Biofuel from microalgae and green plant oil


Share this article with your friends:

Algae fuel oil, new American green gold diggers. David Lefebvre, the 31 / 12 / 2007. Photos DR.

The algaculture (aquaculture) offers many promises. It would be producing electricity, hydrogen, fertilizers, food Livestock and liquid fuels.

In the United States, dozens of startups, born in 2007, research and develop the production of fuel oil from algae.

On paper, produce oil fuel from algae seems to be the most plausible alternative to oil.

A production that could meet both the environmental problems that are emissions CO2 and needs huge energy to thrive. Conversion of carbon sources of seaweed such as fuel oil would indeed CO2 30 100 to yield to times the oil crops. Logical when one considers the algae proliferation capacity. There are in good supply algaculture what planet without compromising on its food needs.

Suffice to say that this technical challenge of algal oil dream: more emissions CO2, biofuel sufficient, clean and renewable energy since the original comes from the sun.

Dozens of startups.

Aware of its pétrodépendance the US are passionate about it. In 2006 and 2007 there are countless startups, blogs and firms storefront announcing the launch of a R & D division or unit of oil production from algae. Their names GreenFuel TechTexas Clean Fuels, PetroAlgae Victor Smorgon Group, OriginOil, Solazyme, Infinifuel Biodiesel, Solix Biofuels, GlobalGreen, Valcent, Greenshift - GS CleanTech, Aurora, General Atomics / CEHMM, Aquaflow, Petrosun, Greenshift, LiveFuels Inc., Algoil and quantity others.


aquaculture field or algaculture microalgae
Algaculture field (artist). Click to enlarge

Dispersion of knowledge



But, for now, no significant amount of algal oil is released from any plant, even for the most concrete projects as yet Greenfuel who lifted 20 million capital 2006. Nevertheless, Aquaflow, a New Zealand company, managed to power a car with algae oil. Because it is a dream, this new green gold dispersed knowledge and energies. Many researchers, phycologues or pain specialists and other experts on the subject, persuaded to do it alone, leave their research unit with tens of thousands of dollars in their pocket to found startup. Symbol of this dispersion of knowledge, John Sheehan, joined last August Live Fuels, Inc., one of these new start-ups. This researcher had committed a founding report, called the States' Bible of the future ", the oils produced by algae, when he was in the" National renewable Energy laboratory "- The National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colorado .


Central electrical micro algae biofuel
Operating principle of a plant oil or coal cogeneration, CO2 and algae (artist). Click to enlarge

Oil put it

Even oil companies are getting into the adventure, some just to buy an ethical image as Petrosun and other, more serious, injecting significant funds as Chevron or Shell and Cellena project in Hawaii. Algae are grown in huge open air pools using seawater. Chevron, the largest US oil company, also based real hopes. Other countries are also addressing the issue like India with Algoil and even France since December 2006 with the Shamash project which raised 2,8 million fund. Also, the Israelis have long algacoles farms or as Seambiotic Algatech in the Negev, but remaining very discreet on the algae biofuels.

The technical difficulties of algaculture

To achieve such a project, the skills required are many: genetic, phycology, fluid mechanics, biochemistry and industrial refining engine. For now, it lags algaculture specific compounds such as dyes, fatty acids and other compounds such as alginates to food, the pharmachimie or the cosmetics industry. But nothing so far no evidence that the startup will arrive in algal cultures simply 80% oil by weight as GreenFuel support, at least in industrial conditions. The controlled eutrophication process by which algae proliferate in controlled conditions, is facing many technical problems:
- Contamination of algae,
- Solubilization of carbon-based gases (smoke) while maintaining the sustainability of the environment,
- Optimization of the gas / liquid interface,
- Adapted strains of algae,
- Dispersion of light in photobioreactors, etc.


algae biofuel pump service station
A futuristic pump from algae? (Artist's impression). Click to enlarge

Main source of agricultural inputs

Finally, the green gold miners will probably come back to reality. Initially, the fuel oil may just be a byproduct of the algaculture. The algae biomass can also be converted into electricity via anaerobic digestion and electricity cogeneration, as provided J. Benmann a specialist in question. Also replacing fertilizing fertilizer or livestock feed. Ultimately, the main agricultural inputs probably come algae.

Illustrations


biofuel microalgae

algae biofuel pump service station

microalgae meeting

More:
- References, bibliography and links on microalgae
- Microalgae in GreenFuel
- fuel microalgae forums
- Biofuel or biofuel?
- Folder on future biofuels


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Biocarburant à base d’huile de microalgues et centrale verte

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Huile carburant d’algues, les nouveaux chercheurs d’or vert américains. Par David Lefebvre, le 31/12/2007. Photos DR.

L’algaculture (domaine de l’aquaculture) offre bien des promesses. Elle serait productrice d’électricité, d’hydrogène, de fertilisants, d’aliments du bétail et de carburants liquides.

Aux Etats-Unis, des dizaines de start up, nées en 2007, recherchent et développent la production d’huile carburant à partir d’algues.

Sur le papier, produire de l’huile carburant à partir d’algues semble être la substitution la plus plausible au pétrole.

Une production qui pourrait répondre à la fois aux problèmes environnementaux que sont les émissions de CO2 et aux besoins immenses d’énergies pour prospérer. La conversion par des algues de sources de carbone comme le CO2 en huile carburant donnerait en effet des rendements de 30 à 100 fois supérieurs aux cultures oléagineuses. Logique quand on connaît la capacité de prolifération des algues. Il y a dans l’algaculture de quoi bien approvisionner la planète sans rogner sur ses besoins en nourriture.

Autant dire que ce défi technique de l’huile d’algue fait rêver : plus d’émissions de CO2, du biocarburant en quantité suffisante, propre et renouvelable puisque l’énergie originelle vient du soleil.

Des dizaines de start-up.

Conscients de sa pétrodépendance, les États-Unis se passionnent pour ce sujet. En 2006 et 2007, on ne compte plus les startup, les blogs et les firmes ayant pignon sur rue qui annoncent le lancement d’une division de R&D ou d’une unité de production d’huile à partir d’algues. Ils se nomment GreenFuel Tech, Texas Clean Fuels, PetroAlgae, Victor Smorgon Group, OriginOil, Solazyme, Infinifuel Biodiesel, Solix Biofuels, GlobalGreen, Valcent, Greenshift – GS CleanTech, Aurora, General Atomics / CEHMM, Aquaflow, Petrosun, Greenshift, LiveFuels Inc, Algoil, et quantité d’autres.


champ aquaculture ou algaculture de microalgues
Champ d’algaculture (vue d’artiste). Cliquez pour agrandir

Dispersion du savoir

Mais, pour l’instant, aucun volume significatif d’huile d’algue n’est sorti d’une quelconque usine, même pour les projets les plus concrets comme Greenfuel qui a pourtant levé 20 millions de dollars de fonds en 2006. Néanmoins, Aquaflow, une société néo-zélandaise, a réussi à alimenter une automobile avec de huile d’algue. Parce qu’il fait rêver, ce nouvel or vert disperse le savoir et les énergies. De nombreux chercheurs, phycologues ou algologues et autres spécialistes de la question, persuadés de pouvoir y arriver seuls, quittent leur unité de recherche avec quelques dizaines de milliers de dollars en poche pour fonder leur startup. Symbole de cette dispersion des savoirs, John Sheehan, a rejoint en août dernier Live Fuels, Inc., une de ces nouvelles start up. Ce chercheur avait commis un rapport fondateur, surnommé aux States « la bible du futur », sur les huiles produites par des algues, lorsqu’il était à la « National renewable Energy laboratory » – Le laboratoire national des énergies renouvelables à Golden dans le Colorado.


centrale électrique à micro algues biocarburant
Principe de fonctionnement d’une centrale de cogénération fuel ou charbon, CO2 et algues (vue d’artiste). Cliquez pour agrandir

Les pétroliers s’y mettent

Même les compagnies pétrolières se lancent dans l’aventure, certaines simplement pour s’acheter une image éthique comme Petrosun et d’autres, de manière plus sérieuse, en injectant d’importants fonds comme Chevron ou Shell et son projet Cellena à Hawaï. Les algues sont cultivées dans d’immenses piscines à ciel ouvert utilisant de l’eau de mer. Chevron, la plus grande compagnie pétrolière américaine, fonde également de réels espoirs. D’autres pays se penchent également sur la question comme l’Inde avec Algoil et même la France depuis décembre 2006 avec le projet Shamash qui a levé 2,8 millions d’euros de fonds. Egalement, les Israéliens qui possèdent depuis longtemps des fermes algacoles comme Seambiotic ou Algatech dans le Neguev, mais qui restent très discrets sur les biocarburants d’algues.

Les difficultés techniques de l’algaculture

Pour aboutir à un tel projet, les compétences requises sont nombreuses : génétique, phycologie, mécanique des fluides, biochimie et raffinage industriels, motoristes. Pour l’instant, on tire de l’algaculture des composés spécifiques comme des colorants, des acides gras et d’autres composés comme les alginates à destination de l’agroalimentaire, de la pharmachimie ou de l’industrie cosmétique. Mais rien pour l’instant ne permet d’affirmer que les startup arriveront à des cultures d’algues contentant 80 % d’huile en poids comme le soutien GreenFuel, du moins en conditions industrielles. L’eutrophisation contrôlée, procédé par lequel les algues prolifèrent en conditions maîtrisées, est confrontée à de nombreux problèmes techniques :
– contamination des algues,
– solubilisation des gaz à base de carbone (fumées) tout en maintenant la viabilité du milieu,
– optimisation de l’interface gaz/liquide,
– souches d’algues adaptées,
– dispersion de la lumière dans les photobioréacteurs, etc.


pompe station service algues biocarburant
Une pompe futuriste à base d’algues? (vue d’artiste). Cliquez pour agrandir

Principale source d’intrants pour l’agriculture

Finalement, les chercheurs d’or vert devront probablement revenir à la réalité. Dans un premier temps, l’huile carburant risque de n’être qu’un coproduit de l’algaculture. La biomasse d’algues peut être aussi convertie en électricité via la méthanisation et la cogénération électrique, ainsi que le prévoit J. Benmann un spécialiste de la question. Egalement en fertilisants en remplacement des engrais ou en aliments pour le bétail. À terme, les principaux intrants de l’agriculture viendront probablement des algues.

Illustrations


microalgues biocarburant

pompe station service algues biocarburant

meeting microalgues

En savoir plus:
Références, bibliographie et liens sur les microalgues
Microalgues chez GreenFuel
Micro-algues carburant sur les forums
Agrocarburant ou Biocarburant?
Dossier sur les biocarburants du futur

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *