. On the other hand, the reduction of oil consumption to respect the long oil change intervals and the environment requires a gain of 23% of evaporation losses compared to other synthetic oils. In addition, the absence of zinc and other heavy metals ensures a longer period of efficiency for particulate filters and catalysts.

Extensive aging tests have revealed a lower toxicity of waste oils in terms of phosphorus, sulfur or sulphides.

Despite its low viscosity, its high-performance additives allow it to resist and protect the engine even in the harsh conditions of recent turbocharged TDI engines high efficiency. And we can trust the German chemists, masters in the field since always ...

At Silkolène, his Moto version in the Advanced Development Project (ADP), was brilliantly led by J. Rowland in 2000 from its Auto version, the Titan GT1. First tested successfully during the 2001 super sport season on the official German ZxNUMXR Kawasaki, she will re-enter the XSLX World Champion Xvumx's Kawasaki ZX9R, Andrew Pitt, and then the GB 6 Superbike Champion (Mr. Hislop). ) and other Ducati! From 2001, ESA was also introduced in the Silkolène range which has even been enriched with the Pro R 2002W2002 rather reserved for competition, given its low viscosity.

Interview with John Rowland, Silkolène-Fuchs R & D

Now, let's give the floor to John Rowland, the chief chemist of the Fuchs Lubricants research and development laboratory in England, who is behind this breakthrough that is so rare nowadays.

JR: "This oil was declined from the Titan GT1 OW20 auto for 4 engines time prepared for the World Superbike in partnership with Kawasaki. Like the GT1 Titan, it is based on special esters and PAOs to combine the benefits of both. This Pro R 0W20 is therefore much more than a low viscosity to avoid film breaks and the usual losses of this type of oil in competition. To avoid this serious problem, we have introduced many additives to reduce friction in the distribution and transmission thanks to an exclusive polymer, very resistant to temperature and shear despite the very thin film, about 100 less than a conventional reference oil. His resistance is comparable to an 10W / 40 or even an 15W50 synthesis API SJ but it saves more between 2 and 5% power!

The very low viscosity allows gains on the sparging of the gearbox, the clutch, the pumping, and its greater speed of circulation at equal pressure, better cooled the engine. The current oil pumps are often very oversized and provide a higher flow for the same pressure with motors with small internal clearances so not very kilometers or often redone. Your experience proves that this oil is perfect for the 12 000 km of road instead of the 200 km run but it would be prudent to monitor the oil pressure when the engine ages! Note also that to obtain a viscosity index above 180, good for the engine, we must use many additives destroyed by the gears of the gearbox motorcycle, which is not the case in cars! Finally, a clarification on this mysterious ESA: it concerns the lubrication in nonhydrodynamic regime of surfaces such as we can meet between the camshafts and the pushers or between the segments and the cylinders. "

MA: "And miracle additives? One more possible? "

JR: "For decades, recurring ads have been touting the benefits of this or that extra treatment of your oil or engine with spectacular gains that are supposedly verified. Obviously, we are tempted to believe it!

First of all let's think about it: in a 4 gasoline engine, 60% of the initial energy contained in gasoline is lost thermally in exhaust and cooling. On the remaining 40%, between 7% (in city or low load) and 25% finally come out of the engine to attack the transmission. On the remaining 15%, 6% are lost by pumping air at the intake (and especially at low throttle angles) and to ensure exhaust. 6% is lost by pumping liquids and by viscous friction in the oil. There remain 3% losses due to friction. Yes, only 3 small% to win. So it is strictly impossible for an anti-friction additive to do better!

On the other hand, one can play on the 6% of the pumping and the viscosity due to the oil. That's exactly what we did for the ADP 0W20 and it really works, without special risks for the engine. To conclude on additives or miracle economizers, my numerous lab tests and my 33 years of experience led me to these 4 rankings:



    • 1) Limited-purpose harmless such as, high cylinder lubricants, booster octanes and lead substitutes.

    • 2) Harmless but perfectly useless such as magnetic systems, ceramic coatings and other alloy balls immersed in fuel.

    • 3) Aggressive and always as useless as the many additives based on teflon powder that can clog the fine oil pipes. It should be noted that teflon or silicone is good for lubricating plastic parts but remains much less than motor oils for metal parts. Let's not forget the increase in viscosity of oil, catch up with the segmentations to be redone but leads to a drop in power and an overconsumption of fuel. TBN (a basic detergent often present in oil but overdose, forms deposits favoring pre-ignition!)

  • 4) Very aggressive and therefore worse than useless: all additives based on Chlorinated Paraffins and silicones in solvents such as perchlorethylene or diluted in mineral oils. These Chlorines cause internal corrosion of the motor elements made of copper-based alloys (brasses, bronze, etc.) or aluminum and accelerates the aging of the oil. Note also that these chlorines produce hyper-toxic hydrochloric acid and organochlorine vapors like the infamous phosgene combat gas! These gases will destroy your catalytic converter or your machine in the medium term.

Finally, on a 2 time, the mixture with the oil of the separated or not lubrication, attacks the aluminum of the piston permanently by forming a deposit of chloride of alumium which will entail the tightening!

On behalf of Fuchs oils, I formally forbid the use of 3) and 4) additives with our products and declines our responsibility in case. Notice to sorcerers and gullible people of all kinds! "

MA "Thank you for this warning that from an expert like you, can not be doubted! As far as I'm concerned, I confirm the breakage of my gearbox of my Citroën BX TZDT under additive after almost 2 years and 20 000 km only! "

Thank you for those clarifications, Mr. John Rowland. And this is not the 1ère time an explosive article seems to these subjects because another additive based on the same chlorinated paraffins, ZX1 (or X2S here?) Was tested during 100h 150 ° c with a thickening incredible oil and strong corrosion 3 metal samples that plunge! Another eminent American expert, Maurice E. Lepera, consultant in oils and fuel for the US Army (or chlorinated paraffins are prohibited!), Confirms these critics in his August article 1998 "Chlorine and engine oils: a good mix ? Once again, it is a NO without appeal. The author even noted that at least 4 additives already proclaimed "without chlorinated paraffins!" ... Case to follow!

Illustrations


Close-ups on the crankcase of my former gearbox BE3 / 5 250 000 km out of 5 after a test of "rather" aggressive additive on 20 000 km! A curious blackish deposit and a drain as fluid as water were the early signs of this announced mechanical disaster. But, that's certainly not in the package of additives with chlorinated paraffins!


Here are the primary (bottom) and secondary trees of this BE 3 / 5 well known for more than 20 years at PSA. A box without stories if not the 5ème pinion nut which can sometimes unscrew despite the brake plate at the end of the secondary shaft where the break occurred (top right). That said, the damage would not be the same and my nut was tight during disassembly ...


Zoom in at the end of the secondary shaft: unprecedented corrosion and never seen at Citroën was right of the male grooves of the shaft and female 5eme pinion. This secondary shaft is the low point of the gearbox on the vehicle, hydrochloric acid heavier than oil has done the maximum damage ...


Here are the same elements on the current gearbox BE3 / 5 to ... 160 000 km!


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Huiles moteur, additifs et superlubrifiants 2

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Huiles et additifs : un mariage plus que délicat ! Partie 2

TETIERE TECHNOLOGIE. Texte & photos : Marc Alias

Mots clés : additif, graissage, superhuiles, lubrification, durée de vie, vidange, huiles synthétique, essais, test, normes, Electrosyntec.

Advanced Project Developpement

En bref, la technologie Electrosyntec est basée sur la polarité magnétique positive des surfaces métalliques qui attire en permanence les molécules d’huile chargées négativement. Ainsi un fin « mille feuilles » composée de 10 à 50 couches de molécules d’huile reste sur tous les organes moteurs même à l’arrêt donc aussi au redémarrage. Notez que l’épaisseur globale de ce film électrostatique est en moyenne 100 fois plus faible qu’une ordinaire, donc n’assure une bonne pression d’huile qu’avec des moteurs modernes aux jeux réduits, avis aux préparateurs…

Avantages de cette ADP 0W 20 ? Aucune usure au démarrage, un additif extrême pression réducteur de friction qui facilite le travail du démarreur et permet un gain entre 2 et 5 % de puissance et enfin, une tenue de film en conditions extrêmes grâce à des esters spéciaux très haute température issus des applications spatiales US.

De plus, pour conserver l’efficacité du système de dépollution, cette huile é été débarrassée du zinc et autres métaux lourds comme le souffre, le phosphore, les sulfates qui finissent par empoisonner le pot catalytique et nous avec…

Pour remplacer ces bons métaux, additifs d’autrefois, une nouvelle technologie a été inventée qui a aussi permis des gains de consommation jusqu’à 3 %. D’autre part, la réduction de la consommation d’huile pour respecter les longs intervalles de vidanges et l’environnement passe par un gain de 23% des pertes par évaporation comparée à d’autres huiles de synthèse. De plus, l’absence de zinc et autres métaux lourds garantit une durée d’efficacité accrue pour les filtres à particules et les catalyseurs.

Des tests extensifs de vieillissement ont mis en évidence une moindre toxicité des huiles de vidanges au niveau du phosphore, du souffre ou des sulfures.

Malgré sa faible viscosité, ses additifs ultra performants lui permettent de résister et de protéger le moteur même dans les conditions sévères des récents moteurs TDI Turbocompressés à haut rendement. Et nous pouvons faire confiance aux chimistes allemands, maîtres en la matière depuis toujours…

Chez Silkolène, sa déclinaison Moto au sein du projet de développement avancé (ADP en anglais), fut brillamment mené par J. Rowland en 2000 à partir de sa version Auto, la Titan GT1. D’abord testée avec succès durant la saison de super sport 2001 sur les Kawasaki ZX9R officielles Allemandes, elle récidivera sur la Kawasaki ZX6R du champion du monde super sport 2001, Andrew Pitt, puis, sur celle du Champion Superbike GB 2002 (M. Hislop) et autres Ducati ! Dès 2002, l’ESA fut aussi introduit dans la gamme Silkolène qui s’est même enrichi de la Pro R 0W20 plutôt réservée à la compétition, vu sa faible viscosité.

Interview de John Rowland, Silkolène-Fuchs R&D

A présent, laissons donc la parole à John Rowland, le chimiste en chef du labo de recherche et développement Fuchs Lubricants en Angleterre, qui est à l’origine de cette avancée aussi significative que rare de nos jours.

J.R : « Cette huile a été déclinée à partir de la Titan GT1 OW20 auto pour les moteurs 4 temps préparés pour le Superbike mondial en partenariat avec Kawasaki. Comme la Titan GT1, elle est basée sur des esters spéciaux et des PAO afin de combiner les avantages des deux. Cette Pro R 0W20 est donc bien plus qu’une basse viscosité pour éviter les ruptures de film et les pertes habituelles de ce type d’huile en compétition. Pour éviter ce grave problème, nous avons introduits de nombreux additifs pour réduire les frictions au niveau de la distribution et de la transmission grâce notamment à un polymère exclusif, très résistant à la température et au cisaillement malgré la très faible épaisseur du film, environ 100 fois moindre qu’une huile de référence classique. Sa résistance est comparable à une 10W/40 voire une 15W50 de synthèse API SJ mais elle fait gagner en plus entre 2 et 5% de puissance !

La très faible viscosité permet des gains sur le barbotage de la boite de vitesse, l’embrayage, le pompage, et sa plus grande vitesse de circulation à pression égale, refroidi mieux le moteur. Les pompes à huiles actuelles sont souvent très surdimensionnés et assurent un débit supérieur pour la même pression avec des moteurs à faibles jeux internes donc assez peu kilométrés ou souvent refaits. Votre expérience prouve que cette huile convient parfaitement pour les 12 000 km de route au lieu des 200 km de course mais il serait prudent de surveiller la pression d’huile lorsque le moteur vieillira ! Notez aussi que pour obtenir un indice de viscosité au dessus de 180, bon pour le moteur, on doit utiliser beaucoup d’additifs détruits par les engrenages de la boite de vitesse moto, ce qui n’est pas le cas en auto ! Enfin, une précision sur cette mystérieuse ESA : elle concerne la lubrification en régime non hydrodynamique de surfaces telles que nous pouvons en rencontrer entre les arbres à cames et les poussoirs ou entre les segments et les cylindres. »

M.A: « Et les additifs miracles ? Un plus encore possible ?»

J.R: « Depuis des décennies, des publicités récurrentes vantent les mérites de tel ou tel traitement supplémentaire de votre huile ou de votre moteur avec des gains spectaculaires soit disant vérifiés. Evidemment, on est bien tenté d’y croire !

Tout d’abord réfléchissons un peu : dans un moteur 4 temps à essence, 60% de l’énergie initiale contenue dans l’essence est perdue thermiquement dans l’échappement et le refroidissement. Sur les 40 % qui restent, entre 7% (en ville ou faibles charge) et 25% sortent enfin du moteur pour attaquer la transmission. Sur les 15% restant, 6% sont perdus par pompage de l’air à l’admission (donc en particulier aux faibles angles papillon) et pour assurer l’échappement. 6% encore sont perdus par pompage des liquides et par frottement visqueux dans l’huile. Restent donc 3% de pertes dues aux frottements. Oui, seulement 3 petits % à gagner. Donc il est rigoureusement impossible à un additif anti-frottement de faire mieux !

Par contre, on peut jouer sur les 6 % du pompage et de la viscosité due à l’huile. C’est exactement ce que nous avons fait pour l’ADP 0W20 et ça, ça marche vraiment, sans risques spéciaux pour le moteur. Pour conclure sur les additifs ou économiseurs miracles, mes nombreuses analyses au labo et mes 33 ans d’expériences m’ont mené à ces 4 classements :

    • 1) Les inoffensifs à utilité limitée comme, les lubrifiants de haut de cylindre, les octanes boosters et les substituts au plomb.

 

    • 2) Les inoffensifs mais parfaitement inutiles tels que les systèmes magnétiques, les revêtements céramiques et autres billes d’alliages plongés dans le carburant.

 

    • 3) Les agressifs et toujours aussi inutiles comme les nombreux additifs à base de Téflon en poudre risquant de boucher les fines canalisations d’huiles. Il faut savoir que le téflon ou le silicone sont bon pour lubrifier des pièces en plastique mais reste très inférieur aux huiles moteur pour les pièces métalliques. N’oublions pas les augmentation de viscosité d’huile, rattrapent les segmentations à refaire mais entraîne une baisse de puissance et une surconsommation de carburant. Les TBN (un détergent basique souvent déjà présent dans l’huile mais qui en surdosage, forme des dépôts favorisant le pré allumage !)

 

  • 4) Les très agressifs et donc pire qu’inutiles : tous les additifs à base de Paraffines Chlorées et de silicones dans des solvants tels que le perchlorethylène ou dilués dans des huiles minérales. Ces Chlorines provoquent la corrosion interne des éléments moteurs en alliages à base de cuivre (laitons, bronze, etc….), ou en aluminium et accélère le vieillissement de l’huile. Notez aussi que ces chlorines produisent des vapeurs d’acide chlorhydrique et d’organochlorés hyper toxiques comme le tristement célèbre gaz de combat phosgène ! Ces gaz vont détruire votre pot catalytique voire votre mécanque à moyen terme.

Enfin, sur un 2 temps, le mélange à l’huile du graissage séparé ou non, attaque l’aluminium du piston en permanence en formant un dépôt de chlorure d’alumium qui entraînera le serrage !

Au nom des huiles Fuchs, je proscrit formellement l’emploi des additifs de classe 3) et 4) avec nos produits et décline notre responsabilité au cas où. Avis aux sorciers et aux crédules en tous genres ! »

M.A. « Merci pour cette mise en garde qui de la part d’un expert tel que vous, ne saurait être mis en doute ! En ce qui me concerne, je confirme la casse de ma boite de vitesse de ma Citroën BX TZDT sous additif après presque 2 ans et 20 000 km seulement !! »

Merci pour ces éclaircissements, M.John Rowland. Et ce n’est pas la 1ère fois qu’un article explosif parait à ces sujets car un autre additif à base des mêmes paraffines chlorés, du ZX1 (ou X2S chez nous ?) a été testé durant 100h à 150 °c avec un épaississement incroyable de l’huile et une forte corrosion des 3 échantillons de métal qui y plongeaient ! Un autre éminent spécialiste américain, Maurice E. Lepera, consultant en huiles et carburant pour l’US Army (ou les paraffines chlorés sont interdites !), confirme ces critiques dans son article d’Août 1998 « Chlorine and engine oils : a good mix ? », encore une fois, c’est un NON sans appel. L’auteur a même noté qu’au moins 4 additifs se proclamaient déjà «sans paraffines chlorés !» …Affaire à suivre !

Illustrations


Gros plans sur le carter de mon ex boite de vitesse BE3/5 à 250 000 km en panne de 5 ème après un test d’additif « plutôt » agressif sur 20 000 km ! Un curieux dépôt noirâtre et une vidange aussi fluide que de l’eau étaient les signes avant coureur de cette catastrophe mécanique annoncée. Mais, ça, ce n’est sûrement pas dans la notice des additifs avec des paraffines chlorés !


Voici les arbres primaires (en bas) et secondaire de cette BE 3/5 bien connue depuis plus de 20 ans chez PSA. Une boite sans histoires si ce n’est l’écrou du pignon de 5ème qui peut parfois se dévisser malgré la tôle frein en bout d’arbre secondaire là ou la casse a eu lieu (en haut à droite). Cela dit, les dégâts ne seraient pas les mêmes et mon écrou était bien serré lors du démontage…


Zoom en bout de l’arbre secondaire : une corrosion inouïe et jamais vue chez Citroën a eu raison des cannelures males de l’arbre et femelle du pignon de 5eme. Cet arbre secondaire étant le point bas de la boite de vitesse sur le véhicule, l’acide chlorhydrique plus lourd que l’huile y a fait le maximum de dégâts…


Voici les mêmes éléments sur l’actuelle boite de vitesse BE3/5 à…160 000 km !

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *