Cleanup plasma


Share this article with your friends:

Decontamination plasma way: Would a future solution? (Inspired by The Research, February 1999)

Keywords: treatment, exhaust, pollution, plasmas catalyst.

The gaseous emissions from diesel engines are more severely limited by European standards. To achieve compliance, new technologies are developed.

For trucks, there are high-performance catalysts such as those where ammonia from urea hydrolyzed, acts as reducing agent. But they must operate at elevated temperatures, generally above 200 ° C. Now, these temperatures are not reached by the exhaust gases from cars during startup or urban journeys.


This catalyst developed by Siemens is composed of electrodes between which a plasma is created. It measures about 20 6 cm long cm in diameter. (Photo Siemens, II / 98).

Unless you use an additional warming of gas, which would be very expensive energy, the solution requires further purification path. To do this, the Siemens Group in collaboration with the German Ministry of Research, has developed a plasma phase catalysis process.




Reduction of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gas 220 ° C of a diesel engine through a dielectric plasma discharges and

The principle of contacting the exhaust gas with a plasma with high energy electrons will initiate on the one hand, the oxidation of carbon compounds to carbon dioxide and water and, on the other hand, reduction of nitrogen oxides of nitrogen. The plasma is obtained only by causing a brief electric discharge (a few nanoseconds) within the gas. But the effectiveness of this method considerably decreases the water content and oxygen becomes large, the reduction of nitrogen oxides then being very disadvantaged.


Reduction of NOx according to the technology used.

To remedy this problem, the researchers placed the system in series with a conventional catalyst such as those mentioned above. They observed that through this association, it was operating at temperatures below 200 ° C. For example, the reduction of oxides is evaluated 60% if the temperature is only 100 ° C. The quantity of urea to be hydrolyzed is also much lower in these conditions. The first tests are conducted at the University of Erlangen. The time required to develop prototypes, and develop an effective diet to ensure the landfill is estimated at six or seven. To learn more about this technology, visit the Siemens website

always ongoing research

Despite the date of this article, 1999, searches are still ongoing especially at CNRS, here is a summary document: Remediation of waste gases by Plasma (CNRS and GREMI)

The French manufacturers Renault and PSA récement co-filed a patent entitled: non-thermal plasma reactor and motor vehicle exhaust line including this reactor

Position papers:

- Original article Siemens (German)
- Remediation of waste gases by Plasma (for the GREMI, Orléans University and CNRS)
- Patent PSA-Renault (download reserved for members)
- Visit GREMI Site


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Dépollution par plasma

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

La dépollution par voie plasma : serait-elle une solution d’avenir ? (inspiré de La Recherche, Février 1999)

Mots clés : traitement, gaz d’échappement, pollution, plasmas, catalyseur.

Les émissions gazeuses des moteurs Diesel sont de plus en plus sévèrement limitées par les normes européennes. Pour parvenir à les respecter, de nouvelles technologies sont mises au point.

Pour les camions, il existe des catalyseurs très performants, tels ceux où l’ammoniac, provenant d’urée hydrolysée, joue le rôle d’agent réducteur. Mais ils doivent fonctionner à des températures élevées, généralement supérieures à 200 °C. Or ces températures ne sont pas atteintes par les gaz d’échappement des voitures particulières au démarrage ou lors des trajets urbains.


Ce catalyseur développé par Siemens est constitué d’électrodes entre lesquelles un plasma est créé. Il mesure environ 20 cm de long pour 6 cm de diamètre. (Cliché Siemens, II/98).

A moins de recourir à un réchauffement supplémentaire des gaz, ce qui serait énergétiquement très coûteux, la solution passe par une autre voie de purification. Pour ce faire, le groupe Siemens, en collaboration avec le ministère de la Recherche allemand, a mis au point un procédé de catalyse en phase plasma .


Reduction des oxydes d’azote dans des gaz d’échappement à 220°C d’un moteur diesel à travers un dielectrique et des décharges plasma

Le principe est de mettre en contact les gaz d’échappement avec un plasma dont les électrons de haute énergie vont amorcer, d’une part, l’oxydation des composés carbonés en dioxyde de carbone et en eau et, d’autre part, la réduction des oxydes d’azote en azote. Le plasma est obtenu uniquement en provoquant une brève décharge électrique (quelques nanosecondes) au sein du gaz. Mais l’efficacité de ce procédé diminue considérablement lorsque la teneur en eau et en oxygène devient importante, la réduction des oxydes d’azote étant alors très défavorisée.


Reduction des NOx en fonction de la technologie employée.

Pour remédier à ce problème, les chercheurs ont placé ce système en série avec un catalyseur classique du type de ceux évoqués plus haut. Ils ont observé que, grâce à cette association, celui-ci fonctionnait à des températures inférieures à 200 °C. Par exemple, la diminution des émissions d’oxydes est évaluée à 60% si la température est de seulement 100 °C. La quantité d’urée à hydrolyser est par ailleurs très inférieure dans ces conditions. Les premiers tests sont menés à l’université d’Erlangen. Le temps nécessaire pour développer des prototypes, et mettre au point une alimentation performante pour assurer la décharge est estimé à six ou sept ans. Pour en savoir plus sur cette technologie, visitez le site de Siemens

Des recherches toujours en cours

Malgré la date de cet article, 1999, les recherches sont toujours en cours notamment au CNRS dont voici un document de synthèse : Dépollution des effluents gazeux par Plasma (CNRS et GREMI)

Les constructeurs francais Renault et PSA ont récement co-déposé un brevet intitulé: Réacteur plasma non thermique et ligne d’échappement de véhicule automobile comprenant ce réacteur

Documents de synthèse :

– Article original de Siemens (Allemand)
Dépollution des effluents gazeux par Plasma (par le GREMI, Université d’Orléans et le CNRS)
Brevet de PSA-Renault ( téléchargement reservé aux membres )
Visiter le site du GREMI

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *