lifetime of nuclear power plants and new types of reactors


Share this article with your friends:

Report on the life of nuclear power plants and new types of nuclear reactors

Parliamentary Report of the National Assembly, 2003.

This report 363 .pdf pages is a technical and economic inventory of civilian nuclear technology for electricity generation and includes 3 essential parts:

Chap. 1: Managing the life of the plants, an essential element of the optimization of the park, but not a sufficient element.
Chap. 2: EPR reactors and other 2015, link the parks today and tomorrow.
Chap. 3: Important R & D effort needed to succeed at the 2035 horizon, the development of other project reactors.

More:
Debate on the life of a nuclear plant
nuclear Forum
The Fukushima disaster

Introduction

This is the 6 2002 November that the Economic Affairs Commission of the Environment and Territory of the National Assembly before the Parliamentary Office for Evaluation of Scientific and technological choice of a study on "the duration of life of nuclear power plants and new types of reactors. "

Appointed on November 20 2002, your Rapporteurs, under the procedure of the Office, prepared a feasibility study finding an effective opportunity to make a report on the matter within a few months. After this study was adopted on December 4 by the Parliamentary Office, the Rapporteurs were immediately put to work.

Some figures to quantify the work of preparation of this report: 110 hours of formal hearings in France and abroad, including a public hearing day 4 countries studied with multiple meetings on site, Finland, Sweden, Germany , United States, 180 people interviewed, many hours of informal discussions.

As is the practice increasingly common in the Parliamentary Office, a steering committee, whose members are gratefully acknowledged here, but whose responsibility is in no way bound by this text, provided effective help for select personalities to audition, identify key issues and analyze information provided by the interlocutors.

The text of the referral to the Economic Affairs Committee is clear. Accordingly, this report is neither the object to paint the picture of the pros and cons of nuclear power or to indicate if France would benefit in the future, reduce the share of nuclear in production 'electricity.

This report, in contrast, aim to answer simple but fundamental questions for the French electricity production.



What are the phenomena that can limit the operating life of nuclear power plants? How can we fight against the aging process, at what price and under what conditions of safety?

Moreover, if the political decision is made to renew our power plants, on which date he will start doing it? What are the available technologies as an extension of current technologies, or rather out with channels currently in use, and when?

For the country's nuclear operator EDF and what the public service of electricity to which the French are attached irrespective of their political affiliation, the life of the reactors currently in service is about tens of billions of euros.

The Parliamentary Office was in the first 1999 to put this issue on the public square, an issue that has a financial impact not only on the EDF's accounts, but also on the cost of electricity which we we have other consumers .

Beyond the situation of EDF and the electricity markets, operate reactors already amortized over the economic and financial plan for a period of 30, 40 or 50 years is indeed far from being indifferent to the competitiveness of French economy as a whole.

Similarly, France has built a nuclear industry which is one of its strengths in global competition is a source of jobs and in the future which we need to address so that it can offer to the country, when appropriate and where applicable, effective solutions to our energy supply.

Choosing an electricity production technology has always been of critical importance and great difficulty. We have seen in our country at the end of 1960 years, when it took effect a drastic revision of our choices and give up the graphite-gas sector for the benefit of pressurized water reactors. Certainly, the question of the life of nuclear power plants merit our attention.

France is committed since the beginning of the year in the preparation of guidance bill on energy, provided by the law of February 10 2000 on the modernization and development of the public electricity service.

As part of the national debate calendar organized by the Government, the report of the Parliamentary Office aims to contribute to the reflection of Parliament and of our fellow citizens on identifying timelines for our power plants and the choice of technology for its renewal.


Download file (a newsletter subscription may be required): lifetime of nuclear power plants and new types of reactors

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Durée de vie des centrales nucléaires et nouveaux types de réacteurs

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Rapport sur la durée de vie des centrales nucléaires et les nouveaux types de réacteurs nucléaires

Rapport parlementaire de l’Assemblée Nationale, 2003.

Ce rapport de 363 pages en .pdf fait un inventaire technique et économique de la technologie nucléaire civile pour la production d’électricité et comprend 3 parties essentielles:

Chap. 1 : Gestion de la durée de vie des centrales, un élement essentiel de l’optimisation du parc, mais un élement non suffisant.
Chap. 2 : EPR et autres réacteurs pour 2015, un lien entre les parcs d’aujourd’hui et de demain.
Chap. 3 : Important effort de R&D nécessaire pour réussir, à l’horizon 2035, la mise au point des autres réacteurs en projet.

En savoir plus:
Débat sur la durée de vie d’une centrale nucléaire
Forum nucléaire
La catastrophe de Fukushima

Introduction

C’est le 6 novembre 2002 que la Commission des affaires économiques, de l’environnement et du territoire de l’Assemblée nationale a saisi l’Office parlementaire d’évaluation des choix scientifiques et technologiques d’une étude portant sur « la durée de vie des centrales nucléaires et les nouveaux types de réacteurs ».

Désignés le 20 novembre 2002, vos Rapporteurs ont, selon la procédure de l’Office, élaboré une étude de faisabilité concluant à la possibilité effective de réaliser un rapport sur cette question dans un délai de quelques mois. Après que cette étude ait été adoptée le 4 décembre par l’Office parlementaire, vos Rapporteurs se sont immédiatement mis au travail.

Quelques chiffres pour évaluer quantitativement le travail de préparation du présent rapport : 110 heures d’auditions officielles en France ou à l’étranger, dont une journée d’audition publique, 4 pays étudiés avec de multiples rencontres sur place, Finlande, Suède, Allemagne, Etats-Unis, 180 personnes auditionnées, de nombreuses heures de discussions informelles.

Comme c’est la pratique de plus en plus fréquente à l’Office parlementaire, un comité de pilotage, dont les membres sont ici chaleureusement remerciés, mais dont la responsabilité n’est aucunement engagée par le présent texte, a apporté une aide efficace pour sélectionner les personnalités à auditionner, cerner les questions clés et analyser les informations livrées par les interlocuteurs.

Le texte de la saisine de la Commission des affaires économiques est clair. En conséquence, le présent rapport n’a ni pour objet de peindre le tableau des avantages et des inconvénients de l’électronucléaire ni d’indiquer si la France aurait intérêt, à l’avenir, à réduire la part du nucléaire dans la production d’électricité.

Le présent rapport a, au contraire, pour objet de répondre à des questions simples mais fondamentales pour la production électrique française.

Quels sont les phénomènes pouvant limiter la durée d’exploitation des centrales nucléaires ? Comment peut-on lutter contre leur vieillissement, à quel prix et dans quelles conditions de sûreté ?

Par ailleurs, si le choix politique est effectué de renouveler notre parc électronucléaire, à quelle date faudra-t-il commencer à le faire ? Quelles seront les technologies disponibles, en prolongement des technologies actuelles, ou au contraire en rupture avec les filières actuellement en service, et à quelle échéance ?

Pour l’exploitant nucléaire national qu’est EDF et pour le service public de l’électricité auquel les Français sont attachés quelle que soit leur appartenance politique, la durée de vie des réacteurs actuellement en service est une question à plusieurs dizaines de milliards d’euros.

L’Office parlementaire a été le premier en 1999 à mettre cette question sur la place publique, une question qui a un impact financier non seulement sur les comptes d’EDF, mais sur aussi le coût de l’électricité dont nous autres consommateurs nous disposons.

Au delà de la situation d’EDF et des marchés de l’électricité, exploiter des réacteurs déjà amortis sur le plan économique et financier sur une durée de 30, 40 ou 50 ans est en vérité loin d’être indifférent pour la compétitivité de l’économie française toute entière.

De même, la France a bâti une industrie nucléaire qui constitue l’un de ses atouts dans la concurrence mondiale, représente une source d’emplois nationaux et sur l’avenir de laquelle nous devons nous pencher afin qu’elle puisse proposer au pays, le moment venu et le cas échéant, des solutions performantes pour notre approvisionnement en énergie.

Le choix d’une technologie de production de l’électricité a toujours été d’une importance critique et d’une grande difficulté. On l’a bien vu dans notre pays à la fin des années 1960, où il a fallu opérer une révision déchirante de nos choix et abandonner la filière graphite-gaz au profit des réacteurs à eau pressurisé. Assurément, la question de la durée de vie des centrales nucléaires mérite toute notre attention.

La France est engagée depuis le début de l’année dans la préparation du projet de loi d’orientation sur l’énergie, prévu par la loi du 10 février 2000 relative à la modernisation et au développement du service public de l’électricité.

S’inscrivant dans le calendrier du débat national organisé par le Gouvernement, le présent rapport de l’Office parlementaire a pour objectif d’apporter une contribution à la réflexion du Parlement et de nos concitoyens sur l’identification des échéances relatives à notre parc électronucléaire et sur le choix des technologies pour son renouvellement.

Télécharger le fichier (une inscription à la Newsletter peut être requise): Durée de vie des centrales nucléaires et nouveaux types de réacteurs

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *