severe nuclear accidents PWR and EPR

Share this article with your friends:

Nuclear: severe accident power generation water reactors. Publication of the IRSN, 12 / 2008. .pdf 53 pages

Download the document here: serious accidents on the REP and nuclear safety of the EPR

Summary

1 / Introduction
2 / Definition of a serious accident
3 / Physics of the meltdown and associated phenomena
4 / Modes of failure of the containment
5 / The approach for current operating REP
6 / The approach adopted for the EPR reactor
7 / Conclusions

Introduction

This document provides an overview of current knowledge on severe accidents Reactor Pressurized Water (EPR).

First, the document sets out the physics of the core meltdown of a PWR and the possible failure modes of the containment in such a case. Then it presents the provisions established in respect of such accidents in France, especially the pragmatic approach prevails for reactors already built.

Finally, the paper discusses the case of the EPR, for which the design takes explicit account of serious accidents then it is design objectives and compliance should be a rigorous demonstration, taking into account the uncertainties.

Definition of a serious accident

A serious accident is an accident in which the reactor fuel is significantly degraded by a more or less complete fusion of the heart. This melting is a consequence of a significant temperature rise component of the core material itself resulting from prolonged lack of cooling of the core by the coolant. This failure can occur only after many failures, making its very low probability (in order of magnitude, 10-5 per reactor per year).
- For existing plants, if the deterioration of the heart can not be stopped by injecting water before the breakthrough of the tank (reflooding of the heart), the accident may lead eventually to the loss of integrity containment and significant releases of radioactive materials into the environment.
- For the EPR (European Pressurized water Reactor), ambitious safety objectives have been set; they provide a significant reduction of radioactive discharges may result from any conceivable accident situations, including accidents with core meltdown. These objectives are:
- "practical disposal" of accidents which may lead to significant early releases;
- Mitigation of accident with fusion of the low pressure center.

(...)

conclusions



In 1979, the meltdown of the core of the 2 installment of the Three Mile Island in the United States revealed that failures accumulations were likely to lead to a serious accident.

Releases to the environment caused by the accident were very low due to the return of core cooling and maintaining the integrity of the tank. Yet for several days, officials of the central and local and federal authorities have asked how things were likely to change and whether to evacuate people.

This accident marked a turning point in the study of severe accidents.

For PWRs in operation, studies have been made, with a concern for realism, seeking improvements (prevention of core melt, limiting the consequences of a core meltdown, procedures) pragmatically for installations whose basic design was frozen and defining arrangements for ensuring the protection of people in the best possible conditions. This work is constant, taking into account the acquisition of new knowledge from advances in experimental research continues in this area.

Concerning the radiological consequences of a serious accident in France for the most radiosensitive population with a source term S 3, intervention levels associated with the implementation of actions to protect the population living in radiological emergency are achieved respectively until 6 km for evacuation and 18 km for sheltering and stable iodine to average weather conditions.

In addition, discussions are underway to lower the level of intervention on the stable iodine in order to harmonize with neighboring countries, taking into account the discussions at international level (International Energy Agency atomic, European Commission).

Finally, the contamination limits for the marketing of food products set by the European Commission in the case of a new accident are very low.

These findings have led to try to further reduce the possibilities of rejection and amplitude for reactors in operation and a further restriction releases for the third reactor
generation. Thus, for the EPR reactor, ambitious safety objectives were fixed from 1993 providing a significant reduction of radioactive discharges may result from all accident situations
conceivable, including accidents with core meltdown. This requires the implementation of specific design provisions, such as the core catcher.

More:
- Debate on the life of a nuclear plant
- Nuclear Energy Forum
- The Fukushima disaster
- 15 reported to the March Fukushima nuclear accident


Feedback

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Accidents nucléaires graves sur REP et EPR

Partagez cet article avec vos amis:

Nucléaire: accidents graves des réacteurs à eau de production d’électricité. Publication de l’IRSN, 12/2008. .pdf 53 pages

Télécharger le document ici: accidents graves sur les REP et sécurité nucléaire de l’EPR

Sommaire

1/ Introduction
2/ Définition d’un accident grave
3/ Physique de la fusion du coeur et phénomènes associés
4/ Modes de défaillance de l’enceinte de confinement
5/ L’approche retenue pour les REP actuels en exploitation
6/ L’approche retenue pour le réacteur EPR
7/ Conclusions

Introduction

Ce document présente les grandes lignes des connaissances actuelles sur les accidents graves des Réacteurs à Eau sous Pression (REP).

Tout d’abord, le document expose la physique de la fusion du coeur d’un REP et les modes de défaillance possibles de l’enceinte de confinement dans un tel cas. Ensuite, il présente les dispositions mises en place à l’égard de tels accidents en France, en particulier l’approche pragmatique qui prévaut pour les réacteurs déjà construits .

Enfin, le document aborde le cas du réacteur EPR, pour lequel le dimensionnement tient compte explicitement des accidents graves : il s’agit alors d’objectifs de conception et leur respect doit faire l’objet d’une démonstration rigoureuse, en tenant compte des incertitudes.

Définition d’un accident grave

Un accident grave est un accident dans lequel le combustible du réacteur est significativement dégradé par une fusion plus ou moins complète du coeur. Cette fusion est la conséquence d’une élévation importante de la température des matériaux composant le coeur, elle-même résultant d’une absence prolongée de refroidissement du coeur par le fluide caloporteur. Cette défaillance ne peut survenir qu’à la suite d’un grand nombre de dysfonctionnements, ce qui rend sa probabilité très faible (en ordre de grandeur, 10-5 par réacteur et par an).
– Pour les centrales existantes, si la dégradation du coeur ne peut pas être stoppée par injection d’eau avant la percée de la cuve (renoyage du coeur), l’accident peut conduire, à terme, à la perte de l’intégrité du confinement et à des relâchements importants de produits radioactifs dans l’environnement.
– Pour le réacteur EPR (European Pressurized water Reactor), des objectifs de sûreté ambitieux ont été fixés ; ils prévoient une réduction significative des rejets radioactifs pouvant résulter de toutes les situations d’accident concevables, y compris les accidents avec fusion du coeur. Ces objectifs sont les suivants :
– « élimination pratique » des accidents pouvant conduire à des rejets précoces importants ;
– limitation des conséquences des accidents avec fusion du coeur à basse pression.

(…)

Conclusions

En 1979, l’accident de fusion du coeur de la tranche 2 de la centrale de Three Mile Island aux Etats-Unis a mis en évidence que des cumuls de défaillances étaient susceptibles de conduire à un accident grave.

Les rejets dans l’environnement provoqués par cet accident ont été très faibles grâce au retour du refroidissement du coeur et au maintien de l’intégrité de la cuve. Pourtant, pendant plusieurs jours, les responsables de la centrale et les autorités locales et fédérales se sont demandé comment les choses étaient susceptibles d’évoluer et s’il fallait évacuer des populations.

Cet accident a marqué un tournant dans l’étude des accidents graves.

Pour les REP en exploitation, des études ont été faites, avec un souci de réalisme, en recherchant des améliorations (prévention de la fusion du coeur, limitation des conséquences d’une fusion du coeur, procédures) de façon pragmatique pour des installations dont la conception de base était figée et en définissant des dispositions permettant d’assurer la protection des populations dans les meilleures conditions possibles. Ce travail est constant, tenant compte de l’acquisition de nouvelles connaissances issues des avancées de la recherche expérimentale continue dans ce domaine.

Pour ce qui concerne les conséquences radiologiques d’un accident grave, en France, pour la population la plus radiosensible, avec un terme source S 3, les niveaux d’intervention associés à la mise en oeuvre des actions de protection de la population en situation d’urgence radiologique sont atteints respectivement jusqu’à 6 km pour l’évacuation et 18 km pour la mise à l’abri et la prise d’iode stable, pour des conditions météorologiques moyennes.

De plus, des discussions sont actuellement en cours pour abaisser le niveau d’intervention relatif à la prise d’iode stable dans un but d’harmonisation avec les pays frontaliers, en tenant compte des discussions au niveau international (Agence Internationale de l’Energie Atomique, Commission Européenne).

Enfin, les limites de contamination pour la commercialisation des produits alimentaires définies par la Commission Européenne pour le cas d’un nouvel accident sont très basses.

Ces constatations ont conduit à essayer de réduire encore les possibilités de rejets et leur amplitude pour les réacteurs en exploitation et à limiter plus sévèrement les rejets pour les réacteurs de troisième
génération. Ainsi, pour le réacteur EPR, des objectifs de sûreté ambitieux ont été fixés dès 1993 prévoyant une réduction significative des rejets radioactifs pouvant résulter de toutes les situations d’accident
concevables, y compris les accidents avec fusion du coeur. Ceci implique la mise en oeuvre de dispositions de conception spécifiques, telles que le récupérateur de corium.

En savoir plus:
Débat sur la durée de vie d’une centrale nucléaire
Forum sur l’énergie nucléaire
La catastrophe de Fukushima
Compte rendu au 15 mars de l’accident nucléaire de Fukushima

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *