Clear Skies: for better or for worse?

Share this article with your friends:

The Clear Skies bill, currently being discussed in the US Congress, there is a step back or forward in the fight against pollution?

The publication of a further interim report of the Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology (BEST) of the American Academy of Sciences (NAS) seems to have revived the controversy. 2002 presented by President Bush, Clear Skies would replace the existing legislation designed to reduce 70 2018% by emissions of industrial origin of three major pollutants (mercury, nitrogen oxides and sulfur dioxide) .

For this, including plans to establish a system of "pollution rights"; in practice, a company that outperformed the authorized pollution threshold receives credits that it can sell to another company overtaking. According to the work of the BEST of the experts, it is "unlikely that Clear Skies lead to limitation of emissions of stricter individual sources than those obtained with the New Source Review program (NSR)" - a set of rules that oblige since 1977 the power plants to adopt pollution reduction devices during day their facilities launching operations (not maintenance, subjective criterion that gave rise to flexible interpretations). The sentence was reacted most critical vis-à-vis the environmental policy of the government who see the prelude to a weakening of regulations on air quality.

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), for its part, contends go in the right direction.
As for the Electric Reliability Coordinating Council (a group of industrial pressure), he noted that if current laws may seem strict, they often lead to long
legal battles; Overall, the credit trading program should be more effective. For comparison, a similar project of EPA against acid rain worked perfectly there about ten years, but more recently, established in Southern California against the smog has not yielded the expected results.

LAT 14 / 01 / 05 (Bush's 'Clear Skies' plane is a step back, says report)


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Clear Skies : pour le meilleur ou pour le pire ?

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Le projet de loi Clear Skies, en cours d’examen au Congrès américain, constitue-t-il un recul ou une avancée en matière de lutte contre la pollution ?

La publication d’un rapport encore provisoire du Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology (BEST) de l’Académie américaine des sciences (NAS) semble avoir relancé la polémique. Présenté en 2002 par le Président Bush, Clear Skies remplacerait la législation existante qui vise à réduire de 70% d’ici 2018 les émissions d’origine industrielle de trois polluants majeurs (le mercure, les oxydes d’azote et le dioxyde de soufre).

Pour cela, il prévoit notamment d’instaurer un système de « droits à polluer » ; en pratique, une entreprise ayant fait mieux que le seuil de pollution autorisé reçoit des crédits qu’elle peut revendre à une autre compagnie en dépassement. Selon le travail des experts du BEST, il est « peu probable que Clear Skies aboutisse à des limitations des émissions de sources individuelles plus strictes que celles obtenues avec le programme New Source Review (NSR) » – un ensemble de règles qui obligent depuis 1977 les centrales électriques à adopter des dispositifs de réduction de polluants lors d’opérations de mise à jour de leurs installations (et non de maintenance, critère subjectif qui a donné lieu à des interprétations souples). La phrase a fait réagir les plus critiques vis-à-vis de la politique environnementale du gouvernement qui voient là le prélude à un affaiblissement des réglementations sur la qualité de l’air.

L’Agence de Protection de l’Environnement (EPA), de son côté, soutient aller dans le bon sens.
Quant à l’Electric Reliability Coordinating Council (un groupe de pression industriel), il remarque que, si les lois actuelles peuvent paraître plus strictes, elles débouchent souvent sur de longues
batailles judiciaires ; globalement, le programme d’échange de crédits devrait donc se révéler plus efficace. A titre de comparaison, un projet similaire de l’EPA contre les pluies acides a parfaitement fonctionné il y a une dizaine d’années, mais plus récemment, celui instauré en Californie du Sud contre le smog n’a pas donné les résultats escomptés.

LAT 14/01/05 (Bush’s ‘Clear Skies’ plan is a step back, report says)

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *