coal-fired gasification and lime without emission of CO2?

Share this article with your friends:

Stuttgart University's scientists developing in cooperation with European partners from research and industry an innovative concept of power plant almost broadcasts.

The institute of engineering of processes and Central Technology (IVD - Institut fur Verfahrenstechnik und Dampfkesselwesen) from Stuttgart University, which has a long experience in the energy technology sector, coordinating the project has subsidized up to 1,9 million euros by the European Union. Lignite, which is a bit expensive energy carrier in Europe and present in large quantities, is used in this project.

Instead of simply burning the coal, this one is gasified by the burnt lime added to the water vapor. Lime and absorbs CO2 form and is transformed into limestone. Next the amount of lime used, the gas product contains no or very little carbon, and with optimal dosage, can be achieved in only produce the hydrogen.

then it can be used in plants with gas turbines or steam to generate power without polluting emission (combustion of hydrogen generated not only water). The limestone product is as a burning him in a second reactor and forwards as lime brulee in the first reactor to extract the CO2.

On the German side, the project participants are now IVE Weimer Sindelfingen (Mr. Weimer is the initiator of the art), the center of research on hydrogen and solar power Stuttgart, the company 's Vattenfall Europe Mining mining industry and the university of Cottbus (Brandenburg). A total 13 7 partners from European countries participating.

Contact: Dr.-Ing Roland Berger, Institut fur Verfahrenstechnik und der Universitat Stuttgart Dampfkesselwesen, Pfaffenwaldring 23 - 70569 Stuttgart.
Tel: + 49 (0) 711 685 3492 - Fax: + 49 (0) 711 685 3491, e-Mail: berger@ivd.uni-stuttgart.de

- http://www.eu-projects.de
- http://www.ivd.uni-stuttgart.de

Sources: Depeche IDW, Press release of the University of Stuttgart,

Editor: Nicolas Condette

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Centrales au charbon à gazéification et chaux sans emissions de CO2?

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Des scientifiques de l’universite de Stuttgart developpent en cooperation avec des partenaires europeens de la recherche et de l’industrie un concept innovateur de centrale electrique presque sans emissions.

L’institut d’ingenierie des procedes et de technologies des centrales (IVD – Institut fur Verfahrenstechnik und Dampfkesselwesen) de l’universite de Stuttgart, qui a une longue experience dans le secteur des techniques energetiques, coordonne le projet subventionne a hauteur de 1,9 millions d’euros par l’Union europeenne. Le lignite, qui est un porteur d’energie peu couteux et present en Europe en grande quantite, est utilise dans ce projet.

Au lieu de bruler simplement le charbon, celui ci est gazeifie par de la chaux brulée additionnée a de la vapeur d’eau. La chaux absorbe ainsi le CO2 forme et est transformee en calcaire. Suivant la quantite de chaux utilisee, le gaz produit ne contient pas ou tres peu de carbone, et avec un dosage optimal, on peut parvenir a ne produire que de l’hydrogene.

Celui-ci peut alors etre utilise dans les centrales comportant des turbines a gaz ou a vapeur pour produire du courant sans emissions polluantes (la combustion de l’hydrogene ne genere que de l’eau). Le calcaire produit est quant a lui brule dans un deuxieme reacteur et reachemine en tant que chaux brulee dans le premier reacteur pour en extraire le CO2.

Du cote allemand, les participants au projet sont l’entreprise IVE Weimer de Sindelfingen (M. Weimer est l’initiateur de la technique), le centre de recherche sur l’hydrogene et l’energie solaire de Stuttgart, l’entreprise d’industrie miniere Vattenfall Europe Mining ainsi que l’universite de Cottbus (Brandebourg). Au total, 13 partenaires issus de 7 pays europeens participent au projet.

Contacts : Dr.-Ing Roland Berger, Institut fur Verfahrenstechnik und Dampfkesselwesen der Universitat Stuttgart, Pfaffenwaldring 23 – 70569 Stuttgart.
Tel: +49 (0)711 685 3492 – Fax: +49 (0)711 685 3491, e-Mail: berger@ivd.uni-stuttgart.de

http://www.eu-projects.de
http://www.ivd.uni-stuttgart.de

Sources : Depeche IDW, Communique de presse de l’universite de Stuttgart,

Redacteur : Nicolas Condette

D'autres pages pour vous sur le même sujet:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *