A barrel of oil in euros 380 10 years?

Share this article with your friends:

PARIS (Reuters) - Oil prices could cost 380 dollars in ten years, almost eight times more than today, says the Ixis-CIB investment bank in a study published Monday.

"By analogy with the oil shocks of the 1970 years, it does not seem unreasonable to foresee a price of 380 dollars per barrel for oil in 2015," write the authors of this study, economists Patrick Artus and Moncef Kaabi.

On the contrary, they judge "very conservative" and "totally unreasonable" the assumptions that the price of a barrel of crude, which now fluctuates around 50 dollars, could fall between 30 and 40 dollars in the next ten years.

Currently, world oil consumption (84,3 million barrels per day) remains below the maximum production capacity known (87 million bpd).

Extrapolating current trends in global oil consumption, economists Ixis-CIB believe that it will be around 108 2015 million bpd in and will be superior to 8% in production capacity estimated at 100 million bpd.

Several factors explain this in their evolution:

- A small increase in production capacity resulting from a continuous decrease of the newly found oil reserves;

- Increased oil consumption faster than world GDP, especially with the prospect of a significant increase in demand from China;

- The relatively slow development of alternative energy sources.

"Within ten years, we can consider that fossil fuel substitutes (the return of nuclear power, hydrogen, etc.) will not have developed much," write Patrick Artus and Moncef Kaabi. "The world will therefore still depend on the usual forms of energy resources."

Econometric calculations they cite, the elasticity of oil demand in relation to oil prices will be in the very low requirements: an increase of 25% of crude prices would only 1% reduction the demand.

"To reduce the world demand for oil from 8% to 2015, 2005 to 2015 would have to be multiplied by 6,9 of the real oil price," they add. This gives, taking into account an annual inflation of 2,5% in the United States, "a nominal price of oil of 380 dollars per barrel in 2015".

Source: Reuters

Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Un baril de pétrole à 380 euros dans 10 ans?

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

PARIS (Reuters) – Le baril de pétrole pourrait coûter 380 dollars dans dix ans, soit près de huit fois plus qu’aujourd’hui, estime la banque d’investissement Ixis-CIB dans une étude publiée lundi.

« Par analogie avec les chocs pétroliers des années 1970, il ne nous semble pas déraisonnable de prévoir un prix de 380 dollars le baril pour le pétrole en 2015 », écrivent les auteurs de cette étude, les économistes Patrick Artus et Moncef Kaabi.

Ils jugent au contraire « très conservatrices » et « totalement déraisonnables » les hypothèses selon lesquelles le prix du baril de brut, qui oscille aujourd’hui autour de 50 dollars, pourrait revenir entre 30 et 40 dollars dans les dix ans à venir.

Actuellement, la consommation mondiale de pétrole (84,3 millions de barils par jour) reste inférieure aux capacités maximales de production connues (87 millions bpj).

En extrapolant l’évolution actuelle de la consommation mondiale de pétrole, les économistes d’Ixis-CIB estiment que celle-ci avoisinera 108 millions bpj en 2015 et sera supérieure de 8% à des capacités de production estimées à 100 millions bpj.

Plusieurs facteurs expliquent selon eux cette évolution :

– une faible augmentation de la capacité de production résultant d’une décroissance continue des nouvelles réserves de pétroles trouvées ;

– une augmentation de la consommation pétrolière plus rapide que celle du PIB mondial, notamment avec la perspective d’une hausse importante de la demande de la Chine ;

– le développement relativement lent de sources d’énergie de substitution.

« A l’horizon de dix ans, on peut considérer que les énergies substituables aux combustibles fossiles (retour du nucléaire, hydrogène …) ne se seront pas beaucoup développées », écrivent Patrick Artus et Moncef Kaabi. « Le monde dépendra donc encore des formes usuelles de ressources en énergie. »

Selon les calculs économétriques qu’ils citent, l’élasticité de la demande de pétrole par rapport au prix du baril sera dans ces conditions très faible : une hausse de 25% du prix du brut n’entraînerait qu’une réduction de 1% de la demande.

« Pour réduire de 8% en 2015 la demande mondiale de pétrole, il faudrait donc, de 2005 à 2015, une multiplication par 6,9 du prix réel du pétrole », ajoutent-ils. Ce qui donne, en tenant compte d’une inflation annuelle de 2,5% aux Etats-Unis, « un prix nominal du pétrole de 380 dollars par baril en 2015 ».

Source : Reuters

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *