Renewable energy: the track waves

Share this article with your friends:

A study conducted by the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) in collaboration with, among others, the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) of the US Department of Energy (DOE), suggests that
generating electricity from waves and sea currents in the US could be economically viable in the near future, in the order of four years, provided that investments
follow.

The principle is to use the wave movements to pressurize a fluid then to produce electricity that is routed through an undersea cable.
According to the organization, the potential of US shores would 2100 Terrawatt.heure per year, almost as much as electricity from coal or ten times the total energy generated by hydroelectric power stations of the country.

The evaluation is in fact based on an equation J equals 0,42 x (Hs) exp2 x Tp (wherein J is available energy,
Hs is the significant wave height in the place and studied their period Tp during times of peak height), applied to sites for which the parameters were measured. EPRI got his capacity available estimates taking account of return assumptions of capture devices. At present the United States, two companies have developed energy converter prototypes: Ocean Power Technologies (New Jersey), which includes its PowerBuoy system in Hawaii one megawatt for the US Navy (commissioning scheduled for 2006) and AquaEnergy group, pending federal permits for a test of its AquaBuoy off Washington State.

However, some are concerned about the apparent unwillingness of the Bush administration to develop this technology solution and fear that the United States do not fall behind. And in fact, the first test connection to a power grid was conducted in August 2004 the other side of the Atlantic, in Orkney, Scotland, using Pelamis converter of the company Ocean Power Delivery (on EPRI which was also based on his study).

WSJ 08 / 04 / 05 (Ocean Power fights current thinking)

Source: http://www.epri.com/

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Energie renouvelable : la piste des vagues

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Un travail conduit par l’Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) avec la collaboration, entre autres, du National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) du Department of Energy (DOE), suggère que
la production d’électricité à partir des vagues et des courants marins aux Etats-Unis pourrait être économiquement rentable dans un futur proche, de l’ordre de quatre ans, à condition que les investissements
suivent.

Le principe consiste à utiliser les mouvements des vagues pour mettre sous pression un fluide permettant ensuite de produire de l’électricité qui est acheminée par le biais d’un câble sous-marin.
Selon l’organisme, le potentiel des côtes américaines serait de 2100 Terrawatt.heure par an, soit presque autant que l’électricité produite à partir du charbon ou dix fois l’énergie totale générée par les centrales hydroélectriques du pays.

L’évaluation repose en fait sur une équation J égale 0,42 x (Hs) exp2 x Tp (dans laquelle J est l’énergie disponible,
Hs est la hauteur significative des vagues dans le lieu étudié et Tp leur période pendant les moments de pic de hauteur), appliquée à des sites pour lesquels les paramètres ont été mesurés. L’EPRI a obtenu ses estimations de capacité disponibles en tenant compte d’hypothèses de rendement des dispositifs de captation. A l’heure actuelle aux Etats-Unis, deux entreprises ont développé des prototypes de convertisseur d’énergie : Ocean Power Technologies (New Jersey), qui déploie à Hawaï son système PowerBuoy d’un mégawatt pour l’U.S. Navy (mise en service prévue en 2006), et le groupe AquaEnergy, dans l’attente de permis fédéraux pour un test de son AquaBuoy au large de l’Etat de Washington.

Toutefois, certains s’inquiètent du manque de volonté apparent de l’Administration Bush pour développer cette solution technologique et craignent que les Etats-Unis ne prennent du retard. Et de fait, le premier essai de raccordement à un réseau électrique a été effectué en août 2004 de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique, à Orkney, en Ecosse, à l’aide du convertisseur Pelamis de la société Ocean Power Delivery (sur lequel l’EPRI s’est d’ailleurs fondé pour son étude).

WSJ 08/04/05 (Ocean power fights current thinking)

Source : http://www.epri.com/

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *